Any good guides to make round cables?

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by DaSnIpE, Jun 4, 2002.

  1. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've heard you can cut your IDE cables to make them like the round ones that sale for a lot more, any good guides for it?

    Thanks
     
  2. sublime6atl

    sublime6atl New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can pick up some prerounded IDE cables online for between $6 and $10 each. I got mine from http://www.Openlinx.com , However, it's not that hard to make yourself. Just bend your cables over from either side, in thirds. Now, use some electrical tape to hold it in place. This will cut down on the lateral area of the cable signifigantly. Some brave kids like to take a razor-blade to the webbing between the wires and then tape up the whole mess. Cut at your own risk. :-D
     
  3. JavaFox

    JavaFox E Pluribus Unum

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DaSnipe, it's really simple. I've used a razor, but I've heard a safety pin works well, too. Cut a little between the wires, pull them apart, then lather, rinse, repeat. Bundle them up when you're done with a few zip-ties.

    I wouldn't do it with ATA66 cables, though -- too damn hard.
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I got it to work with ATA66 cables...or so i thought, i got pissed and went and bought some for $12.99 Canadian.
     
  5. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They're like 18 @ http://www.bigfootcomputers.com and 25 @ the place near my house :(

    *Edit* I need them to work with ATA100/133 cable for my HD. Maybe I'll just fold and tape, lol
     
  6. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    When referring to ATA66 cables they work on ATA66/100/133, cause they all use 80 conductor.
     
  7. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thx for the info Cyborg
     
  8. JavaFox

    JavaFox E Pluribus Unum

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On a side note, if you were wondering why an ATA66/100/133 cable has 80 wires and only 40 pins, it's actually pretty simple!

    Every other wire doesn't do a damn thing!

    It's just there to prevent crosstalk. An earth. A buffer. And so on.

    --

    Postscript: Didn't mean to sound patronizing. I realize most people know this, just wanted to share anyway. ^_^
     
  9. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LoL, u got 1 person who didn't know (me!)
     
  10. Omegadrive

    Omegadrive Drivers? What Drivers???

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually...

    I did a tip on this some time ago in my site, it describes exactly what you need and how to do it, just go here , and the last tip will guide you through.
     
  11. toddalaska

    toddalaska New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :( I don't think they ship to Canada

    Thx for the guide Omega I think I'll try it on old IDE cable 1st.
     
  13. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Test cable done, I'm going in, lol
     
  14. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's done, less clutter, and it's nicer. Thx Omega.
     
  15. Alan Allen

    Alan Allen The "Eye"

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have heard that those rounded cables can cause corruption of data, mostly on Raid systems. :sigh:
     
  16. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Re:

    did you read this on a website? id like to see the article, ive never heard this before.
     
  17. OnDborder

    OnDborder New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. Alan Allen

    Alan Allen The "Eye"

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Zardon,

    Can't remember where I saw it on the Web. I saw it back in September when I was sourcing parts for a new system. I decided not to go with the rounded cables because of it. :uhoh:
     
  19. Candyman

    Candyman [DH] Lover!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I made my own "rounded" cables using the folding technique. No cutting involved. I folded the cable in 3 halves and then with some electrical tape, I taped the folds together. It works like a charm but the best part of it is that it cost very little to do....just a regular IDE cable and some tape.

    I have all my cables folded that way on my PC and I noticed a nice decrease in case temps when I did the job. I just found $18CDN for 1 cable to be rediculous.

    Try it out...

    HERE is a guide for both folding and cutting cables.
     
  20. DaSnIpE

    DaSnIpE Driverage Snipe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Candyman why is all the good stuff is so expensive here in Canada :p
     

Share This Page

visited