No video signal to monitor.

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by riseagainst541, Jan 10, 2009.

1. riseagainst541

riseagainst541 New Member

Hello

I have been using my current PC for about 2 1/2 years now, and just recently every time I turn it on, I get the no signal to the monitor. At first I thought the monitor had stopped working so I plugged into an older machine and it worked just fine.

After that I tried to just let the computer boot up all the way and tried to log into Windows while I had my speakers turned up. It let me log in just fine, I heard the Windows log-in chime sound, so I am worried that it could be my video card, but could the error lie elsewhere as well?
  2. nicnik

nicnik In the Land of Snow

Try another graphics card and if it works then it's highly likely your existing graphics card that is the culprit.

You can also try putting that graphics card into your old rig, assuming same slot fitting, and if it doesn't work then you can bet the graphics card is to blame.

Now if the above 2 scenarios are not the case then it may be the motherboard that is damaged.
    If you use any DVI-VGA adapters, try changing it too if you run out of ideas.
  3. Tipstaff

Tipstaff Well-Known Member

2 questions: 1) do you see anything during bootup such as your bootup sequence and such, or is black it from the start? 2) does your motherboard have onboard video?

If your computer has built in video, just as a test, try hooking up your monitor to that connection instead. If it works it could be an indication of 2 things: 1) your video card has failed or isn't being detected, in which case the onboard is taking over, or 2) the video card isn't seated properly in the graphics slot, and again, the onboard would take over.