HardwareHeaven.com
HardwareHeaven.com
Looking for the skin chooser?
 
 
  • Home

  • Hardware reviews

  • Articles

  • News

  • Tools

  • Gaming at HardwareHeaven

  • Forums

 
HardwareHeaven.com > 

Reviews

 > 

Desktops

Advanced
Search

Cyberpower Infinity Achilles Pro GT System Review


by Stuart Davidson | 15th March 2014

Cyberpower offer consumers the option of having a high performance custom built PC system, using the latest components, but built and delivered ready to go by experts. Today we take a look at their Infinity Achilles Pro GT system which features Core i5 CPU and Radeon 290X graphics.


ZOTAC ZBOX Nano AQ02 Plus Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 10th March 2014

Today ZOTAC release the latest in their ZBOX Nano range, the ZBOX Nano AQ02. Palm sized and featuring an AMD APU we have the Plus version on our test bench for a quick look.


ZOTAC ZBOX Nano ID68 Plus Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 23rd January 2014

Today ZOTAC expand their ZBOX range with a new model, the ID68-Plus. With i5 CPU, 4GB of memory and 500GB hard drive as standard mixed with easy upgrade potential and 4K support this palm sized system could be ideal for desktop and media use.


UKGC Minos Extreme Mini Gaming PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 27th November 2013

November and December are great months for replacing a PC. Not only have all the big hardware launches for the year taken place, the big winter game releases have all occurred too. One company looking to meet our needs for the latest and greatest system is UK Gaming Computers and today we have their Minos system on our test bench. Based on an overclocked i7 CPU and GTX 780 Ti GPU with compact chassis and motherboard it should be a powerful yet small system.


MSI All-in-One Gaming PC (AG2712) Review


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd November 2013

The MSI Gaming All-In-One PC takes what is essentially the guts of a performance laptop and puts it into a form factor which is ideal for the desktop. Large display with built in CPU and Radeon GPU, touch functionality etc. Today we find out if it can live up to its "Gaming" tag while also looking at its potential for normal desktop use.


ZOTAC ZBOX Nano ID64 Plus Mini-PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 11th July 2013

Today ZOTAC are taking their ZBOX Nano range to a whole new level, sending it out with an i5 CPU inside... that's a midrange desktop CPU in a case small enough to hold in the palm of our hand. Can they do it while maintaining performance and minimising temperatures and noise levels?


Dell XPS 18 Portable All-in-One Desktop Review


by Stuart Davidson | 29th June 2013

So phones start to become something else at around 5-6inches but when does a tablet become something more? Today we look at a device which Dell market as a 'Portable All in One Desktop', the XPS 18. Is it a desktop though... or is it just about the biggest (and most powerful) tablet out there?


Chillblast Fusion Tiger Shark Core i5-4670K Overclocked System Video Review


by Stuart Davidson | 13th June 2013

With part of the profit going to shark preservation the Chillblast Fusion Tiger Shark is a system aimed at those who want the latest Intel CPU with maximum value for money but don't know how to build and overclock a system.


Overclockers.co.uk Titan Dragon Army Gaming PC Video Review with DaveChaos


by Dave Chaos | 15th May 2013

Today DaveChaos gives us an overview of the Titan Dragon Army custom-built overclocked gaming PC from Overclockers.co.uk. Be sure to check out Dave's YouTube channel for more of his personal videos, and subscribe to the HardwareHeaven channel to keep up-to-date with our video reviews.


ZOTAC ZBOX ID89 Plus Mini-PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 8th May 2013

The ZOTAC ZBOX ID89 Plus contains the usual selection of 2.5in hard drive, wireless-n wi-fi and the like but manages to include support for dual channel memory and arrives kitted out with a Core i5 CPU. All in a chassis not much bigger than most external drive enclosures.


Sapphire Edge Mini PC HD4 Video Review


by Lauren TastyPC | 8th April 2013

Lauren from TastyPC.tv today takes a look at the Sapphire Edge Mini PC HD4 for HardwareHeaven, check it out.


Dell XPS One 27 inch with Touch All-in-one (2710) Desktop Review


by Stuart Davidson | 31st January 2013

Recently Dell updated their all-in-one range to include the XPS One 27 inch (with optional touch screen). Providing a resolution of 2560x1440, i7 CPU and GeForce 600 series graphics on Windows 8 this could be the ideal home and office solution for those wanting to save space with a stylish chassis.


ZOTAC ZBOX ID83 Plus Mini-PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 29th January 2013

Sapphire recently released the AMD A8 based Edge VS8 mini-PC and now we get a chance to see what ZOTAC's latest generation of system can offer in comparison. The ZBOX ID83 Plus takes us into Ivy Bridge in a system which is comparable in size to a decent router, let's find out how it performs...


Sapphire Edge VS8 Mini-PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd December 2012

Sapphire are back with their latest generation of mini-PC, the EDGE VS8. Based around AMDs A8 APU we get quad core processing and DirectX 11 graphics, all in an ultra-compact chassis.


ZOTAC ZBOX Nano XS AD11 Plus Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 11th April 2012

At Cebit ZOTAC were giving select press a glimpse of a product which would soon hit the market, a new ultra compact ZBOX sytem which would be their smallest yet, but the claim was that performance would not be impacted. Today that ridiculously small system launches and we find out if the ZBOX Nano XS Plus (AD11) lives up to ZOTAC's claims.


ZOTAC ZBOX Blu-Ray AD05 Plus Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 4th April 2012

ZOTAC have added a new model to their product catalogue and redesigned their chassis around added functionality. Today on our test bench we have the ZBOX AD05 Plus Blu-Ray, a compact, slim chassis for those who want a compact media system.


Alienware X51 Desktop Review


by Stuart Davidson | 23rd February 2012

On our test bench today we have the high end Alienware X51 configuration. It boasts an i7 CPU and GTX GPU in its specifications and we will be putting it through a selection of synthetic and real world tests, including Mass Effect 3, before taking a look at what the performance could be should the user upgrade to an SSD and Radeon 7900 card.


Alienware Aurora R4 Gaming Desktop Review


by Stuart Davidson | 18th February 2012

Today on our test bench we have the latest performance desktop from Alienware. The Aurora R4 features many of the impressive design aspects from the previous version such as motorised top vents and liquid cooling mixed with an updated X79 chipset and the latest i7 socket 2011 CPUs. We will be taking a detailed look at the system as well as performance in synthetic and real world testing.


ZOTAC ZBOX AD04 Plus Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 24th January 2012

We are starting to see a number of ultra small systems updated with the latest AMD E-450 dual core APU which features CPU and GPU in one compact design. A front runner in this market is the latest ZBOX from ZOTAC, the AD04 Plus and we have one of the first samples on our review bench today.


How To Build A Windows Home Server


by Stuart Davidson | 30th December 2011

This article documents the process of choosing components for the new Windows Home Server 2011 box, from the low wattage Intel CPU, through the motherboard, PSU, memory and drives before looking at the setup process and how the OS looks and works in day to day use.


Cyberpower LAN Party EVO Commander System Review


by Stuart Davidson | 9th December 2011

One of the latest systems to be released by Cyberpower is the LAN Party Evo Commander, a compact system aimed at gamers and those who want decent productivity performance. We have one on our test bench today so let's take a look at what Cyberpower can offer.


ACER Revo Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd August 2011

While the netbook form factor may be on the decline the hardware inside has other uses, for example it is easy to build a feature packed compact system for general computing and media use. That is something Acer has tried to achieve, in a stylish and somewhat unique way with the Revo mini PC. Today we have an Acer Revo on our test bench to find out what it can offer to set itself apart from other compact systems.


Dell XPS 8300 Media Desktop Review


by Stuart Davidson | 15th August 2011

Today we have the XPS 8300 based on H67 and 2nd Generation Core CPUs (SandyBridge). With prices starting at £429/$699 the XPS 8300 is advertised as offering great multi-tasking performance and decent gaming/media features. Let's find out if Dell has achieved that.


Sapphire EDGE-HD2 Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 20th July 2011

Today we have the follow-up to Sapphire's original mini-PC on our test bench, the Edge-HD2, which is an enhanced model which comes bundled with Windows 7.


Sapphire Edge-HD Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 14th February 2011

On our test bench is a product from Sapphire which contains a NVIDIA GPU... yes, NVIDIA. The Edge-HD is a small ATOM/ION system which Sapphire say could be the smallest PC in the world. We will be putting it though a number of real world tests which include Blu-Ray playback, GPU media encoding and power use to find out whether it meets the needs of the average consumer.


Chillblast Fusion Challenger System


by Stuart Davidson | 30th November 2010

Today we have a custom-built performance system on our test bench; aimed at consumers who want a good base specification with potential for future upgrades the Fusion Challenger retails for £699 and features a Core i3 CPU at 4.0GHz and plenty of configuration options during the purchase process.


Dell Inspiron One 2310 Desktop (All-In-One 23in) Review


by Stuart Davidson | 19th November 2010

On our test bench today is one of the first samples of Dell's Inspiron One range. With a 23" multi-touch screen, Core i5 CPU, Radeon graphics and Blu-Ray we have an impressive system on paper. We will be putting the Inspiron One through a selection of real world tests which include touch screen gaming (StarCraft 2), media conversion and Blu-Ray playback. Videos of the system in action will of course also be available.


Cryo Rapier Gaming PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 18th November 2010

Cryo describe the Rapier as an entry level system and at first glance it could be with a Core i3 processor and P55 motherboard as some of its main components. When we consider that this i3 CPU is actually running at 4.48GHz things get a little more interesting though, so let's look at what Cryo can do for under £800.


A.C. Ryan Playon!DVR HD Review


by Stuart Kerley | 1st November 2010

A.C. Ryan have just released the new Playon!DVR HD, an upgrade to the original Playon! HD with an integrated TV tuner and DVR. Not only that, they are powering through the firmware releases, fixing bugs and adding features regularly and with the most recent update available last week now seems like an ideal time to review the product.


Dell Inspiron Zino HD 410 Desktop Review


by Stuart Davidson | 28th October 2010

Today we will put the Zino HD 410 through a selection of tests including Blu-Ray and MKV playback, encoding and even some gaming to find out whether this model meets the needs of consumers looking for a new mini-system.


ASRock Vision 3D HTPC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 14th October 2010

Today ASRock are back with their latest mini-PC, the Vision 3D. Based on Intel's H55 chipset and NVIDIA's Fermi based GT425M graphics this model gives consumers a simple way to add a Blu-Ray 3D based HTPC to their home cinema. Today we put that system through a selection of real world tests including Blu-Ray 3D playback, media encoding and gaming to establish if this system offers more than just 3D capability.


Zotac ZBox (HD-ID11) Mini PC Review


by Stuart Davidson | 8th October 2010

Today we have one of the ZBOX systems on our test bench and have run it through a selection of real world tests including HD playback, GPU computing and media encoding to find out whether it can meet the needs of consumers looking for an all purpose mini-system.


Novatech The Revolution - Full System Review


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd September 2010

Today we have one of Novatech's latest systems on our test bench. The Revolution is a midrange desktop with 6-core AMD processor and Radeon 5700 series graphics. Can it live up to the high expectations generated by the recent Which report? Let's find out in a selection of real world tests ranging from Gaming to High Definition playback and media conversion.


Dell Studio XPS 7100 Desktop Review


by Stuart Davidson | 23rd August 2010

Today Dell is back with a new system which is aimed at maximising productivity for home users, students and professionals who are on a budget. The Studio XPS 7100 is AMD Vision Black certified and prices start at £479/$499, ideal for the back to school period. So let's see how it performs for us in a selection of real world tasks as well as a little gaming.


ASRock Core 100HT-BD (Mini Core i3 HTPC) Review


by Stuart Davidson | 18th August 2010

Today ASRock are back with an updated model from their 330HT, based on Intel's Core i3/HM55 platform, which aims to take performance into the arena of a full desktop PC whilst maintaining the same footprint as their last generation ION system. Can it be done? Let's find out as we take the Core 100HT-BD through a selection of real world tests including StarCraft 2, media encoding and high definition playback.


CAPE 7 ION PC Review


by Henry Butt | 12th March 2010

Today we are going to look at the ultra-small Cape 7 ION PC which uses a single-core ATOM processor alongside its NVIDIA GPU and packs it all into the most compact system we have tested to date.


ASRock ION 330HT with Blu-Ray


by Stuart Davidson | 28th January 2010

Today we have one of the latest models released on our test bench, the ASRock ION 330HT-BD is one of the highest specification ION/ATOM systems we have seen to date. We will be running it through a selection of real world tests to find out if it can become the centre of a home theatre environment.


Dell Inspiron Zino HD Mini-Desktop


by Stuart Davidson | 9th January 2010

Today we are taking a look at Dells latest offering in the mini desktop market. The Zino HD has some impressive specifications on paper with promise of great media features and high performance in other tasks.


Alienware Aurora ALX Desktop


by Stuart Davidson | 10th December 2009

Today we take a look at the latest in Alienware/Dells desktop range, the Aurora ALX and run it though a selection of real world tests including gaming at 2560x1600, Photoshop, media encoding and overclocking to find out if their impressive run of form continues.


Shuttle XPC SX58H7


by Stuart Davidson | 12th November 2009

The first XPC was released in 2001 and since then Shuttle have continually been upgrading the range to utilise as many desktop features as possible into a compact chassis. One of the latest models to be released is their Core-i7/X58 based system the SX58H7 and today we have one on our test bench to find out if Intels latest architecture is a viable option in a small form factor.


Cryo Nano - Ultimate SFF PC


by Zardon | 29th October 2009

Do you like small PC's but don't want to compromise? Then look no further because we have one of the finest systems in our labs today. How does a watercooled Core i7 with a 1.6ghz overclock inside a custom made carbon fibre Lian Li chassis sound?

Now we have you salivating .. make sure you check this out ...



Mesh Slayer Elemental


by Zardon | 8th August 2009

Does the combination of high end AMD X4 955 Processor with Coolit Domino, fast OCZ DDR3 memory and ATI 4890 graphics get you excited? If not, then check you have a pulse.

Today we will find out if the Slayer Elemental really is a kick ass gaming machine or if it is just another run of the mill system build hiding behind an attractive flash web site.



Dell XPS 630i


by Zardon | 2nd August 2009

Many enthusiast users snigger at the mention of Dell, however at Driverheaven we know there are a percentage of users who either don't have the skillset to build their own computer or who just don't have the time. It is also worth mentioning that with this particular system Dell offer a 3-4 year in home service in the case of any major issues occuring.


Wired2Fire Hellspawn ALC Gaming System


by Nathan Marks | 17th July 2009

Today were going to be looking at the Wired2Fire Hellspawn ALC, a system packed with overclocked components such as the i7 920 D0 processor cooled by a Coolit Domino, ATIs blisteringly fast HD 4890 and a price tag of only £1099


ION Comparison - ASRock and Zotac


by Stuart Davidson | 10th July 2009

Today we have two different approaches to the Ion platform on our test bench. The first is from ASRock and is a full prebuilt system and the second, from Zotac, is a motherboard/CPU combination which allows the end user to build a machine to their specifications.


Beast Computers - Breed Evo System


by Nathan Marks | 4th June 2009

Today well be taking a look at the Breed Evo, a high performance gaming rig which is wrapped up in the stylish SilverStone TJ07 chassis. The system comes equipped with a highly clocked i7 920 processor and a GTX295, both watercooled with some of the finest high end enthusiast equipment on the market.


Kobalt Apache ICE X58 System


by Nathan Marks | 29th May 2009

Purchasing a new computer is never an easy task with countless manufacturers offering systems of various configurations. It takes a little something special to stand out among such a crowded theatre and today were going to take a look at a system from Kobalt Computers.


Asus Eee Box B204


by Nathan Marks | 11th May 2009

Today were going to be taking a look at the Eee Box B204, a small, stylish desktop machine powered by an Atom processor complete with its party piece, ATI 3450 graphics. Over the course of this review well put it through its paces and find out just what it is capable of.


CyberPower Gamer Ultra Perseus PC


by Nathan Marks | 9th April 2009

Today we are going to look at the CyberPower Gamer Ultra Perseus, an AM3 Phenom II 720 powered rig complete with DDR3 RAM and the powerful ATI HD4870. Featuring their advanced watercooling system.


Novatech Zu PC


by Nathan Marks | 7th April 2009

Novatech are a well known and reputable supplier of computer hardware and accessories in the UK and they sell a range of gadgets and electronics. They have a large offering of prebuilt desktop and laptop machines in their online store and today were going to look at the Novatech Zu, a desktop computer containing ATIs fastest single GPU available on the market today accompanied with a Hyundai W240D 24" LCD display.


Cyberpower I7 Poseidon


by Nathan Marks | 21st December 2008

Today we're going to look at the Cyberpower Gamer Infinity i7 Poseidon, a pre-overclocked, watercooled i7 system. With a promising spec sheet this system looks like it will pack an impressive punch. If you like the system after reading our review then we have a special offer, just for DriverHeaven members!


Cyberpower Gamer Infinity Quad Elite


by Zardon | 3rd September 2008

How does a watercooled, overclocked Q9550, ATI HD 4870 X2, 4GB of DDR2 ram, 750 GB Sata II HDD with a 780W PSU all running on an Asus P5Q Pro P45 motherboard sound? What if they sweetened the deal by throwing in the gorgeous Hiper Anubis Case?


PC Specialist Apollo System


by Stuart Davidson | 24th August 2008

PC Specialist are a UK based company who concentrate solely on custom PC builds for consumers that do not have the time or expertise to create a system themselves. Trading since September 2003 they may not be the first name that comes to mind but this does not mean they should be ruled out if you need a prebuilt. Using their web configuration tool it is possible to create a system to match your dreams (or budget!) and one such system is the Apollo.


Skulltrail - XFX GTX 280 XXX 3-Way SLi /4870X2 CFx


by Zardon | 17th August 2008

Even though comparisons will be made, our intention is not to directly compare ATI against Nvidia in this article, but more to see how both leading ultimate solutions will run on a system which should in theory be less CPU bound than most. To further downplay the side effects of the two Quad processors affecting the results, we have watercooled both CPU's and overclocked them to 4.4ghz (400x11). This will let both graphics solutions stretch their legs at the highest resolutions.


Intel Skulltrail Platform


by Zardon | 11th February 2008

Skulltrail. Even the name sounds mean. If you haven't heard the codename before now then we have a treat in store for you today. Skulltrail is a high end desktop PC platform based on Xeon class workstation processors. How does Dual Cpu, 8 Cores, four graphics card slots, dual 1600mhz front side buses with a total of 25.6 GB/s of bandwidth grab you?


Uberclok Reaktor Preoverclocked PC


by Stuart Davidson | 7th November 2007

It must be a daunting experience setting up a small company to manufacture PC’s aimed at enthusiasts, after all you are entering a marketplace featuring well established companies such as Dell/Alienware and Voodoo PC, who all have decent reputations for building high end systems at competitive prices. Regardless of the scale of this undertaking that is exactly what Uberclok are doing. A small company based in Chicago with five employees, Uberclok are specialising in pre-overclocked systems for consumers who want mainstream components with ultimate performance. There are currently two models in the Uberclok range, the Ion and the Reaktor. The Ion starts at $1660, the Reaktor at $2500, each with numerous configurations to take the system as high in performance as possible. Today we have a Reaktor system on our test bench configured at a cost of around $3600.


AMD Mini ITX System (featuring AMD BE-2350 CPU)


by Stuart Davidson | 18th October 2007

Could a system be built which would handle some light gaming, high definition playback and perhaps a little encoding, while being as small as possible? To find out we will be creating a mini-ITX system and looking at its stand-alone performance as well as testing it against a microATX motherboard of similar specification.


Building a lower power ITX system


by Grace | 8th May 2007

Do you dream of a quiet system? perhaps one at home you can leave on 24/7 as a network server? Today we show you how it is possible to build a pc that consumes no more than 11 watts of power, is totally silent and hasn't a single moving part ... yes believe it or not, you can build a PC that under load consumes less power than a lightbulb.


Systemax Sabre Intel®Core™2 Extreme Gaming PC


by Chaos | 31st December 2006

Today we have the chance to examine a system from Systemax. The Systemax Sabre is built around the new Intel®Core™2 Extreme X6800 processor and ATI’s X1900XTX Crossfire technology. The system includes Windows XP Pro SP2, 2 x 150 GB 10K RPM Raptor SATA drives, 2 GB of Corsair TWINX PC6400 memory, a Plextor SATA DVD-RW drive, a Sony DVD/CDRW combo drive, a floppy drive and a flash card reader.


Nintendo Wii


by Zardon | 25th November 2006

The next generation of gaming came into full force this month seeing the releases of both Sony’s PlayStation 3 and the Nintendo Wii. The PS3 and Xbox 360 have a bitter rivalry because they are both regarded as technical powerhouses, and because of its less powerful components the Wii is often called “a GameCube on steroids”. While it certainly won’t outperform the other two in benchmark tests, what the Wii lacks in power it more than makes up for innovation. After trying out the Wii, we found it to be so much more than a creative system with a ridiculous name.


Shuttle SN27/P2


by Zardon | 18th September 2006

In the media centre world, Shuttle really need no introduction, they are renowned for creating some of the most beautifully designed media pc chassis. They have been ploughing through the competition in the Small Form Factor world for a good few years now and when it comes to building a high performing PC or new media centre there really isn't any reason we shouldn't consider any of the offerings from Shuttle. So with this in mind lets take a look at Shuttles top of the range AMD AM2 barebones system.


Alienware Aurora / 7900 GTX SLI/ FX60


by Zardon | 16th May 2006

The Aurora is being powered by the excellent AMD FX-60 and Nvidia's extreme high end NV 7900 GTX running in SLI, thats 1 gigabyte of lightning fast video memory combined with the best gaming processor currently available. The chassis is one of the meanest and most stylish ive seen, it is finished in a piano black style veneer - HR Giger would be proud. The only downside to this is you need to keep polishing it as you will find after several days there will be fingerprints all over it.


Alienware MJ-12 Series Workstation


by Stuart Davidson | 8th February 2006

Whilst Alienware are great at producing high performance systems for the gaming and home markets as well as mobile parts these don’t meet the needs of everyone and that’s where today’s product comes in. The Alienware MJ-12 is a workstation system designed for tasks such as 3D modelling, Photoshop and even video editing. Think of the most demanding tasks you would throw at any designer or developer and you pretty much have the work Alienware have build this system to handle.


Alienware Aurora // Nvidia 7800GTX in SLI


by Stuart Davidson | 2nd September 2005

Alienware are well known for building some high end systems for the enthusiast user and for those people who want a high performing system without the hassles of building their own. Today we are looking at the extremely high end Aurora which features a dual Nvidia 7800 GTX solution as well as a Dual core AMD processor powering the system. We ran it through the newest games including the new F.E.A.R demo and the SLI capable Battlefield 2 to see just how good those 7800's are.


Alienware M51 5300 SFF


by Zardon | 28th August 2005

Small Form Factor systems are continuing to grow in popularity, and rightly so, a well built SFF should in theory be more than capable in fulfilling all your computer needs with the minimum of noise and deskspace. We even published an editorial showing you how to create your own, however we know some of you don't either have time or the skills to do this and want a high end prebuilt system to your specifications .....


Shuttle SN95G5


by Stuart Davidson | 31st March 2005

Before receiving this product for review I was extremely sceptical about how well a Small Form Factor PC would handle my needs, both as a performance user and as a reviewer. The nature of my PC use demands that I use the latest components which as well as drawing a lot of power and creating a lot of heat always stress the other parts of the system to their limits. I just didn’t think a machine as compact as this would be able to handle it… lets see if I was right or wrong