HardwareHeaven.com
HardwareHeaven.com
Looking for the skin chooser?
 
 
  • Home

  • Hardware reviews

  • Articles

  • News

  • Tools

  • Gaming at HardwareHeaven

  • Forums

 
HardwareHeaven.com > 

Reviews

 > 

Smartphones

Advanced
Search

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 26th October 2013

Since the release of the Note 2 Samsung have continued to enhance the Galaxy range with the S4, increasing the specification of their flagship model and enhancing the software features too. With that phone well established in the market it was time to refresh the Note series and today that is the focus of our review, the Galaxy Note 3.


iPhone 5C Review


by Craig Humphreys | 25th September 2013

Yesterday we looked at Apples new iPhone 5S along with iOS 7 but for the first time they are releasing more than one handset. Today we take a look at the lower cost model, the iPhone 5C to see what it offers consumers.


iPhone 5S Review


by Craig Humphreys | 24th September 2013

It's that time again... brand new iPhones landed with consumers at the weekend and we are starting our coverage with a look at iOS 7 and the iPhone 5S.


Samsung Galaxy Mega 6.3-inch Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 12th September 2013

The Note 3 will soon be on sale with its 5.7-inch display, 0.4 inches bigger than the original but that isn't the largest "phone" that Samsung offer. That title goes to the Galaxy Mega, a smartphone designed to offer great media consumption without the added expense of the stylus found on the Note range. Today we take a look at the 6.3-inch Galaxy Mega.


HTC One (Red) Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 26th August 2013

So what if HTC could design a handset which looked to compete not with Samsung but Apple in terms of build quality... and what if they refined their OS experience to add some differentiation from Samsung while staying a little closer to Android's stock experience than Sense had in the past. Well with the HTC One in exclusive Red we find out and that is the focus of today's review.


Samsung Galaxy S4 Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 17th May 2013

So what of the S4, is it enough of an upgrade from the S3 to entice current users? Can it compete with the impressive build quality offered by the HTC One? Today we take a look at the new model to see how it fairs in the current market.


Blackberry Q10 Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 9th May 2013

With the release of their Blackberry 10 OS we saw Blackberry move to a touch based smartphone, the Z10 and while it was a reasonably impressive handset it may not have appealed to the companys core audience who valued the physical keyboard. Enter the Q10 which brings the Blackberry range up to date in terms of specification and OS while integrating a physical keyboard with the touch and gesture based experience.


HTC One Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 13th April 2013

So what if HTC could design a handset which looked to compete not with Samsung but Apple in terms of build quality... and what if they refined their OS experience to add some differentiation from Samsung while staying a little closer to Android's stock experience than Sense had in the past. Well with the HTC One we find out and that is the focus of today's review.


3DMark for Android


by Stuart Davidson | 2nd April 2013

Today Futuremark are releasing, for free, a version of 3DMark which runs on Android (3.0 and above). This is their next step in allowing us to compare the latest mobile devices to each other with iOS support to follow soon. We have had some time with the new Android edition of 3DMark and today we have a selection of benchmark results from various devices as well as some information on the software itself.


Blackberry Z10 Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd February 2013

The latest hardware and software is ready from Blackberry in the shape of the Z10 and Q10 handsets. Both run the new Blackberry 10 mobile operating system and we have the former to review today.


Nokia Lumia 620 Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 16th February 2013

Looking to bring the Windows Phone 8 experience to a lower price point than the Lumia 920 is Nokias new Lumia 620. With interchangeable covers, HD camera and expandable storage it may just fit the bill as a great midrange handset.


Nokia Lumia 920 with Windows Phone 8 Review


by Stuart Davidson | 1st December 2012

Now a year on from the Lumia 800 launch Nokia have released the Lumia 920 with a bump in specifications and size. It also includes the latest mobile OS from Microsoft, Windows Phone 8... so does it have enough to compete in a market which has moved on significantly in the last 12 months?


Sony Xperia Miro Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 19th November 2012

Sony, like other manufacturers, look to cater for entry level consumers with devices such as the Xperia Miro, packing as much of the quality, features and performance into the device as is possible for minimal cost.


Sony Xperia T Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 19th October 2012

The Xperia S was a good, solid handset which didn't have industry leading specifications but performed well and offered some unique design elements. Sony's follow up is the Xperia T, a device which looks to build on their experience with the S and capture some more of the lucrative Android market.


Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 4th October 2012

Containing 2GB of memory and one of the fastest quad core CPUs around... along with an even bigger screen today we have a Note 2 on our test bench to find out whether Samsung have come down on the right side of the size line.


iPhone 5 Review


by Stuart Davidson | 21st September 2012

It's the latest iPhone, it's landing on doorsteps and shop floors today and we have ours unboxed, photographed and reviewed... so let's get started on the latest and greatest from Apple...


Orange San Diego - Intel Inside Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 27th July 2012

In June Orange announced their latest own brand handset, manufactured by Gigabyte and based on a reference design by Intel which also appears from other brands in locations like India (Xolo X900) the San Diego runs on an ATOM CPU making it different to the norm, right from the outset. Today we have a San Diego handset on our test bench to find out if it can follow on from the success of Orange's previous devices and whether it is desirable in a very crowded marketplace.


HTC Desire C Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 16th July 2012

Sitting at the entry level in terms of new Android 4.0 smartphones is HTC's Desire C. Clearly taking its design from the high end One family the Desire C looks to replace the Wildfire at the bottom end of the HTC product stack and today we have a handset on our test bench to find out what it offers.


HTC One S Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 2nd July 2012

The One X sits at the top of HTCs 2012 range of phones and offers some impressive specifications but not everyone needs or wants a quad core, 32GB device with large 4.7" screen. For those users one of the options HTC has made available is the One S, a 4.3" device which tailors its specification for more value orientated consumers. We have the One S on our test bench today so let's take a look at it...


Samsung Galaxy S3 Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 12th June 2012

Having the tag of most pre-ordered handset of this year, today we find out whether the Galaxy S3 has what it takes to continue the success of the Galaxy S2; or equally importantly whether it can compete with other handsets such as the One X from HTC.


HTC One X Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 15th May 2012

HTC's response to the strong range of Samsung handsets, and the recently announced Galaxy S 3 is the One range which has three models designed for different audiences. Sitting at the top of the pile is the One X with its Tegra 3 multi-core processor, 32GB of storage and Super IPS Screen and that is the focus of our review today.


Sony Xperia S Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 12th April 2012

In a move designed to refresh their image and product line Sony recently dropped the Ericsson brand from their handsets and are going it alone in the naming sense with a new range of Xperia phones which look to jump start their Android sales. Sharing a similar design they all have unique selling points such as the Xperia P's floating touch display were we simply hover over the screen to activate functions and sitting at the top of the product stack is the Xperia S.


Samsung Galaxy Nexus Smartphone Review


by Niall Coleman | 30th March 2012

Today we have the Galaxy Nexus on our test bench and will take a look at what it offers in today's smartphone market, focusing of course on aspects such as the OS which is still quite unique in the Android world.


Samsung Galaxy Note Smartphone/Tablet Review


by Stuart Davidson | 20th March 2012

What if one device solved the need to have a separate 3/4G enabled tablet, or laptop in addition to a phone? Well that is what Samsung aim to achieve with the Galaxy Note. Sitting very much above the phone space, yet below a full blown tablet, with its 5.3" screen it could be the answer... then again it could also be too big to be a phone or too small to be functional for other tasks. Today we find out which way our experience went.


Nokia Lumia 710 with Windows Phone 7.5 Review


by Niall Coleman | 6th March 2012

Recently Nokia have had somewhat of a makeover and having received the Lumia 710 all the nostalgic memories of the good times I had with Nokia came flooding back. So I am slowing things down with the Samsung Galaxy S2 and going with the Nokia Lumia 710 for a while, seeing how things work out... running on Windows Phone 7.5 Mango, who could resist?


HTC Titan Windows Phone Review


by Niall Coleman | 16th February 2012

HTC's Titan, powered by Windows Phone 7.5, was released at the end of 2011 and today we give it a once over to find out what it offers for those looking for something a little different to Android and iOS.


HTC Explorer Android Smartphone Review


by Niall Coleman | 25th January 2012

The Explorer is HTC's new entry level smartphone aimed at those customers looking for a smartphone but turned off by the large, feature rich and costly offering that is the HTC Sensation and its ilk.


Motorola Razr Android Smartphone Review


by Stuart Davidson | 19th January 2012

Looking to capitalise on their ever growing experience with Android and the success of those older V3 and Pebl products Motorola announced the new Razr (or Droid Razr) towards the end of 2011. This new device in the Razr family features unique high quality styling with some impressive specifications and aims to sit at the top of the smartphone market. Today we take a look at one in detail to see if it can compete in that area.


HTC Rhyme Android Smartphone Review


by Niall Coleman | 21st December 2011

The Rhyme is a departure for HTC from previous handsets in terms of form and function. When looking at this model we cannot help being struck by its unique styling and it's out of the ordinary, for HTC at least, colour and bundled accessories.


Nokia Lumia 800 with Windows Phone 7.5 Review


by Stuart Davidson | 14th December 2011

Launched recently the Lumia 800 is Nokia's first Windows based phone and one of the first handsets in a new wave of devices on the platform. With the latest OS, version 7.5 (Mango), we have been using the handset for a week now in day to day use, read on to find out our thoughts on the handset and OS.


HTC EVO 3D Android Smartphone Review


by Niall Coleman | 3rd December 2011

The HTC EVO 3D smartphone features a 4.3in 3D capable screen with dual 5 megapixel lenses capable of 2D/3D photos and video capture. With the launch of the EVO 3D, HTC have brought their first 3D smart phone to the market.


Samsung Galaxy SII Smartphone Review


by Niall Coleman | 29th October 2011

Samsung's Galaxy S2 has been in the market for a few months now and there are good deals to be had in every region so what better time to look at the model below the Nexus, the Galaxy S2 which will likely get its own upgrade to Android 4.0 in the coming months...


HTC Sensation Android Smartphone Review


by Niall Coleman | 20th October 2011

One of the key players in this crowded market is HTC who a few years ago were relatively unknown but now offer a wide range of devices, including tablets, with new models hitting the shelves regularly. One of the more recent handsets is the Sensation, a high spec dual core offering and today we will take a look at this device to find out what it has to offer those looking for a high end Smartphone.


Apple iPhone 4S Review


by Craig Humphreys | 14th October 2011

Today the wait is over as the iPhone 4S is in our hands so join us as we take a look at Apples latest device to establish whether enough has been done to make it a desirable alternative to the ever evolving Android models.


LG Optimus 2X / G2x / P990 Android Phone with NVIDIA Tegra 2 Review


by Stuart Davidson | 13th May 2011

Today on our test bench we have the LG Optimus 2X (G2x for our American readers) which is the world's first dual core phone, containing NVIDIA Tegra 2 technology for advanced graphics with high end performance and features. Is it a leap forward in mobile communications or does it signal a switch to phones becoming "just a small tablet"...


Motorola V3i


by Sandok | 3rd October 2006

I’m pretty sure that the inventor of mobile phones would never have imagined that one day his creation would actually become a fashion accessory. However, that is exactly what happened when Motorola launched the famous V3 flip phone, becoming the new “it” thing to have and selling millions in the process.


Siemens SP65 Mobile Phone


by Stuart Davidson | 26th July 2005

Phones that are cameras, phones that allow you to see who you are calling and phones that are PDA’s are just some of the advances that have driven the mobile phone market forward in the last few years.All of these are useful features in their own right but not for everyone. What if you’re a busy professional who just wants a decent phone with good connectivity to make life easier? That’s where the SP65 comes into play, according to the info pages on Siemens website it’s a phone aimed at corporate users. (It’s really a S65 without the 1.3 megapixel camera so as to meet corporate security rules). Of course this doesn’t mean it (or the S65) are not a good phone for the average user ….


Motorola C975 Phone


by Stuart Davidson | 9th January 2005

The phone we’ve chosen to review today is a 3G compatible phone, the Motorola C975. The handset is running on the 3 network in the UK and although we are not reviewing the network itself we will be commenting on any relevant experience we have had when using the phone on 3.