General ASIO use in Sonar 7 pro. + Audigy 2 ZS platinium

Discussion in 'ASIO' started by alexaepathy, May 13, 2008.

1. alexaepathy

alexaepathy New Member

Hello I'm new to KX, I've tried looking in the archives, but can't find the answer.

I have Sonar set to 48khz sample rate, 16 bit recording. using ASIO

When I open Sonar a Creative ASIO window appears telling me that

"There are no Creative audio products installed and running on the system that support ASIO"

I receive 2 of these windows, one after another.

At this point sonar opens, and I do have all the ASIO inputs available on my tracks, but I can't get any signal to go in.

The recording engine button is grayed out, and I can't click it to lock on green.

When I press the record button, sonar complains that

"Unable to open audio record device. Device may not support the current project's audio format or may be in use."

When I record using WDM, I have no problems.

All my DSP settings are defaulted, and I have no problems hearing playback.

My real question is, does ASIO work right out of the box after installing the kX drivers?

Am I doing something wrong in my Sonar / ASIO Control Panel config.

Here is a screenshot of my DSP settings:

http://s95196534.onlinehome.us/alex/other/alexDSP.JPG

Thanks for the help.
  2. Russ

Russ New Member

Yes, kX ASIO (generally) does work right out of the box, however you will not get any signal until you enable whichever inputs your are routing to ASIO in kX Mixer, etc. From the picture, you are routing prolog to ASIO, so make sure the inputs that you want to use are enabled on the Ins and Outs page of kxmixer, and if you are using AC97, that the correct AC97 source is selected on the AC97 page of kxmixer.

Aside from the above:

Your ASIO settings sound right...
    What OS are you using? (I am not sure what the status is (currently) with kX ASIO in Vista)