ati mobility radeon 9000 windows 7 driver!!

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by ali181124, Nov 15, 2009.

1. ali181124

ali181124 New Member

help. i have a ibm thinkpad t41 notebook, and i just installed windows 7, but the only driver i cant install is the video driver. i cant find one thats made for or hacked/modded for windows 7.. right now theres the vga something display driver installed but i cant play games or anything.. please help! :sigh:

2. kris23

kris23 Going Insane.....

that GPU hasnt been supported by ATi for years..... its pretty dead.... you may want to get the Windows XP drivers and have windows 7 try to look for usable drivers in the folder but its not looking good.....

sorry man, that system was just not meant to run windows 7, even vista is a longshot...

3. ali181124

ali181124 New Member

damn, that sux.. well thanks anyways.

4. Yuiop

Yuiop New Member

I have been running Windows 7 without issue on a T42 for nearly 12 months now, and I have the same driver issue for the video card. I have read of a person successfully installing a ATi driver on T42 vista with result being extended desktop and Aero.

I really would only like to have extended desktop like I had with this PC on XP.

I am still believing it is possible, anyone have any further suggestions to install a driver solution?

5. Yuiop

Yuiop New Member

I actually found the solution i have been looking for for quite a while on another board. This driver gives extended desktop and higher resolution capability for T42, probaly will work also on t41 with Windows 7.

Download this modded driver...
    Free File Hosting Made Simple - MediaFire

Extract the driver file to a C drive location
    Then open Device Manger
    Right click on your Display Driver choose Update Display Driver
    Choose Browse My Computer for Driver Software
    Via the Browse button, locate the extract driver folder and selct
    Windows 7 will automatically find and install the driver