Move vs Delete

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Trusteft, Feb 27, 2018.

  1. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,249
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Is there an actual difference in the way the file is deleted?
    I am asking because I have noticed files that "move" are no longer available if through undelete programs, where files which are deleted, even without using the recycle bin, can be at the very least seen through undelete programs. This is not the first time I notice this.

    I am talking about Windows up to 8.1 as I don't know if 10 does it any differently.
     
  2. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Are you talking about moving from one partition or drive to another, or within the same partition? My guess is that you mean the former, but then it ought to be the same, as far as I know.

    In the latter case, only the record containing the location of the file is altered, so the file doesn't get re-recorded and then deleted, and therefore there is no file to recover.
     

Share This Page

visited