Burned S1156 by high overclock

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Bolletje, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I said and still says , foxconn is the cheapest and No1 Garbage Motherboards , many of my friends bought it as they were the cheapest alternatives but they blown up in a ridiculous time.
     
  3. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    However, Foxconn is a huge manufacturer of a lot of components. There's a huge posibility you have a part of Foxconn on your motherboard. The metal hull for the USB, LAN or Audio port for example.
     
  4. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,213
    Likes Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    108
    edit: stupid remark..
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2009
  5. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    no, the sockets, like the metal surround bolletje talks of is also on alot of boards, with certain components built by foxconn, certain boards have sockets built and designed by other companies. the boards i seen pic'd in an XS link is a gigabyte p55 with foxconn sockets.
     
  6. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brands also responded to this;

    EVGA only uses Lotes- or Tyco AMP-sockets
    MSI almost only uses Lotes; Only a few boards have the Foxconn. The Foxconn wil not be used anymore in the future.
    DFI will do the same thing: only use Lotes.
    Asus will also try to prevent this sort of failure.

    In my opinion they can still use the Foxconn on budget boards. You don't really go extreme with those boards.
     
  7. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
  8. Mike_Tech

    Mike_Tech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bit of an own goal really, good of Anand to bring it to attention really. At least this way it's easier to plan for the best systems for overclocking.

    Mike
     
  9. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
  10. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was extremely boring, btw Duron's can outlast today's CPU's!!
     
  11. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I know it's fake as hell, but it is funny, and I instantly got reminded of this, when I saw the burnt Socket.... I just thought turn-about is fairplay ;)

    @ Frankie, Sorry you're bored, maybe you should head back to FWZ, so you can have fun again :p
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2009
  12. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,938
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    123
    This is bad news for Intel. All of Intels boards are made by Foxconn, which means they will have a socket made by them on it. Wonder why they haven't responded yet.
     
  13. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I would bet that they haven't responded because they don't want a class action lawsuit or some other type of ordeal, and are probably researching it thoroughly, and providing guidelines to ensure it doesn't happen again.

    Most of the time companies keep themselves on the DL to lower attention towards potential issues so they DO NOT lose sales.

    Look at apple with the iphones starting on fire, no matter how limited.

    Dell with the laptops on fire, etc...
     
  14. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not many people get an Intel board for 5GHz+ ;)
     
  15. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    They get it in the hopes of 5 Ghz then? :D
     
  16. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,938
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    123
    As far as I'm aware you can get that on the Intel DP55SB.
     
  17. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some are claiming this is happening on stock clocked rigs as well, not just overclocked machines.
     
  18. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    37,909
    Likes Received:
    788
    Trophy Points:
    138
    not good
     
  19. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    If that's true, I am sure Intel is quietly pushing a new QA process. Before they readily admit it.

    And as Judas said not good.
     
  20. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page

visited