HardwareHeaven.com
HardwareHeaven.com
Looking for the skin chooser?
 
 
  • Home

  • Hardware reviews

  • Articles

  • News

  • Tools

  • Gaming at HardwareHeaven

  • Forums

 
HardwareHeaven.com > 

Reviews

 > 

Game Reviews

Advanced
Search

Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 1st April 2014

Today Kaeyi Dream reviews Reaper of Souls the latest expansion to Blizzard's epic action RPG Diablo III, find out how Kaeyi got on.


Final Fantasy X and X-2 HD Remaster Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 21st March 2014

Square Enix have recently released the newly remastered HD edition of Final Fantasy X and X-2 for the PlayStation 3. Kaeyi Dream has been checking out the titles and here is her findings in the latest HardwareHeaven video review.


The Mighty Quest For Epic Loot - What's New and The Runaway Overview


by Kaeyi Dream | 26th February 2014

Kaeyi Dream takes a look at the recent patch for MQFEL open beta patch and a look at the new character The Runaway. Enjoy!


Plants Vs. Zombies Garden Warfare Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 25th February 2014

Kaeyi Dream takes a look at Plants Vs. Zombies Garden Warfare from PopCap and EA Games, cooperative third-person shooter and tower defense video game.


Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII (XBOX 360)


by Kaeyi Dream | 17th February 2014

Kaeyi Dream takes a look at Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII for the XBOX 360 in her latest video review for HardwareHeaven.


WildStar - Stormtalon's Lair (Esper Healer PoV) Video with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 17th February 2014

Now updated with Part 2 video footage!

Kaeyi ran Stormtalon's Lair with Martyn, Hannah, Sjin & Duncan of the Yogscast and was given permission to upload her PoV as Esper Healer. Enjoy :)



Tomb Raider Definitive Edition Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 5th February 2014

Kaeyi Dream takes a look at Tomb Raider Definitive Edition on the next-gen XBOX One.


WildStar: DevSpeak and Customisations with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 29th January 2014

As an MMO veteran I feel customisation is everything. Whether its character, gear, class or housing; I just love it! I can't get enough. I like the idea that I as a player can put my personal touch on something I potentially will invest hundreds of hours on. MMO's (especially RPG's) count on the player having a very close relationship with their playable character, a bond that keeps them coming back for more and more. That bond wouldn't be as prevalent if we all were forced to use the same character, look the same, play the same class and live in the same house.


WildStar Closed Beta Coverage Levels 1-15


by Kaeyi Dream | 17th January 2014

Check out the latest videos!

Thanks to our wonderful friends at Carbine we now have press access to the WildStar closed beta. This means we are able to cover any content from levels 1-15. This includes all classes, races and paths. Housing, PvP, Questing and MORE.



Project Spark Video Preview with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 14th January 2014

Today Kaeyi Dream gives us a look at Project Spark the upcoming title from Microsoft for XBOX One.


Killer Instinct Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 31st December 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream reviews XBOX One exclusive Killer Instinct.


Dead Rising 3 Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 11th December 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream reviews XBOX One exclusive Dead Rising 3 from Capcom.


Fighter Within XBOX ONE Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 5th December 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream reviews Fighter Within for the XBOX One from Ubisoft. Players go head to head with precision movement tracking with Kinect for XBOX One.


Call of Duty Ghosts


by Craig Humphreys | 26th November 2013

If its not broke, don't fix it. Infinity Ward seem to be firm believers in this old adage. Sure they keep tweaking the game, but they're not really ready to shake it up just yet. As news breaks Ghosts failed to outsell Black Ops II at launch, what conclusions can be drawn?


Fighter Within XBOX ONE Gameplay Video


by Kaeyi Dream | 19th November 2013

Recently Kaeyi Dream headed over to Ubisoft's offices to check out Fighter Within for the XBOX One using Kinect, check out her gameplay footage.


Batman Arkham Origins (PC)


by Kaeyi Dream | 14th November 2013

Kaeyi Dream reviews the third installment in the Batman Arkham franchise, with Arkham Origins in her latest video review.


Beyond: Two Souls Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 1st November 2013

Kaeyi Dream reviews Beyond: Two Souls, interactive drama action-adventure game for the PlayStation 3 from Quantic Dream.


Football Manager 2014


by Stuart Davidson | 28th October 2013

As with many other yearly refreshes (such as FIFA, F1, etc.) those who have the last version might not necessarily get the maximum value from this edition but anyone on 2012 or earlier will see significant advances.


Rocksmith 2014 Edition Video Review


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd October 2013

Rocksmith makes its return with the all-new 2014 Edition from Ubisoft, today Stuart Davidson shows us his experiences with the game.


Pokemon X and Y Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 17th October 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream reviews Pokemon X and Y for the Nintendo 3DS. Check out her video now.


Just Dance 2014 Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 11th October 2013

Kaeyi Dream reviews Just Dance 2014 from Ubisoft in her latest video review for HardwareHeaven.


Crytek WARFACE Interview with Joshua Howard (Executive Producer)


by Kaeyi Dream | 8th October 2013

Kaeyi Dream recently visited Crytek Studios and had chance to interview Joshua Howard (Executive Producer) on the upcoming title WARFACE.


Puppeteer Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 1st October 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream takes a look at Puppeteer for the PlayStation 3. Check it out.


F1 2013


by Stuart Davidson | 30th September 2013

A couple of weeks ago we got our first real taste of Codemasters F1 2013 in its preview form and found it to be an interesting evolution of the franchise. Now with the review build in our hands we are able to give our opinions on the latest instalment. This time though, there are two editions of the game, not in the same way that other developers may publish with a deluxe fancy edition with random extras. No, this is all about content and how much the end user loves classic F1.


Eurogamer Expo 2013 Coverage


by Stuart Davidson | 27th September 2013

HardwareHeaven attends the Eurogamer Expo 2013...


Rayman Legends


by Stuart Davidson | 19th September 2013

Are we all completely sick of GTA yet? Have you had enough of the near 24/7 coverage about Rockstar's latest and greatest? Well Ubisoft may well have the exact opposite of GTA for us in the form of Rayman Legends... The follow up to 2011's Rayman Origins it takes one of the most impressive game engines around and takes us to a universe filled with colour, heart and fun.


Grand Theft Auto V


by Craig Humphreys | 18th September 2013

Grand Theft Auto V, the sequel to end all sequels, hyped to the max it has the fans, the haters and the protesters out in force. Rockstar North the developer behind the hit franchise know when they've got a good thing, and boy do they have a good thing.


F1 2013 (PC) Preview


by Stuart Davidson | 9th September 2013

F1 games are like buses. You wait ages for one and then two come along at the same time… Ive been waiting years to use that line in a game review! Anyway… Today we are going to take a look at the upcoming F1 2013, an annual refresh of Codemasters Racings F1 franchise. This time though, there are two editions of the game, not in the same way that other developers may publish with a deluxe fancy edition with random extras. No, this is all about content and how much the end user loves classic F1.


Splinter Cell Blacklist Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 5th September 2013

Kaeyi Dream takes on Ubisoft's latest stealth shooter: Splinter Cell Blacklist in her latest video for HardwareHeaven.


Total War: Rome 2 Review


by Niall Coleman | 2nd September 2013

While there is nothing revolutionary here, how could we not enjoy this game... we certainly loved it... and we HATE it. Why? Well...


Gamescom 2013: Watch Dogs Gameplay Video


by Kaeyi Dream | 28th August 2013

Kaeyi Dream visits Gamescom 2013 and gets hands on with Ubisoft's upcoming title Watch Dogs checkout this gameplay video.


Gamescom 2013: Interview with Min-Liang Tan (Razer CEO)


by Kaeyi Dream | 23rd August 2013

Kaeyi Dream interviews Min-Liang Tan Chief Gamer and CEO of Razer at Gamescom 2013.


Gamescom 2013: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag Gameplay Video


by Kaeyi Dream | 23rd August 2013

Kaeyi Dream attends Gamescom 2013 and gets hands on with the latest Assassin's Creed title: Blackflag in this gameplay video.


DuckTales Remastered Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 12th August 2013

Kaeyi Dream takes a look at Capcom's remastered version of DuckTales. The original was released way back in 1989 let's take a look at the game more than two decades later.


How Rayman Legends Is Made - Ubisoft Studio Tour Video with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 31st July 2013

Kaeyi took a trip alongside InTheLittleWood to Montpellier, France to visit the Ubisoft Studios. Here she got see how Rayman legends is made as well as playing the game set to launch on August 30th.


Rezzed 2013: The Mighty Quest For Epic Loot Developer Walkthrough


by Kaeyi Dream | 26th June 2013

This week Kaeyi Dream has been in attendance at the Rezzed 2013 game show. Today we have a developer walkthrough with upcoming title The Mighty Quest For Epic Loot.


Rezzed 2013: Wildstar Developer Interview


by Kaeyi Dream | 25th June 2013

This week Kaeyi Dream has been in attendance at the Rezzed 2013 game show. Today we have a developer interview for Wildstar MMORPG. Stay tuned for more Rezzed coverage, and if you missed it take a look at Surgeon Simulator with the Oculus Rift and Razer Hydra Controllers.


Rezzed 2013: Surgeon Simulator and the Oculus Rift


by Kaeyi Dream | 24th June 2013

This week Kaeyi Dream has been in attendance at the Rezzed 2013 game show. The following footage features Surgeon Simulator with the Oculus Rift. Stay tuned for more Rezzed coverage. Be sure to check out Kaeyi's YouTube channel for more of her videos.


The Last of Us (PS3) Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 20th June 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream brings you her review of The Last of Us for PlayStation 3, and of course there will be no spoilers found here! Be sure to check out Kaeyi's YouTube channel for more of her videos.


E3 2013 Video Roundup with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 15th June 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream brings you the latest news and revelations from the Electronic Entertainment Expo 2013.


GRID 2 Video Review and Gallery with Stuart Davidson


by Stuart Davidson | 28th May 2013

Today Stuart Davidson takes a look at GRID 2 for PC. Over the last few months, Stuart's been testing GRID 2 with Codemasters and now he can reveal his findings, thoughts and driving skills. Check it out!


Resident Evil Revelations Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 24th May 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream reviews Resident Evil Revelations. Be sure to check out Kaeyi's YouTube channel for more of her videos.


WATCH DOGS Developer Interview with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 10th May 2013

This week Kaeyi Dream visited Paris to meet with the developers of Watch Dogs, find out what they had to say in her interview with the team.


GRID 2 Video Preview


by Stuart Davidson | 1st May 2013

Today Stuart Davidson takes a look at the latest preview of Codemaster's GRID 2 for PC. As well as the video, we have a gallery of the latest available press screenshots.


God of War Ascension (PS3) Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 18th April 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream takes a look at the latest God of War video game - God of War: Ascension. Check it out!


Press Release Roundup with Kaeyi Dream (17th April 2013)


by Kaeyi Dream | 17th April 2013

A weekly show covering the Press Releases we think YOU want to know about. This week we talk about Guardians of Middle-earth New, TURBO: SUPER STUNT SQUAD, The Hobbit: Armies Of The Third Age Browser-Based Game Hits One Million New Users and more.


Press Release Roundup with Kaeyi Dream (10th April 2013)


by Kaeyi Dream | 10th April 2013

A weekly show covering the Press Releases we think YOU want to know about. This week we talk about Guardians of Middle-earth, Tekken Card Tournament, LEGO Legends of Chima: Laval's Journey, CALL OF DUTY: BLACK OPS 2 Uprising DLC and more.


BioShock Infinite (PS3) Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 3rd April 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream takes a look at BioShock Infinite for Playstation 3. Check it out!


Tomb Raider (PC) Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 1st April 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream takes a look at the latest Tomb Raider video game. Check it out!


Playseat Challenge Game Racing Seat Video Review


by James Reed | 27th March 2013

In today's video review we take a look at a new product from Playseat, the Challenge - Game Racing Seat.


StarCraft II: Heart of the Swarm


by Stuart Kerley | 25th March 2013

Released earlier this month the first StarCraft 2 expansion, Heart of the Swarm, focuses on the Zerg race. We follow the story of Sarah Kerrigan, picking up where the plot in Wings of Liberty left off. Wings of Liberty was of course the initial release of StarCraft 2 and focused on the Terran race or more specifically, Jim Raynor and this split race approach was well known in advance of launch as Blizzard announced that the story they had to tell was so epic that it could not be contained within a single game.


SimCity Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 14th March 2013

Today Kaeyi Dream takes a look at the brand new SimCity release from Maxis/EA Games. Check it out.


Dead Space 3 (PC) Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 11th March 2013

Kaeyi Dream takes a look at Dead Space 3 in her latest video review for HardwareHeaven. Check it out.


Crysis 3 (PC) Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 19th February 2013

Kaeyi Dream takes a look at Crysis 3 after attending the launch event.


Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dragonborn DLC Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 14th February 2013

Kaeyi Dream brings us her thoughts on the latest DLC package for Skyrim: Dragonborn in her latest video for HardwareHeaven.


StarCraft II: Heart of the Swarm Preview


by Stuart Kerley | 4th February 2013

StartCraft 2: Heart of the Swarm will be launched worldwide on 12th March 2013, and ahead of the game releases we decided to take a little look at what we can expect from this new expansion.


Confessions of a Retro Gaming Addict (Inc. Games Room Collection Video)


by HardwareHeaven | 24th January 2013

At Heaven Media, what do we get up to when not covering hardware? One staff member works his way through 3500+ retro games and 100+ consoles one by one...(Including video walkround of the game collection)


DMC: Devil May Cry (XBOX 360) Video Review with Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 14th January 2013

Kaeyi Dream takes us through the brand new reboot of the Devil May Cry franchise from Capcom...


Hitman: Absolution Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 18th December 2012

An in depth look at Hitman: Absolution with Kaeyi Dream!


PlayStation 3 / Sony Game Roundup December 2012


by Stuart Kerley | 15th December 2012

In the run up to Christmas and the holidays Sony has recently released a number of games under their publishing arm. Today we take a look at four of them to see what they offer for those looking at last minute gifts or something to pass the time.


Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 - The State of Call of Duty


by Stuart Davidson | 4th December 2012

In short, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 is worth buying. It offers some great battle sections and a good level of quality which many games lack but at the same time it could have been so much more. Today we take a look at what isn't great in Black Ops 2...


FAR CRY 3 Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 21st November 2012

An in depth look at Far Cry 3 with Kaeyi Dream. Multiplayer to follow in a future update (when it is fully unlocked).


Dance Central 3 Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 14th November 2012

Kaeyi takes a look at Dance Central 3 for the Xbox Kinect.


F1 Race Stars


by Stuart Davidson | 13th November 2012

F1 Race Stars sees Codemasters Racing studio head in a completely new direction with the franchise. Here we are bobble headed versions of the real world teams, complete with karts, power-ups, crazy circuits and, in theory, a whole load of fun.


Need For Speed Most Wanted


by Stuart Davidson | 9th November 2012

Criterion Games were responsible for 2010s Need for Speed Hot Pursuit, widely regarded as the best NFS game to date. Now they are back in the NFS franchise with Most Wanted, a reboot of the 2005 original and given their track record for driving games we could be in for something rather special here.


Assassin's Creed III Video Review by Kaeyi Dream


by Kaeyi Dream | 7th November 2012

Kaeyi Dream gets hands on with the latest installment in the Assassin's Creed franchise, Assassin's Creed III. Check it out.


Street Fighter X Tekken


by Stuart Davidson | 5th November 2012

Earlier this year Capcom released Street Fighter X Tekken on PS3 and 360, mashing together the two franchise in Capcom's game engine. (A follow-up Tekken X Street Fighter will be released which focuses on Tekken tech). Now Capcom are bringing SFXT to Vita and given the success of their last port we expect great things here...


Assassin's Creed III


by Stuart Davidson | 30th October 2012

It takes seconds to master their control method and the ship battles are just fantastic, action packed segments of cat and mouse gameplay.


Football Manager 2013


by Stuart Davidson | 29th October 2012

With a new season now in full flow Sega and Sports Interactive are bringing to market the latest version of Football Manager. Football Manager 13 uses up to date team statistics, an enhanced game engine and plenty of new features designed to make playing more enjoyable for new and returning players.


James Bond: 007 Legends


by Stuart Davidson | 27th October 2012

Despite being based on greatness (Goldeneye N64 is one of the best games of all time) the updated version was by no means perfect and so the quest for a modern day successor has continued. Now Activision hope to achieve that same level of success with 007 Legends, out now, and featuring many of the franchises key scenes and characters for a celebration of all things Bond.


Dishonored Video Review


by Kaeyi Dream | 8th October 2012

Kaeyi Dream gets hands-on with Dishonored and gives an in-depth look in this video review.


Just Dance 4


by Stuart Davidson | 8th October 2012

Now in its fourth main iteration the Just Dance series looks to offer a definitive dance and fitness game for 360, PS3 and Wii.


LittleBigPlanet


by Stuart Davidson | 6th October 2012

Now with Christmas approaching we are beginning to see the years main launch period kick in and a key title for the PS Vita is the latest LittleBigPlanet. Following the same concept as previous versions this is an all new game and makes full use of the PS Vita functionality such as touch, motion and camera. Today we find out if it is the latest game to be a must buy for PS Vita.


Dead or Alive 5


by Stuart Davidson | 4th October 2012

Recently Team Ninja and Tecmo released Dead or Alive 5, pitching it into battle with a wide range of high quality fighting games. Can DOA5 find its own niche in amongst the latest Street Fighter, Tekken and the like? Today we find out.


FIFA 13


by Stuart Kerley | 3rd October 2012

With the new football seasons well underway across Europe EA have released FIFA 13, or if you live in North America FIFA Soccer 13. Finally making its way out those troublesome teens, FIFA 13 is the twentieth edition of the football simulation game.


Resident Evil 6


by Stuart Davidson | 1st October 2012

Bringing the franchise back to its main storyline Capcom are ready to release Resident Evil 6, another third person action/horror based game. With multiple campaigns, co-op and challenge modes there is plenty on offer here, but is the quality there?


World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria Developer Interview


by Kaeyi Dream | 26th September 2012

In this video Kaeyi Dream interviews Scott Mercer and Darren Williams from Blizzard on the latest WoW expansion: Mists of Pandaria.


World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria Launch Gallery


by James Reed | 25th September 2012

HardwareHeaven headed on down to London to attend the midnight launch event for Blizzard's latest release World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria. Check out the goings on.


World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria


by Stuart Kerley | 25th September 2012

So, what will Mists of Pandaria bring to a game that is now almost 8 years old? And will this latest expansion arrest some of the subscriber number decline that Blizzard has seen in the last 18 months?


F1 2012


by Stuart Davidson | 17th September 2012

When we last looked at F1 2012 in the preview build it was shaping up well, but limited in its available modes. With the full game now in place and new game modes, new tracks and drive enhancements can Codemasters continue to enhance the F1 gaming franchise?


Tekken Tag Tournament 2


by Stuart Davidson | 11th September 2012

There is no doubt that Tekken is one of the most well known fighting game franchises of all time. With roots stretching back as far as 1994s original arcade game the series was, for a large portion of its existence, a title associated with the PlayStation brand. Times have changed though and nowadays almost everything is multi-format and Tekken is no different, first hitting the XBOX 360 in 2009.


CS:GO Review - It doesnt get more thorough than this


by Craig Humphreys | 9th September 2012

Our friends over at Cadred.org today take a look at CS:GO - It doesnt get more thorough than this.


F1 2012 Preview


by Stuart Davidson | 31st August 2012

With the 2012 edition of F1 we get new game modes, new tracks and drive enhancements to continue Codemasters quest for racing game perfection. Today we find out how it is shaping up in advance of next month's launch.


Guild Wars 2


by Stuart Kerley | 29th August 2012

We have known that a sequel to Guild Wars has been in the works since 2007. Now, it is finally here and on the 28th of August ArenaNet will release Guild Wars 2 worldwide. We have been playing the early access and today cover our initial thoughts on the latest (and greatest?) MMORPG.


Orcs Must Die 2


by Stuart Davidson | 1st August 2012

One game which falls easily into the low cost, addictive category is Orcs Must Die. Even keeping the name simple the idea was to stop a flow of enemies, orcs unsurprisingly, from reaching the end of the level using any means necessary to kill them. In Orcs Must Die 2 more orcs of all shapes and sizes must die and we have hundreds of ways to entertain ourselves in the process.


Inversion


by Stuart Kerley | 26th July 2012

The storyline for Inversion is a simple one, set in the near future of the fictional location of Vanguard City we take on the role of Davis Russell, a young police detective who starts out just trying to get home to wish his daughter a happy birthday. Davis's partner, Leo Delgado, tags along, since he seems to have nothing better to do and it's just as well he does because Vanguard City is about to be attacked by an invasion of thuggish alien types called Lutadores.


Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor


by Stuart Davidson | 19th June 2012

Capcom are back with the launch of Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor and rather than develop, or re-use a custom controller they are basing this game on the Xbox 360 Kinect functionality. With an interesting history in the franchise and developed by the team behind games such as Dark Souls can Heavy Armor take a place as the latest key Kinect title?


Game of Thrones


by Stuart Kerley | 7th June 2012

Coming just on the heels on the second season finale of the HBO TV series, and based on the very popular 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series by George R.R. Martin, Game of Thrones is a new single player role-playing game served up by Cyanide studios.


Sorcery


by Stuart Davidson | 6th June 2012

We all know the story, boy becomes apprentice, apprentice is set tasks, apprentice goes to boardroom, gets fired... sorry, wrong media. Boy becomes apprentice, befriends a talking cat, gets too big for his boots, steals a magic wand, chaos ensues... that's the starting point for Sony's latest Move release which see's us dance around our living room, move controller in hand, casting spells and generally trying to save the world.


Mad Riders


by Stuart Davidson | 30th May 2012

What we have in Techland's Mad Riders is a game designed to pack in as much action, speed, thrills and spills into downloadable title (Xbox Live/PSN/PC) as is possible for the price of a pizza. Can it compete with the likes of Dirt Showdown for our hard earned cash? Let's find out...


Diablo III


by Stuart Davidson | 25th May 2012

Since the 15th of May Diablo 3 has been fully available to play. Available on digital download directly from Blizzard or from brick and mortar game stores in both standard and collectors editions Diablo 3 is one of the most anticipated game releases of 2012. Set in a dark fantasy world, Diablo 3 takes place in Sanctuary, some twenty years after the events of Diablo 2.


DiRT Showdown


by Stuart Davidson | 24th May 2012

In DiRT: Showdown we dispense with the normal time trials and rally gameplay associated with the franchise, moving to a much more arcade experience which focuses on destruction.


Ghost Recon Future Soldier


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd May 2012

Ghost Recon, like the other Tom Clancy games, has received multiple expansions/sequels and the latest title in the franchise releases this week. Ghost Recon Future Soldier takes us into the near future with enhanced weapons and devices which help it stand out from other similar shooters. It takes more than just a few fancy guns to make a great game though and today we find out if the campaign, multiplayer and co-op are worth your hard earned cash.


Starhawk


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd May 2012

Starhawk is the follow-up to a PS One title, Warhawk (and its subsequent PS3 remake). In the original game we played part in a war between the Eucadian and Chernovan armies. Now in the follow up we take the role of Emmet Graves a bounty hunter and gunslinger of sorts who has been hired to help protect a planet and its resources from The Scabs, a group of various alien races who have been gathered together by The Outlaw.


Dragon's Dogma


by Stuart Davidson | 21st May 2012

Dragon's Dogma takes place in an open world fantasy RPG setting that includes classic hack and slash content as well as horror elements which should come as no surprise. It is after all developed by the team behind Resident Evil and Devil May Cry.


Mortal Kombat


by Stuart Davidson | 18th May 2012

Since the launch of the Vita things have been a little quiet on the release front but now we get one of the first big post release period games in the form of Mortal Kombat. Like MvsC this is an attempt to take an existing game for the home consoles and port it to Vita, with some added functionality so let's find out if it falls into the same camp as the excellent MvsC3 or is closer to the less than impressive Reality Fighters.


Dragon's Dogma Preview


by Stuart Kerley | 4th May 2012

Dragon's Dogma is a new action role-playing game from Capcom that will be released for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 on the 22nd of May in North America and the 25th in Europe. The game has been developed by the same team behind franchises such as Resident Evil and Devil May Cry and the demo was recently released so we took the opportunity to download it on our PlayStation 3 and gave it a quick whirl.


Prototype 2


by Stuart Davidson | 30th April 2012

Like the original Prototype 2 is a sandbox based game meaning we are essentially free to roam about the game world, picking up side missions as we go or progressing the main story. This isn't any normal sandbox game though because our enhanced main character, who finds himself in a quarantined New York, has the ability to run faster, leap higher and even climb walls or glide if we wish. This opens up every area of the city to us for exploration and gameplay and the fact that most of the environment features destructive objects is an added bonus.


Pandora's Tower


by Stuart Davidson | 24th April 2012

It is a brave developer who decides to release an adventure role playing game for the Wii. As soon as it is announced comparisons will be made with the Zelda franchise. Does it match up graphically, is the story too similar, or not similar enough... and then when people actually play it, how does it compare overall. An RPG on Wii can be impressive but fail to get close to Zelda and many will see it as a failure, not worth their time or money.


DiRT Showdown Preview


by Stuart Davidson | 19th April 2012

Being released on the new Codemasters Racing label, fun is what the focus of today's preview is all about and in DiRT: Showdown we dispense with the normal time trials and rally gameplay associated with the franchise, moving to a much more arcade experience which focuses on destruction.


The Witcher 2 Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition


by Stuart Davidson | 13th April 2012

The original Witcher game never quite made it to consoles but its 2011 sequel, Assassins of Kings is just about to be released on Xbox 360. This is the enhanced edition which features content not in the original release and an interface suited to the platform but can it live up to the original PC version?


Kinect Star Wars


by Stuart Davidson | 10th April 2012

Kinect Star Wars differs from most games from the same franchise in that it offers a wide variation of game styles within the package. This isn't just a case of running about being a Jedi in an action game as many might expect. That aspect is present but from the main menu, featuring interactive C-3PO and R2-D2 we also get to access to pod racing, duel, destruction and... dancing... modes.


Devil May Cry HD Collection


by Stuart Davidson | 3rd April 2012

With the release of DMC: Devil May Cry, a reimagined take on the game universe, fast approaching Capcom are giving those unfamiliar with the series a chance to head back over a decade to the original, then through two sequels. With a HD makeover and bonus content as well as the special edition of DMC3: Dante's Awakening all on one disc, at a value price, this might just be the release to whittle away those Easter holiday hours.


Ridge Racer Unbounded


by Stuart Davidson | 30th March 2012

Ridge Racer has appeared on a wide range of formats over the years from the original on Arcade to the more recent on 3DS, PlayStation Vita and even mobile phones. With Ridge Racer Unbounded we are back to the home environment with a version for PS3, another for Xbox 360 and the PC gets some love too. Set in the fictional city of Shatter Bay we must drift, boost and speed our way through numerous races with destruction of environments and opponents a very important game aspect as is course creation and sharing.


Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13


by Stuart Davidson | 27th March 2012

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is upon us and as well as featuring The Masters, which takes place next month, the latest entry in the franchise also makes heavy use of Kinect functionality on Xbox 360 (for those who have it). The addition of motion controls doesn't guarantee a good experience though so today we find out if a game which should be well suited to Kinect actually succeeds in improving over the traditional pad gameplay.


CAPCOM Digital Collection


by Stuart Davidson | 27th March 2012

Capcom have been one of the big supporters of downloadable classics with games such as Street Fighter 3 Online Edition making their way to the home consoles. Now they are taking eight titles of varying styles and combining them on one disc, calling it the Capcom Digital Collection. Fancy a bit of Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo: HD Remix followed by Flock, or 1942 Joint Strike followed by Bionic Commando: Rearmed 2 for a value price... look no further.


Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai


by Niall Coleman | 23rd March 2012

It's not often we review an expansion pack but we make an exception when the new content is a standalone game which offers a largely different experience to the original. This is the case with Total War: Shogun 2: Fall of the Samurai which is set during the 19th Century and explores the conflict between the Japanese Imperial throne and the last Shogunate.


Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City


by Stuart Davidson | 20th March 2012

Now with the most recent release in the franchise, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, which is co-developed by Capcom and Slant Six Games (of SOCOM: Confrontation fame) we have a new take on the RE universe as the game goes online Co-op and team combat heavy.


Twisted Metal


by Stuart Kerley | 20th March 2012

The first Twisted Metal game was originally released on the first PlayStation way back in 1995. Spin forward seven sequels and 17 years later and the latest version of the series, also just called Twisted Metal, was released last week in the EU.


Rayman Origins


by Stuart Davidson | 20th March 2012

Ubisoft are bringing the same great Rayman Origins adventure from PS3/360 to PS Vita with tweaked controls that take advantage of the touch screen. Is this a must have title from the early catalogue of games?


Mass Effect 3


by Niall Coleman | 19th March 2012

For anyone who hasn't heard of Mass Effect 3 it is a third person perspective action role-playing game developed by BioWare and published by Electronic Arts for PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. It is the final chapter in the Mass Effect trilogy of video games, which has spawned numerous novels and comics, a trilogy of iPhone mini games, an Anime film, a Fan Film and with the conclusion of the series should get backing from Legendary Pictures and Warner Bros to produce a feature length film.


Shoot Many Robots Preview


by Niall Coleman | 13th March 2012

Shoot Many Robots is a download only title developed by Demiurge Studios and published by Ubisoft. It is the first original title to be released by Demiurge Studios who previously worked on titles such as Rock Band, BioShock and Mass Effect.


Jak and Daxter Collection


by Stuart Davidson | 13th March 2012

10 years on from the release of the original Jak and Daxter for PlayStation 2 we have a re-release of that classic along with Jak 2 and Jak 3, all packaged in a nice single disc package. This isn't just a straight port though this is the latest batch of titles to get a HD makeover and extra features.


Uncharted Golden Abyss


by Stuart Davidson | 9th March 2012

When we reviewed the PS Vita in February one of the titles which really stood out from the launch line-up was the latest Uncharted game. A new adventure based on the highly impressive PlayStation 3 franchise Golden Abyss sees us once again take control of Nathan Drake in a third person shooter with plenty of exploration and action set pieces. Although this being a Vita title means we have some significant enhancements to the gameplay mechanic through the use of our touch screen and panel.


All Zombies Must Die!


by Niall Coleman | 9th March 2012

All Zombies Must Die! is developed by Doublesix and Published by Square Enix. It is an arcade style RPG shooter with a self-consciously thin plot and a light hearted take on the zombie apocalypse scenario, this is a game focused on fun rather than story telling. Released this coming week the PC version is downloadable through Steam and comes with numerous fixes and improvements based on feedback from the console version.


Street Fighter X Tekken


by Stuart Davidson | 5th March 2012

Capcom are back with a title which has the potential to be a classic, Street Fighter X Tekken which sees the characters from both franchises combine in a game which uses the highly praised Street Fighter 4 fighting engine, tweaked to suit both groups. Added to this are new power up items and game modes along with revised online code to streamline the competitive experience.


Binary Domain


by Niall Coleman | 4th March 2012

Binary Domain is a console only squad based Third Person Shooter (Xbox 360 and PS3) developed by Yakuza Studio and published by Sega. Walking the fine line between being inspired by other media and being the focus of a lawsuit Binary Domain is set in a world where civilisation has created extremely intelligent robots that look human and unsurprisingly, they have started to run amuck.


LUMINES Electronic Symphony


by Stuart Davidson | 2nd March 2012

Enter Electronic Symphony, the latest in the Lumines franchise, which brings falling block based gameplay to Sony's new handheld, the PS Vita. This isn't just a Tetris clone though; the developers have taken the basic concept and expanded it massively. Today we find out if they have managed to keep the same addictive style of play while bringing something new and fresh to the genre.


SSX 2012


by Stuart Kerley | 1st March 2012

Twelve years after the first SSX game was released EA have released a new version with the tagline of 'Defy Reality, Own the planet'. SSX will be available on both the PlayStation 3 and the Xbox 360 and we had the opportunity to play the PlayStation 3 version ahead of its UK and Europe release on the 2nd of March.


Syndicate


by Niall Coleman | 29th February 2012

Syndicate is a re-imagination of the video game of the same name that was released in 1993 and followed up in 1996 by Syndicate Wars. The original games were published by Electronic Arts and developed by Bullfrog whereas the re-imagined version is developed by Starbreeze Studios and published by Electronic Arts. This new take on a classic game stays quiet faithful to the general theme of a cyber punk dystopia but switches the game perspective creating a first person shooter.


Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3


by Stuart Davidson | 28th February 2012

For their sole PS Vita launch title Capcom have chosen to port Ultimate Marvel Vs. Capcom to Sony's new handheld and in the process enhance the game by adding touch controls.


FIFA Football


by Stuart Davidson | 27th February 2012

As well as supporting consoles to the death EA are also often in at the launch of new models and the PS Vita is no different with the latest incarnation of FIFA Football chosen as a launch day title. We last saw a FIFA title with the 2012 release on PS3 and found it to be one of the best versions yet so it will be interesting to see how much of that game makes it to the Vita and how the touch controls might change the gameplay.


SEGA Virtua Tennis World Tour Edition


by Stuart Davidson | 25th February 2012

SEGA are one of the first publishers to get behind the PS Vita and their launch week offering is Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition. With touch screen controls, online play and motion sensor functionality included in addition to the standard tennis modes it could offer something quite different to the average console experience.


The Darkness II


by Stuart Davidson | 24th February 2012

In a game where we play a demonically possessed mob boss who is hell bent on avenging the death of his true love by any means necessary... eye gouging, impaling, ripping in half, decapitations... and with our source of energy being the consumption of human hearts it's clear that this isn't the average FPS game; but does it succeed in improving on the original and is it worth buying?


Asura's Wrath


by Niall Coleman | 21st February 2012

Asura's Wrath is a new type of game which seamlessly blends action and narrative in an episodic structure more akin to an anime TV drama. We are going to take a look at just what exactly makes this game so unique and whether or not this new approach is an enjoyable one.


Gotham City Imposters


by Niall Coleman | 17th February 2012

Released recently Gotham City Imposters is a download-only multiplayer FPS developed by Monolith (F.E.A.R.) and published by WB Games. In this game, which rides in on the immense success of Batman Arkham City, we play as violent vigilantes dressed up like Batman against equally violent criminals dressed up like the Joker in open warfare on the streets of Gotham City.


UFC Undisputed 3


by Stuart Kerley | 14th February 2012

Released on the 14th of February in North America, and the 17th of February in Europe, UFC Undisputed 3 features UFC middleweight champion Anderson Silva on the front cover of the box after he won a fan vote to grace the cover of the new game. We will be taking a look at the newest release in the series, UFC Undisputed 3.


Sony PlayStation Vita Review


by Stuart Davidson | 13th February 2012

The true successor to the PSP, the PlayStation Vita, launches next week in Europe and the USA and today we will take a detailed look at our console covering the new hardware, operating system and a selection of launch day titles which include the latest Uncharted game, Golden Abyss along with WipeOut 2048 and a number of more casual games including Little Deviants which makes full use of the unique PS Vita touch controls.


SOULCALIBUR V


by Stuart Davidson | 6th February 2012

The Soul series of games from Namco started back in the mid-90s as an arcade fighting game, later released for the PlayStation. By the time we saw a sequel SOULEDGE had changed to the now familiar SOULCALIBUR which was considered by many to be a classic, and one of the key Dreamcast titles.


Final Fantasy XIII-2


by Niall Coleman | 3rd February 2012

Final Fantasy XIII-2 is a stand-alone follow up to Final Fantasy XIII with one key feature being that our choices not only affect the immediate environment but also time and space.


FIFA 12


by Stuart Kerley | 26th January 2012

Today we'll be taking a look at the most recent FIFA game release by Electronic Arts, FIFA 12. It's been a few months since FIFA 12 came out however in the January sales it may well be on the wish list for some with money burning a hole in their pocket.


Games To Watch Out For In 2012


by Niall Coleman | 18th January 2012

In this article we have decided to make our selection based on the past performance of the developer, publisher and previous title in the series (where appropriate) but ultimately, the game is in the list if we think it looks cool. This is our 20 games for 2012 in no particular order (other than alphabetical)...


PlayStation Vita Rooms


by Craig Humphreys | 13th January 2012

The 12th of January saw the pre-launch party in the UK for the PlayStation Vita portable console. The PSVita Rooms is a hands-on exhibition running at several venues throughout the UK in January thru February. Last night Heaven Media attended the pre-launch party kicking off the PSVita Rooms in Manchester.


Saints Row: The Third


by Niall Coleman | 28th December 2011

Saints Row: The Third developed by Volition and published by THQ is the latest title in the Saints Row series and we play as the leader of the Third Street Saints gang in the open environment of Steelport city.


PlayStation Move Games Roundup Dec 2011


by Stuart Davidson | 17th December 2011

Hidden away in the busy winter releases were more than a few interesting titles for Sony's PS3 Move controller and today we will take a quick look at each of them, and a few older titles to see what might appeal in those last minute gift buying sessions.


Star Wars: The Old Republic Preview


by Stuart Kerley | 12th December 2011

Star Wars: The Old Republic, or SWTOR, is probably one of the most anticipated game releases of 2011 and certainly the most anticipated massively multiplayer online role playing game release in some years. First announced at the end of 2008, SWTOR has been developed by BioWare and of course is based in the Star Wars universe.


Rayman Origins


by Niall Coleman | 6th December 2011

Rayman Origins from UBISOFT sees us catapulted into the Rayman universe once again in a whimsical 2D side-scrolling platform; the latest in a unique series of games that started with the release of Rayman in 1995.


Serious Sam 3 BFE


by Niall Coleman | 2nd December 2011

Set in Egypt this is a prequel to Serious Sam: The First Encounter and takes place at the beginning of Lord Mental's invasion of Earth. Our job is to get to the Cairo Museum and secure a scientist who thinks he has the key to saving Earth.


Tekken Hybrid


by Stuart Kerley | 28th November 2011

Today we will be taking a look at Tekken Hybrid for the PlayStation 3. Tekken Hybrid offers a value priced remastered version of the classic Tekken Tag Tournament as well as a sneak peak at the forthcoming Tekken Tag Tournament 2 via a demo. As an added bonus the disc also features the full length computer-animated film Tekken: Blood Vengeance.


Batman: Arkham City


by Niall Coleman | 25th November 2011

Batman: Arkham City, developed by Rocksteady Studios, is the tense sequel to the 2009 release Batman: Arkham Asylum. Set inside a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, which functions as a new maximum security prison for all of Gotham's criminals.


The Lord of the Rings: War in the North


by Niall Coleman | 25th November 2011

Lord of the Rings: War in the North is the latest incarnation of all things Middle-earth. Developed by Snowblind Studios and distributed by Warner Bros, this RPG is a new story that runs in parallel with J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings trilogy.


Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3


by Niall Coleman | 25th November 2011

Now nine months after the original MvC 3 Capcom are releasing a low cost standalone expansion which is titled Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3. With new characters and new features where does it fit in for the average consumer and those who bought the first edition?


Need for Speed: The Run


by Niall Coleman | 24th November 2011

The Run is the latest instalment of the now 17 year old Need for Speed franchise and continues the action focused, street racing gameplay that was characteristic of Black Box's other NFS titles as we play as Jack Rourke, a driver with a mob debt which he cannot pay on his own.


The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd November 2011

It's now 15 major titles and 60+ million sales since we first saw the original title in 1986 and without doubt this is a series of games which, more than most, has managed to retain its quality throughout with the undoubted pinnacle being 1998's Ocarina of Time... possibly the finest video game ever created.


Assassin's Creed Revelations


by Stuart Davidson | 17th November 2011

As this is the fourth major release in the franchise it comes as no surprise that the overall gameplay in Revelations is very similar to the previous games. We are Desmond, plugged into the Animus and play Altair and Ezio who featured in the previous three titles.


The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Community Review


by Stuart Davidson | 17th November 2011

Those who have played, and loved, previous Elder Scrolls titles will know that the games are huge. Taking Oblivion as an example it was possible to play through that and its expansions reasonably quickly but the completists would see themselves playing for hundreds upon hundreds of hours to finish all of the side quests and discover everything the games had to offer.


Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3


by Niall Coleman | 14th November 2011

The latest Call of Duty game continues where Modern Warfare 2 left off with the new edition in this franchise offering a single player campaign, updated Special Ops missions and an improved multiplayer experience.


Sonic Generations


by Stuart Davidson | 3rd November 2011

So what do Sega have in store for the 20th Anniversary of Sonic the Hedgehog? Sonic Generations is the answer and today we take a look at the PS3 version hoping that Sega learned from the 15th anniversary title and have created something worthy of the original game.


OnLive


by Niall Coleman | 2nd November 2011

Today we are taking our first look, an overview, of OnLive which is an on-demand service that streams games to your computer, TV or tablet PC. Requiring no discs, no hard-drive space, no downloads and no high-end components.


The House of the Dead Overkill Extended Edition


by Craig Humphreys | 31st October 2011

The original title The House of the Dead launched in arcades way back in 1997, debuting a year later on the Sega Saturn. It was a classic light-gun outing sharing many gameplay dynamics with the Virtua Cop franchise and sequels have arrived on various platforms including PC, Xbox, Wii and now PlayStation 3.


Battlefield 3


by Stuart Davidson | 28th October 2011

For months now anticipation has been building amongst first person shooter fanatics as the release of this year's two main military based games approached. Just two weeks apart Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 are being launched and it is fair to say that the proximity of the launches has had at least one of the developers scrambling to get their game out first.


Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One


by Stuart Davidson | 28th October 2011

Now Insomniac are back with the latest in the Ratchet and Clank series, All 4 One which brings with it a focus on co-op play with up to four players taking control of some key characters from past games.


BlizzCon 2011


by Stuart Kerley | 27th October 2011

BlizzCon 2011 has wrapped up in Anaheim California and its safe to say that this year, unlike BlizzCon 2010, Blizzard had plenty to talk about. With a big announcement on the next World of Warcraft expansion, lots of talk about the next StarCraft 2 expansion and the finishing touches being put on Diablo 3.


Deus Ex: Human Revolution - The Missing Link DLC


by Niall Coleman | 24th October 2011

Before we begin looking at the game it is worth noting that The Missing Link isn't the first downloadable content for Deus EX, the Tactical Enhancement Pack and the Explosive Mission Pack, both of which were available with a pre-ordered copy of Human Revolution, are now available from Steam for the bargain price of 1.99 each.


Diablo III Blog Part One - What is it?


by Stuart Kerley | 12th October 2011

Following a short teaser campaign that Blizzard ran on their hugely popular World of Warcraft site they announced at the 2008 Worldwide Invitational in Paris that Diablo 3 was under development and much cheering could be heard from the fans of the series across the world.


Ace Combat: Assault Horizon


by Stuart Davidson | 11th October 2011

Set in 2015 Assault Horizon takes us to the skies and drops us into the middle of a conflict between an international peace keeping force and East African rebels. We take the role of Colonel Bishop, a seasoned pilot, whose past experience has left him mentally scarred though his skills are still intact.


Dead Rising 2: Off The Record


by Stuart Davidson | 11th October 2011

Capcom are back, not with a sequel but a low cost stand-alone expansion of the Dead Rising 2 universe and in it the original character from Dead Rising, Frank West returns. Down on his luck and desperate to turn things round we find ourselves trapped in a zombie infested city with 74 hours until rescue, a crime to solve and that's before we even consider our need for antidote against our own infection...


FORZA Motorsport 4


by Stuart Davidson | 7th October 2011

Right from the outset Forza 4 makes it clear that this is a game designed for car enthusiasts with an introduction voiced by BBC Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson who eloquently voices his disdain with the real worlds move towards hybrid cars and environmentally correct evolutions that remove the fun from our real world driving experience.


RAGE


by Stuart Davidson | 6th October 2011

It is fair to say that since it was originally announced in 2007 Rage from id Software has had some high expectations to live up to. After all the developers are responsible for some classic games including Doom and Quake. Since that original announcement the game has trundled towards release, id favouring a "when its done" style of development but over the past few months we have seen previews and events where the game was playable and nearing release.


Dark Souls


by Stuart Davidson | 3rd October 2011

At first we thought our press pack was a nice gift from Namco Bandai however after a few hours playing the sequel to Demon's Souls, Dark Souls, the bundle was clearly an advanced apology from them for the countless hours of mental torture we were about to endure at the hands of the game...


Aliens Infestation


by Stuart Davidson | 1st October 2011

Regardless of what we think of the quality level found in more recent movies in the Aliens movie saga, there is one thing which can be said about the franchise as a whole; generally the games have been good. This is something of a rarity in the world of games based on movies.


ICO and Shadow of the Colossus Classic HD Collection


by Craig Humphreys | 26th September 2011

Today we have the Classic HD Collection - ICO & Shadow of Colossus. Both games featured on the PlayStation 2, ICO back in 2001 followed by Shadow of Colossus in 2005 with both titles produced by Team ICO a division of Sony Entertainment Japan.


F1 2011 Game Review


by Stuart Davidson | 16th September 2011

At the beginning of September we took a look at a preview build of F1 2011, covering some of the major changes which have taken place since last years release. Now we have access to a near final build which allows us to review the game so read on to find out what we thought of the experience.


Gears of War 3


by Stuart Davidson | 15th September 2011

Next week see's Microsoft Games and Epic release Gears of War 3, the concluding part in the Gears Saga and we have been playing through the campaign. Read on to find out if Epic have been able to deliver a fitting end to the Delta Squad story.


God of War Collection Volume 2


by Stuart Kerley | 14th September 2011

God of War Collection - Volume II, is a budget release for the PlayStation 3 and includes the last two PlayStation Portable God of War games remastered in high definition for the PlayStation 3. In addition to this the two titles, Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta, also feature Stereoscopic 3D (a first in the God of War series).


Dead Island


by Stuart Davidson | 13th September 2011

At its core Dead Island is a mixture of hack and slash gameplay mixed with a number of RPG-ish elements. We play as one of four selectable characters who each have their own back story but essentially we wake up on a holiday island with the place in chaos. Our hotel is trashed, blood and bodies are everywhere, zombies roam free and we have to fight for survival from the start.


Hard Reset


by Niall Coleman | 12th September 2011

Last month we previewed Hard Reset for the PC and found it to be a romping, stomping, carnage filled chaotic FPS with enjoyable gameplay and an engrossing environment. It combines all of the best bits of classic shoot 'em' ups and sets it in a Blade Runner/Cyber Punk 2020 style universe. This coupled with between level cut scenes reminiscent of a Frank Miller comic made the game stylish and engaging throughout.


Resistance 3


by Craig Humphreys | 10th September 2011

Resistance 3 is set four years after the events of Resistance 2 and Nathan Hale has succumbed to the Chimera so our new protagonist and member of the resistance Joseph Capelli has taken to hiding in a rats nest of tunnels under a small town in Oklahoma. Capelli narrates a very beautifully animated opening sequence to cover what has happened so far...


Rise of Nightmares


by Stuart Davidson | 8th September 2011

While some games allow us to play with a controller or Kinect Rise of Nightmares very much pushes us down the latter route, Kinect is a requirement and everything within the game relies on it including the menu's and loading screen interactivity. Upon selecting our difficulty level we are thrown into a mini-tutorial mission based around two characters with terrible French accents. This mission fills us in nicely on the control method and sets the scene well for what we can expect from the game.


Deus Ex: Human Revolution


by Niall Coleman | 7th September 2011

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the third instalment in the Deus Ex series and was developed by Eidos Montreal. Set in a seedy, cynical 2027 and therefore a prequel to the original game this cyber punk style dystopia is on the brink of a new era, an era of self controlled evolution. Cybernetic implants that blend man and machine have allowed "augmented" humans to run faster, think quicker and be more than they could have been without them.


Driver San Francisco


by Stuart Davidson | 5th September 2011

Driver San Francisco is no ordinary car based game though, yes it still has its roots in the same gameplay mechanic as the other titles in the range but this version adds a unique twist which could make or break it. Today we take a look at the latest version to find out whether Reflections bold decision succeeds and whether it is worth your hard earned cash at a time when major gaming releases are hitting the shelves fast.


Bodycount Review


by Stuart Davidson | 2nd September 2011

In Bodycount we are an employee of The Network, a global organisation which answers to no-one, being above the law and looking to save the world by resolving conflicts across the globe. At the start of the game we are dropped into central Africa and tasked with finding out why a previously cold war has suddenly sparked into chaos between the two opposing sides of the conflict.


F1 2011 Preview


by Stuart Davidson | 2nd September 2011

With F1 2009, and more importantly F1 2010 Codemasters proved that they were capable of taking their experience with the Colin McRae and Grid franchises and taking them to a more simulation like basis and later this month F1 2011 hits the shelves. We have had access to a preview built to find out what the latest update to the franchise adds to the impressive foundations set by the 2010 edition, so let's take a look.


Bandai Namco Gaming Event July 2011


by Stuart Davidson | 30th July 2011

Yesterday the Heaven Media team was invited along to a Namco Bandai event in London to have a look at a handful of their latest titles that are currently still in production. Located at the Bargehouse situated on the Thames in London, Namco Bandai took over the whole building with a large free play area on the top floor and then 5 separate rooms throughout the building each displaying a new title.


Fallout New Vegas with DLC


by Stuart Davidson | 22nd July 2011

Our Fallout: New Vegas review has now been updated to include content from Lonesome Road, the latest DLC pack.


F.E.A.R. 3


by Stuart Davidson | 15th July 2011

At its core F.E.A.R 3 is a modern day first person shooter so all of the key ingredients are here, the ability to carry multiple weapons, including two of the same type for dual handed attacks, we can zoom to target and health regenerates when we seek cover. Day 1 have however retained some of the key aspects of the original title which ensure that this feels like a F.E.A.R title, the main thing being the ability to slow time while attacking which allows us to target and attack multiple enemies more successfully in dangerous situations.


Dungeon Siege 3


by Niall Coleman | 8th July 2011

Dungeon Siege 3 is the latest instalment in the Dungeon Siege series and is being released by Square ENIX and Obsidian. In it we return to the Kingdom of Ehb to find the 10th Legion destroyed by Jeyne Kassynder. The last surviving Legionnaire, The Venerable Odo (no relation to Star Trek), has protected the Legion's decedents for 30 years hoping that the time would become right to take back the Kingdom.


F1 2011 Preview - Screenshot Gallery


by Stuart Davidson | 8th July 2011

With the British F1 Grand Prix taking place this weekend Codemasters have released a selection of screenshots which show off the visual quality of their upcoming F1 2011. Here they are...


Transformers: Dark of the Moon Review


by Stuart Davidson | 24th June 2011

Following the success of War For Cybertron High Noon were awarded the contract to develop a tie-in for the latest big screen outing from Michael Bay; Dark of The Moon. Today we find out if the game builds on the good foundations of the last title or if it has suffered the same fate that so many movie related games do... extreme mediocrity, at best.


Child of Eden Review


by Stuart Davidson | 21st June 2011

Originally designed by Tetsuya Mizuguchi, the creator of Rez, Child of Eden has a similar concept to that 2001 game updated for a 2011 audience who of course have access to Kinect. Since launch we have been delving into Eden in both standard and Kinect mode in the hope that it would provide the first must have Kinect experience... read on to find out if it achieved that goal and why it is the first game we have ever decided not to rate.


Red Faction: Armageddon Review


by Stuart Davidson | 16th June 2011

The basic storyline to Red Faction: Armageddons single player campaign is that we are a mercenary on Mars. The game begins with us joining a squad of marine type characters on a mission to save the planets Terraformer from being destroyed by the big evil of the game, Adam Hale. Following the success, or failure of this initial mission where we learn the main game mechanic we are tasked with variations on 3rd person action as we take on various jobs surrounding the main plot.


Duke Nukem Forever Review


by Stuart Davidson | 13th June 2011

So it's here... finally... the long awaited (12+ years??!) "new" Duke Nukem game. It has been said that no game could live up to the hype generated in that time and that is probably true however that doesn't mean Duke Nukem Forever couldn't be good... an enjoyable nostalgic blast.


Section 8: Prejudice Review


by Stuart Davidson | 10th June 2011

To tie in with Valve's Midweek Madness on Steam we take a look back at Section 8: Prejudice, a game which impressed us greatly a few months ago. With 66% of the already fantastic $15/10 RRP it is now a must buy title.


Brink Review


by Stuart Davidson | 7th June 2011

Brink has a futuristic setting where Earth has flooded and a large chunk of civilisation has moved to a large floating city called The Ark. Designed initially as a sustainable living environment which was populated by great minds of the day as well as the rich it now finds itself surrounded by un-sailable ships and Container City, a slum which is the home of the Resistance a group of people with nowhere else to go and no access to even the basic standards of living.


DiRT 3 Game Review


by Stuart Davidson | 20th May 2011

The first thing which Codemasters are keen to put across is that DiRT 3 is a huge game, their biggest ever and it features double the track content of v2 with three times the rally-specific content. The best cars from the last 5 decades are included (think Group B Audi Quattro) and we start our career as a full-fledged action sports driver with a top-flight career. The aim, to increase our global standing.