Windows 10 and KX-3552 (new fix)

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by mole2old, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. Wezli

    Wezli New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I installed the driver and the fix but doesnt matter what i chose in surround+ I have only 2.1, but I want 5.1. I tried to change in windows settings but no option for that, it says 2 channel and its grey, so I cant change it, just test, and 2.1 is ok but i want 5.1 How can I do that?

    I have audigy 2 value
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
  2. Timobkg

    Timobkg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks so much for getting this running. My onboard sound died, and this ancient Sound Blaster Live Value card was all I had. Being able to get it running on Win 10 64bit is awesome.

    However, I can't get my microphone to work no matter what I try. I can hear myself talking into the mic, but programs set to use the Recording Mixer as input don't detect any sound whatsoever. I tried setting up the mic and that just caused a lot of feedback, but didn't change the fact that the speakers are outputting the mic but programs don't detect anything.

    I'd appreciate any help you could give me with getting my mic working.

    Edit: I followed this advice:
    I had to increase the microphone level on the AC97 page in step 1 up to -20 or so, and programs detect my mic now, but the sound is still being played via the speakers. Any way to fix that so that my mic input isn't being output via the speakers?
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
  3. peate

    peate Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Did you do step #2? You have to mute AC97 on the input-output page.
     
  4. kokoize

    kokoize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  5. erim

    erim Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It worked fine in W7, but kxmixer.exe wouldn't start at boot.
    So I opened msconfig, disabled (unchecked) both kxmixer entries and then added a scheduled task for it instead.

    Thanks though, and happy new year!
     
  6. Sasha_kera

    Sasha_kera New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hotfix_3552.cmd not found
    [​IMG]
     
  7. mole2old

    mole2old Thinking sucks, let’s go break something ...

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
  8. melotron

    melotron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you!
     
  9. tml3nr

    tml3nr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Many many thanks to mole2old. Your Fix for the KX-Driver v3552 (updated 07.07.2017), and Foobar ASIO work perfectly for me on W7 x64 (Audigy 2 ZS).
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2017
  10. mole2old

    mole2old Thinking sucks, let’s go break something ...

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks for feedback.
     
    tml3nr likes this.
  11. Caleb171

    Caleb171 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi mole2old, your patch is working fine, even Asio, but every time i boot the system the last mixer window used appears, it's not the logo, the main window. I tried several times always following your instruction, but I always have to manually close the window. I'm using Win10 64 bits, Audigy 2 ZS. Maybe the picture helps... Thanks in advance!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      644.5 KB
      Views:
      20
  12. Caleb171

    Caleb171 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Seems solved: Windows was loading 2 instances of kxmixer, I just disable one of them and it's working flawless now! Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      88.9 KB
      Views:
      20
  13. mole2old

    mole2old Thinking sucks, let’s go break something ...

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Looks like previous version of driver was not completely uninstalled. I think what previous version on your PC was not exactly 3552, maybe 3550 or 3551 and some old "tails" in windows registry still exist. Try to uninstall current kx-drivers, then cleanup windows registry with CCleaner (for example) and reboot your PC. Also you can try install previous ver. of drivers (what was on your PC before) and then completely uninstall it + cleanup registry.
    Then try install kx3552 (! as described in help file !) and your issue must go away :)
    I test kx-3552 an FIX on win10-LTSB-x64 (with single user) and found no problem.
    Good Luck!
     
  14. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think driver is also working with Server versions of Windows. Ofc you have to enable audio service.
     

Share This Page