Audigy2: Can't record from inputs

Discussion in 'PAX Download - Audigy Series' started by Galiego, Jan 23, 2012.

  1. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all.
    I have a problem in my Audigy2.
    I can't record from Line in and Microphone inputs, nor in Creative Wave studio neither in Cakewalk Sonar. Softwares see these input devices. I hear the sounds, effect can be applied to input signal, but it isn't recorded. Inputs are enabled in Windows Mixer recording devices.
    Whats wrong or here are any tricks?

    OS: Win7x64 Home Premium
    Driver Version: 3.35

    Thanks.
     
  2. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    You might have dead mic on your card those can go fast on them.
     
  3. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,352
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Well, if he can hear it then it's not a dead jack, Robert, there's something buggy with the recording part of the driver/software/windows......

    May be a 64bit issue. Are your recording programs 64bit or 32bit?
     
  4. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    That what I been trying stay to these folkes that Audigy series kinda dead in windows 7 :)
     
  5. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    in other words, have i to forget about recording via Audigy inputs? or here is any chance?
    ( i believe it is, because, foor example, kx drivers let to record. but they have a problem with synths in W7x64 and then are unusable for me)

    i use 64bit Sonar 8 and (probably)32bit Creative WaveStudio.
     
  6. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I don't think how long ago you last formated with freash drivers?
     
  7. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What do you mean about "fresh drivers"?
    Have I to reinstall Windows before [every] drivers install?

    For ALL:
    Is here anybody, who can record (e.g. microphone) with Audigy2 under Win7x64? or it is known limitation?
     
  8. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I think it could be limitation bud. I don't own audigy 2 card in win 7. I think time for you upgrade to pci xfi or get pci e one. EAX doesn't work with windows 7
     
  9. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,352
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    138
    But recording is possible under Win7 64bit with an Audigy card and KX driver so the limitation is on Creative's driver, not on the hardware.

    You do have to make sure you are running 64bit apps and effects though, you can't mix and match with Win7..... they may run but not with proper results.
     
  10. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    what I'm asking how long ago you last formated over year ect..? You may need delete the creative folder from off hard drive and start menu and reinstalled the drivers with software again. I think your best bet stick with KX drivers for recording. Or get xfi card more support for windows 7
     
  11. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks everybody for discussion.
    Special thnx to Robert for his work.

    My summary is: actually, on Creative-based drivers, i cannot record input signals, so i need another coundcard. I'm not sure that it will be from Creative.

    i'm not sure xfi card have features of effect processing and synths as Audigy2 (nothing about it in documentation). I need it for music creation, not for listening or gaming.
    kX drivers are not suitable for me, because now have problems with synth (midi) playing/recording under Win7x64

    I'm sure that SONAR is 64bit because i selected 64bit setup.
    I use hardware EMU10k effects (they work!), not software.

    i bought my PC less than month ago. Why formatting? I use complete uninsall with driver sweeping with same-named utility.

    Robert, if you ever will find the solution, my gratitude will be huge.
     
  12. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    btw, what about "tweaks.ini" file. Might it solve my problem?
     
  13. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,352
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Would not a simple MIDI to USB device get you around the KX/MIDI problem? From what I've read over on the Microsoft forums it's not just a KX deal, but initially it was a deal with many people and Win7 64bit. Seems the most common USB adapters are the ones that do work. The fancier interfaces did not.

    I have a Behringer control surface that has MIDI in/out/thru, and it does work but has specific drivers for Win7 64bit (this is the problem the others have, lack of specific driver support). Most of my MIDI stuff I still do on an XP machine though so it's not really an issue for me.
     
  14. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Friend,
    probably,i explained incorrectly.. (my english is not very good)
    "synth problem in kx-drivers" is not about midi interface, but about soundfonts sound (i heard, that they incorrectly load,.. may be).
    midi port works and soundfont sound ok in native (and modded) creative drivers, so i desided to use them. But, a problem with recording.. :(
    A poor workaround for this moment is to use to record a onboard soundcard :(
     
  15. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,352
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Okay.... sorry. I didn't know you were relying on soundfonts.
     
  16. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    You might want get XFI music card both used sound fronts any XFI cards does.
     
  17. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Robert,
    If i've understood correctly. X-fi (e.g. titanium) card have its own soundfont synthesizer onboard and effect processor (hardware) with not only reverb and chorus, but distortion, wah-wah, pitch shifter, etc?
    (this information is hidden in official press-releases)
     
  18. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    that why audio creation mode has it lol.
     
  19. Galiego

    Galiego New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    an addition to my story:

    i bought another soundcard (not from creative) and it cant't record normally (WDM mode?) in windows too. Best result in Wave Studio were portion of waves, divided with gaps of silnce (of ~1/4 seconds each)
    It records only in ASIO mode in Cakewalk Sonar. It's little workaround for me to record Audigy output.

    then, i decided to try ASIO drivers from Creative (Sonar offered me a large list of options - "Creative ASIO...." and "Audigy2 ASIO..." driver), and always received message like that -"device is busy or use another auduo format".

    Are here users of Audigy+Sonar who faced this problem?
     

Share This Page

visited