Going back to smaller monitor?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Trusteft, Feb 6, 2020.

  1. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,650
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    138
    30Hz is not that bad if paired with the right phosphor.
     
  2. Calliers

    Calliers Just got off the hedonic treadmill... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    49,019
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Smallest I've ever had is 14".
     
  3. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,838
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I want to say it was an OLD old old panasonic, it was advertised as one of the most portable tvs i think with built in radio/clock, tv attenna.

    A lot of computers could be attached to any display so long as it complied with NTSC (or pal)
     
    Calliers and Trusteft like this.
  4. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Still waiting for it, apparently it was last seen in Italy. I should have it in less than a week from today. I hate long shipping, so many things can go wrong.
    Anyway, I just read this review
    https://www.pcmag.com/reviews/benq-ex2780q

    It looks good. I have no worries about the monitor other than the normal IPS glow, and the size of it. Only one way to find out I guess.
     
  5. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    That's what she said.
    But no, seriously 14 inch are fine, but yeah not exactly a size you see today for external monitors.
     
    Calliers likes this.
  6. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,650
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    138
    14" is okayish as far as the diagonal goes (1024*768, but that was fine for the time). My family used one of those for ages. Later, we got a 17" flat CRT. Some time after that, when I returned to the 14" on one occasion (for reasons I don't remember), my biggest shock wasn't how small it was, it was how round it was! For ages, I used that monitor and found nothing wrong with it, but that time it looked to me as if someone put a football in a box and then projected the image to the front side.
     
    Trusteft and Calliers like this.
  7. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    UPS came and went. Didn't find me. I Was here all day.
    Meh.
    Now I have to wait till tomorrow.
    Pissed off.
     
  8. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,838
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Trophy Points:
    138
    i'm not aware of any shipping company that even bothers to ring the door bell or knock... you can be standing right there beside the door and you'd never know they were there.
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  9. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    To prepare myself I removed the 40 inch and plugged in the 23 inch monitor I already have. I thought to myself since I am going to a 27 from , hopefully, tomorrow, let's give me a day to get accustomed to smaller screens. I have to say, not bad. Of course I am using 1080p resolution, where the 27 is going to be 1440p, but whatever.
    I will tell you one thing I love compared to the 40. Less depressing view.
     
  10. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Well, the monitor is here.
    For some reason I find myself exhausted. I opened the external packaging (amazon) but I haven't opened the main one yet. It's not even 11am and I feel like I need to drink a couple of liters of coffee.
     
    Mr Cairo likes this.
  11. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Get it done you will feel better for it.
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  12. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Thanks. :)
    I just did. Well...first impressions are..WOW! I am not talking just about the looks of the monitor which I already knew I would like. The colors even on standard mode without HDR or any special mode, just pop. As I type this I am looking at the ads on left and right side, of the Cyperpower PC, they look BEAUTIFUL. I haven't played any game yet, this is the first thing I do , and so far the colors and clarity with this monitor are just miles better than any other monitor I have used before. Seriously it just destroys my previous monitors. The last three (Sony 1080p 40 inch, Philips 4K 40 inch (VA panel), AOC 1080p 23 inch IPS), it just leaves them behind. Now granted I am running it at 144Hz which the other monitors couldn't achieve, but we are talking about windows desktop. I don't know...ok let me go check a game of World of Tanks and I will be right back.
    Back.
    Wow.
    Color me impressed. :)
    I used the standard (non HDR) mode and the emulated (display) HDR more (called Display HDR) and in both modes it looks fantastic.
    Anyway, obviously I have to do some more testing, but first impressions are very positive apart from one thing which annoys me.
    I don't know if it is an option I missed or not, but if I didn't, yeah it is annoying.
    I get no option to choose if I am going to use the built in speakers or plugged in (the monitor) headphones. It looks like as soon as I plug in the headphones I have to use them. I hate that.
     
    Mr Cairo and Calliers like this.
  13. Calliers

    Calliers Just got off the hedonic treadmill... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    49,019
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Enjoy your new monitor. :)
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  14. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Thank you. It's great so far. I didn't expect I could notice that much difference, but wow.
     
    Calliers likes this.
  15. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    138
    There is no option to switch on the windows speaker icon ? Mine offers me Benq or Realtek .. I just leave my Headphones plugged in and switch as needed

    Both Benq I had before and the current 27" allowe this as long as I ran through HDMi
     
  16. Calliers

    Calliers Just got off the hedonic treadmill... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    49,019
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Personally I prefer Display Port.
     
  17. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    138
    It works fine but I seem to remember that with Display Port the audio does not offer the option to switch inputs, it would be one or the other
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
    Calliers likes this.
  18. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,214
    Likes Received:
    2,419
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The headphones connected to the monitor, not the PC.
     
  19. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    138

    So are mine the speakers connect directly to the audio on the Pc and the headphone jack connects to the Audio input built into the monitor and so long as I connect through HDMI on he monitor Ihave an option on the win 10 taskbar speaker icon to switch from external speakers (speakers Realtek High Defenition Audio) to Benq Monitor

    If I connect through DVI etc its not there
     
  20. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,650
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    138
    But you have "discrete" speakers, you're not using the ones built into the monitor, right? Because I believe that that is the case with Trusteft current setup.
     
    Trusteft likes this.

Share This Page

visited