Auto reboot Windows 8.1

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Trusteft, Aug 10, 2017.

  1. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I took a day off, I am going to work on it today. Hopefully it is something that can be fixed for free. I can't afford anything more right now. If I see it is too costly to fix or can't figure it out, I am going to sell it for parts. I am going to lose a lot of money but not as much as if I keep it and not using it.
     
  2. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    With everything unplugged the system rebooted in less than 10 min.
    What I find interesting is that the time it takes to reboot is not a constant. It can take 1 min, 10 min, 25 min, it varies.
    Time to open the case. :(
     
  3. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I just opened the case, while unplugged and not in operation for more than 7 min in BIOS (about 10 min before I opened the case), as soon as I opened the case, a small wave of heat rose from the inside. This doesn't feel right.
    If this ends up to be a power supply issue, this will be the second time in a row I am having issue with a Corsair PSU, and the last.
    Anyway, I have to say, my cable management was good. :)
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I removed the two extra cards (usb 3.1 and extra m.2 card, also unplugged an internal usb 3 connector (front of the case), I checked RAM, I used two different dimms in two different slots (one at a time), reboot reboot reboot.
    10 min ago I removed the graphics card, the computer loaded though of course I have no idea how far, is it in BIOS, is it in post screen? I have no idea.
    For now it hasn't rebooted but, I am not going to feel excited till I reach at least half an hour without a reboot. Though I wouldn't be surprised as soon as I post this for the system to reboot.
     
  5. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I think about 40 min in.
    My question to you is, does it even go to BIOS as it did when I had no keyboard/mouse? Anyone knows? No GPU plugged in and of course it has no integrated one either.
    If this ends up to be the problem I guess I can say it is either a problematic gpu, mainboard slot, psu, which of course doesn't help THAT much lol. But at least it is helpful. If it continues without rebooting I will plug it in another slot and see what happens.
    If it doesn't reboot, I will plug it in again in the original one, triple checking it is seated properly etc.
     
  6. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,819
    Likes Received:
    656
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Yes, you need a GPU in there. Nothing to spare? Even some old PCI card?
     
  7. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Nothing.
    I will do more tests and if I can't fix it we will see. Hopefully it is nothing non fixable.
    I will try the other slots.
     
  8. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I inserted it in the 3rd slot (all full size are 16x). It's about 35 min now, no reboot from the bios screen.
    I will leave it another 10+ minutes and if it is still stable I will plug everything else in. Perhaps that was it. Of course I still don't know if the problem was the slot or something else, but I am fine with not knowing for now.
    If all goes well and I have no more reboots tonight, I will be satisfied.
    Whenever the time comes to either mothball it or sell it, I will check the original slot.
     
  9. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    WELL.....this is new. I can't load anything other than BIOS. lol
    I switch on the PC, it goes into BIOS. I exit...it goes into BIOS.
     
  10. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Phew!
    Found the solution, for some reason the boot option/sequence changed and while I did make sure to change it to the right one when I noticed the different order, the "right" was the wrong one. :(
    Ashamed. Small problem though. :)
    Thank you all for your input. I appreciate. Virtual hugs to all.
     
    Calliers likes this.
  11. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I have to close this with a photo. Mission Accomplished. :D
    [​IMG]
     
    IvanV and Calliers like this.
  12. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,819
    Likes Received:
    656
    Trophy Points:
    123
    So, in short, you think it's the video card, or the slot it was in? If you're willing I would try putting it back into the original slot. It could simply have been that the card wasn't fully inserted (that it crept out of the socket) enough to cause a short.
     
  13. Calliers

    Calliers HH's Man In Black Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    31,919
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Um @Tipstaff, he "fixed" the problem. Get current yo. Lol. :p

    Congratulations @Trusteft. Hip hip, hooray! :D
     
  14. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    That's what I believe, it was creating some sort of a short. Which makes sense with the whole irregular time to reboot thing. Time will tell.
     
  15. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Thank you :)
     
    Calliers likes this.
  16. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I meant that I don't believe there is anything wrong with the card. It is either the slot or the card wasn't seated properly. I don't believe there was/is a hardware fault. More like a user error perhaps.
     
  17. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,819
    Likes Received:
    656
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Technically works, not fixed. If it's still in the 3rd slot it's probably running at PCIe 4x. If he's ok with that then hey, yay it is. :p

    Edit: actually, I think it might be 8x as it's an x99 board. Can't recall how the board handles it.
     
  18. Calliers

    Calliers HH's Man In Black Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    31,919
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Oh man you got me there. :)
     
  19. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    19,664
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    153
    According to the manual they are all x16 :p
     
    Calliers likes this.
  20. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,819
    Likes Received:
    656
    Trophy Points:
    123
    I think with your CPU, which is 40 lanes, it is. So.. yay for you! :D
     
    Calliers and Trusteft like this.

Share This Page

visited