|
|||||||
| Off-Topic Forum A place to chill and relax ... |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
HardwareHeaven Extreme Member
|
Atari, Selling info? Hacked? or what..?
Atari, Selling info? Hacked? or what..? I known their a flaming ship but I so hope
they didn't "sell out" their forum users to spammers. As accont details, names and valid emails can pull a tidy profit. I'd also hope they weren't hacked, or have rouge admin and the same info acquired. Well something is a foot... I received a piece a spam today, it's significance you'll soon see when I explain. But 1st the email. 00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000000000000000000 Sent : Saturday, July 15, 2006 4:52 PM To : [COLOR=Red]Atari Screen name NameOMITED[/COLOR] Subject : hi [COLOR=Red]Atari Screen name NameOMITED[/COLOR]. Hello [COLOR=Red]Atari Screen name NameOMITED[/COLOR] ![]() Greetings from [COLOR=Red]DATEING SITE NAME OMITTED[/COLOR] 00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000000000000000000 Now this email is my ISP given one which I have set up forwarding, My isp forwards all email to my other email account. I ONLY EVER received contacts from them regarding down time etc... I never used in anywhere, but one place the Atari forums. Also the screen name is a rare one I used only a on hand full of time never with that isp email address, and never at any forum, only when buying stuff from secure places. The screen name So rare if you where to search it on goggle (I did) you'll find ONLY my posts under that name as hits. Also of course I don't have my email displayed or anything like that on my profile. A long time a ago I couldn't log into my Atari account, I forgot my password under this name I use everywhere now. So I signed up under a name I knew I wouldn't forget. Had to us second email, since you can't have more then 1 account per email. So I made the mistake of using my ISP one. So somethings definitely up @ ATARI. Have I complain to them? No If I where to post it I'm sure it would be "moderated there" or dismissed as farce, or ignored. How my email adress and account name info, was goten bythe spamer is yet to be seen but the source is with out any shred of doubt the atari forums.
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Delete Me
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14,648
Rep Power: 0 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
or perhaps you have a trojan?
![]() i seldom get spam, and when i do, i never bother figuring out how i got it...i just delete it. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Anti-Piracy Poster Boy
|
Maybe someone's just blasting aaaaaaa@yourisp.com to zzzzzzz@yourisp.com which is not uncommon if the isp isn't set up well enough to blacklist the mailer.
Maybe your isp has it kicking around on a web page somewhere (some admin or access log or support call) that just happened to be publicly accessible. Not all robots, especially spam ones, pay attention to robots.txt. I'd say one of those are more likely than atari selling your info.
__________________
"It is because the resistance to paying for copyrighted material, although often characterized as arising from a supposed technical burden or principled concern for the public interest, arises rather from exactly the same segment of the brain that is dominant in shoplifters." - Mark Helprin, Digital Barbarism In other words, it's never okay to steal even if you think you have a good reason! www.yayitsandrew.com
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
DriverHeaven Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,350
Rep Power: 0 ![]() |
then again we are talking about atari here
PS sry im drunk yet again
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
||
|
HardwareHeaven Extreme Member
|
Quote:
Quote:
been also in that email? The only possible conclusion is the source is Atari, only in that place, im my forum account info.... wich means 1) they have been hacked 2) they have a rouge forum admin 3) the are selling the info it's the onlythings that are feasible
__________________
|
||
|
|
|
|
|
#6 | |
|
Delete Me
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14,648
Rep Power: 0 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Quote:
what he said
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
HardwareHeaven Extreme Member
|
Quote:
(I think we posted at the same time ... LOL)
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Delete Me
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14,648
Rep Power: 0 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
blame the rogue admin...rouge would mean he had a nasty red tint to him
![]() but yea...maybe they fired some guy with a high level password
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|