Buying a new Rig!

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by mos2k, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Processor
    Intel Core2Duo 2.66GHz E8200

    Motherboards
    Asus P5K VM INTEL

    Hard Drive
    Western Digital 160GB3.5"HDDSATA II 8MB Cache 7200RPM (WD1600JS)

    Optical Drive
    Asus DVDROM

    Video Card
    XFX GeForce[PCX 8800GS 384MB (192-BITS)

    Memory
    Corsair DDR-II 1GB-667

    Casing
    Asus T89 Black Casing

    Power supply
    Cooler master 460 WATTS

    Your suggestions are Welcomed :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2008
  2. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Looks good but get 2x1 Gb DDR2-800 RAM kit. :)
     
  3. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    i'll try to squeeze a little more cash and see if i can get the ram kit :D
     
  4. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    youre from Pakistan huh? hows the pricing there compared to the US?
     
  5. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    A little pricy lol.. theres a 15% tax on IT products.. but its bearable i guess :D
     
  6. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    lol 15% is a bit much.... well there are a few improvements that can be made. the P5K-VM is not a good board. pretty useless price premium especially since you are getting a slower chipset and have no need for integrated graphics with the 8800GS. can you get a P5K-E? its a better board.

    also, can you switch the 8800GS to the 9600GT? its a much more powerful card for slightly more around here.

    lastly, if you can get a set of 2x1GB or 2x2GB (recommended) DDR2 800 your system will be several times faster than with 1GB as you eliminate the memory bottleneck.

    your harddrive, it isnt that important to upgrade, but if you can get the Seagate 7200.10 250GB drive with the 16mb cache or the 250GB 7200.11 with the 32mb cache, you will have alot more speed.

    lastly, your case and power supply choices, the case is a bit of a generic item. the Cooler Master CM 690 chassis is alot better and will cool your hot system components alot better. the cooler a computer is, the longer it lasts.

    the PSU is a little on the low side, it will run but id be more comfortable with a Cooler Master Real Power Pro 550w PSU

    i see that i may have blown your budget out the window so if you cant afford something, then just dont get it. but i highly recommend the 9600GT, 2GB DDR2 800, and P5K-E for upgrades
     
  7. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73
    15% isn't much we got 22% VAT in here :p
     
  8. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    ok yea thats alot
     
  9. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    LOL i'm getting a used XFX 8800GT 256MB XXX edition from a friend which is only 1 week used.. and i may get the coolermaster chassis i'll have to rethink abt the rest i havent bought the system but hopefully i'll add in a few more adjustments

    more suggestions are welcomed :D
     
  10. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    i mot so sure if its a good idea to get the 8800GT 256mb card. its powerful, but the VRAM is too small for most games outside of 1280x1024, what will your monitor size be?
     
  11. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    17 inch Generic TFT i am totally comfortable with resolution at 1280x1024 and even 1024x768 i am not a high resolution fan.!
     
  12. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    ok lol
     
  13. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Do you think i could run current Gen games on MAX setting at those resolution e.g COD4 Crysis Bioshock GOW??
     
  14. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
  15. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    :( not even at 1024x768??
     
  16. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Actually, I believe you will be able to run most current generation games at max settings, with a card having the 256Mb frame buffer, at the native res of your 17" display - but not higher.

    The 256Mb frame buffer card will limit performance for max settings rather severely at resolutions higher than that, which means that if you upgrade your monitor, you'll need to upgrade your video card too to keep the performance up at the higher native resolution of a larger display.

    It generally doesn't cost much more to go with a 512Mb card, $20-40 (US) or so, less if you shop carefully. I can assume you're going to get a great deal buying a known good 8800GT 256Mb card from a friend, and that will save you up front but wind up costing you the price of a new video card down the road should you outgrow the 17" display.
     
  17. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    21,867
    Likes Received:
    2,278
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I think you would easily get max settings at 1280x1024, at least if you have 2GB of RAM.
     
  18. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    the guys gonna be out for a bit lol, went to college. dunno how the schedule is there but i already told him what he can and cant run at maxed settings.

    he wanted to play COD4, Crysis, Bioshock, and Farcry 2

    pretty much the only game that was too much was Crysis....... but what else is new?
     
  19. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    My HD3850 can handle Crysis at 25+ fps medium settings in DX10 and 25+ on high settings in DX9.
    I'm sure an 8800GT would handle it just as well if not better
     
  20. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    yea i told him high settings in DX10, his card's more powerful than mine so yea.
     

Share This Page

visited