CDRW OVERBURNING/CLOCKING

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Matt, Jun 6, 2002.

1. Matt

Matt Techy Bloke Wasting Time

Not much info around about this. Just wanted to collect info for the best media and cdrw for this . Great help when you need to burn 710MB :D Lets hear your views.

2. dipstick

dipstick New Member

I have never tried it before but if I was to look into it, I would check out this site http://www.CDRinfo.com

3. DarkAngel

DarkAngel New Member

Mad burning skillz

matt -

The BEST media that I have used and tested is Sony, FujiFilm, Kodak, and Verbatim. I personally use Sony right now, and depending on prices I will get some Fuji's too. All have been "rated" for 100+yr DataLife (the CDs are good for 100yrs). BUT it sounds like you need a LITTLE MORE than 700mb per CD...so I'd recommend you go for the "99-Minute" Media. That should hold just about anything you need it too. ;)

Now as for a burner...that can get tricky. Check-out (www.cdmediaworld.com) for a few tips on the 99-minute media burner support (as well as Overburning in general). I might recommend getting a 24x Lite-On drive (since I have read that they can burn "through" anything). ;)

Also it depends on WHAT you are "backing up". If you are doing SVCDs then some utils will allow you to burn 800mb on to a 700mb CD-R (I've done that) without a problem. (DVD2SVCD is the progie BTW) Also CDRWin is SAID to be able to do it...but I'm not a huge fan of it. I'm more of a Nero Fan, and I now that the latest version of Nero will let you goto 90minutes (I think 99min but I have to double check that).

Hope this helps you a bit.

4. HardwareHeaven

HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

great post darkangel, I agree the liteon and sony media give fantastic results.

5. DarkAngel

DarkAngel New Member

Also some media to stay away from (quality wise) are:

TDK (12x and higher) - These are made by CMC Magnetics
    Ritek Branded CD-Rs / RWs (bottom barrel crap here folks)