Audigy 1 Platinum drive bay and Audigy 2ZS

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by 2repPinky, Aug 5, 2009.

  1. 2repPinky

    2repPinky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi. I have problem and i don't know how to deal with.
    I had Audigy 1 Platinum with front panel but my card just broke down.
    I bought Audigy 2 ZS andthere is my question ... Will it work together??
    I don't have money for new one now but i need to work with

    Sorry for english and thank you for reply


    Please send it here

    info@info-care.pl
     
  2. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,397
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Short answer ..... NO. Sorry 'bout that

    The interface is different where the ribbon cable goes, there may be other differences in the drives too.
     
  3. blasted_sound

    blasted_sound New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the exact opposite problem you do. I have a an audigy 1 with a X-fi front panel. Here is why they dont' work together.

    Quote from dj_stick:

    "the analogue connections will not work, as the Audigy is designed for a 48khz I2S signal coming from the Audigy Drive, while the Audigy 2/4/X-Fi Drive is at 96Khz"

    From this thread:

    http://www.driverheaven.net/audio-g...ont-panel-sb-live-ct4830-audigy-1-sb0160.html

    If you live in US, or Canada I'd trade you mine for yours, and we would both have a working front panel.

    There is a chance the optical, and midi inputs could work though. Test them and let us know. I'm gonna try mine once I can borrow a toslink cable.
     
  4. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,397
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Also realize the pinout is different between AUD_EXT (Live! and Audigy 1) and AD_EXT (Audigy 2 and newer) A flat ribbon cable won't connect these devices correctly.
     
  5. Jasy

    Jasy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page

visited