A few questions (subtitle: I'm a newbie) (sub subtitle: guitar in?)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shaamaan, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Shaamaan

Shaamaan New Member

Hello everyone.

I've installed xK drivers for the first time on Windows XP (old Sound Blaster Audigy 1 card back then). The reason was simple - I needed a way to duplicate output and have the exact same thing coming out on the front and end channels of my sound card. Back then I created a simple DSP setup, and pretty much stuck to it.

Then came Windows 7, and a few things have changed (one of which was getting an Audigy 2 SB0244), but I thought little of it. Mostly: for some reason, Wave 0/1 doesn't seem to work, as well as using the Master Mixed in Windows Sound settings emits nothing but silence (more likely: I don't know how to set it up). Finally, with the advance of the new alpha build (which fixed the memory leak, YEY!) I see something called Wave HQ, and it's got me intrigued.

So, I figured it's about time I figure this s**t out (excuse my French)!

First, here's what my setup looks like currently:
    Windows Sound: [​IMG]
    DSP: [​IMG]
    A few notes on the DSP:
    The Compressor is used for voice chat applications - the idea is to make all other system sounds quieter when someone is talking in a voice chat app.
    ASP Pitch (next to the Dynamic Processor) is for laughs. It's mostly bypassed. :lol:
    Surrounder+ - I've no idea if I need it or not - I only have a stereo setup, not a full surround sound setup. I want to make sure I always get output designed for a stereo setup.
    10 Band EQ - used for my headphones output
    k2lt - I like k2lt, as it it's easy to figure out which output is what. I use it to dupl... triple the output. One to my speakers, one to my gaming headphones, one to my music headphones.

Basically, what I tried to achieve with this setup is: