Afraid to Volt Mod

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by No_Style, Jun 27, 2002.

  1. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm afraid to volt mod. I really don't want to go through the hassle of replacing my card. So I'm asking for reassurance and well tips on how to do the modding without a Volt Meter and how much markings I should make. And is it reversable?

    I also like to know if the BIOS on this site are real cuz ATI BIO Editor says they are invalid. Here's the link:
    HERE
     
  2. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then don't. I don't volt-mod either because I have no wish to push the hardware that far beyond spec.

    But even taking the stock HSF of a card and replacing it with a c'orb and slapping ram sinks on WILL invalidate your card. So once you've done that, you might as well volt-mod if you wanna take modding to the next level
     
  3. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't done that yet.

    I haven't physically modded my card yet.
     
  4. DallasStar

    DallasStar Junior

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I volt modded, but not extensively. I had an OEM card that was identicle in every way including the 3.6ns ram to the retail card. It was "Powered by ATI" , but it was also really "built by ATI"(though they wouldn't officially write that on the card cuz it was OEM). I just wanted it to be at retail speeds so that I could rest assured that I was not missing out on anything others were getting and also to rest assured that I bought what I THOUGHT I bought and not what ATI decided to give me (they had dumbed down the speed to 250/250).


    Anyway, there is NO WAY you'll be successful without a voltmeter. Just go to RadioShack and buy one if you don't have it. I had to buy one too. I managed to overclock to 300/300, but I ended up erasing the marks and keeping just enough to have retail voltages so that I could run the card @ 275/275. I did this so that I wouldn't burn my card or anything considering that I haven't modded anything else on the card. If you put on ramsinks and a crystal orb on your card, you could easily run 300/300 default with no worries. :)

    The pencil trick is the best voltmod because it is completely reversible.

    No, the bios files on that site are not real. go here for bios files:

    http://www.driverheaven.net/thread.php?id=1802
     
  5. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    volt modding is not something I recommend to "try". it really is for experienced users. If you are really interesting in trying this I would either enlist the help of a hardware guru friend or study it on the various sites on the net. Just remember its a sure way to lose some expensive hardware real quick, and you will have no comeback from the manufacturer.
     
  6. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks

    Thank you all for the warnings. Made me feel like I didn't have to mod it. But here's a question: The Uber Lord 128 BIOS, what version is it?

    Oh and another question, I may have asked this before but, Is there a "significant" difference if I flashed an O/Ced BIOS other than using software O/Cing? Cuz the last time I tried to flash a O/Ced BIOS..I got artifacts at the same speed I O/C it to with software.

    Hope that made sense :D
     
  7. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are refering to the BIOS download links in the Radeon driver sections - well they ain't mine. They're hosted by FriskyOlive (IIRC) of Rage3D - I just linked to 'em.

    You will get artifacts using the overclocked BIOSes unless you add ramsinks and a better HSF to the card. My stock level is 275/275 and I can goto 285/285 without artifacts with the stock cooling. To go higher I need to mod the card.

    HTH
     

Share This Page

visited