1. The Dark Forum Skin... It's ALIVE!!!!!

What temp should my video card be at?

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by f0rbez, May 20, 2004.

1. f0rbez

f0rbez New Member

I have a Radeon 9800 XT, not overclocked, but its running at around 71 C. I just thought that seemed pretty high. Its just regular air cooled. I'm a video newb and don't know what I'm talking about though. Should I be concerned?
  2. ViRuS2k

ViRuS2k New Member

71c is very high with XT cards i tend to try not to let them go over 70c it should be ok but in teh 70c`s its pushing it. heres one for ya the Asus 9800XT i have idles at 42c and its max load is 55c never ever goes over 60c never mind 70c :/
  3. HardwareHeaven

HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

70c is fine for a 9800XT (bearing in mind the readouts arent that accurate anyway) as long as you have decent air flow in your case, these cards are made to handle massive temperatures.
  4. f0rbez

f0rbez New Member

hmm got the temp from the overdrive tab
  5. HardwareHeaven

HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

seriously I can understand people see 70c and think it will melt because they are used to processors, but as ive said to several people who have emailed or PMed me, 70c on a 9800XT is nothing to worry about, as long as the fan is operational and you have decent case air flow, just enjoy it.
  6. Dom

Dom New Member

Yeah. GPUs are made to handle high temperatures like that, more so than CPUs. Plus, as Z said, those readouts aren't too acurate, then can be off by 10+ degrees.
  7. pr0digal jenius

pr0digal jenius Delete Me

lol....i think ATi should make a CPU and sell it with their radeon IGP boards....i would buy one....cuz well..intel and AMD make some pretty pathetic processors when ti comes ti dealign with adversity (AMD's do better with heat then intel tho)
  8. f0rbez

f0rbez New Member