Half a Billion Powerball

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Dude111, Jan 8, 2016.

1. Dude111

Dude111 An Awesome Dude

The jackpot for this Saturday is (OR WAS) standing at 675 million.....

I bought a ticket but I really wonder IF ANYONE REALLY EVER WINS!!!

They say they do BUT THAT DOESNT MEAN SQUAT!! (And the actors on TV saying they won DONT MEAN ANYTHING unless you can personally prove it)

2. Mr Cairo

Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

Restaurant where I worked as a Chef had a customer who won 8 Million for a while after he still came to the restaurant but I have met an actual Big Winner

3. Dyre Straits

Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -1 Great-grandson-and one in the oven

700+ Million and counting....

4. IvanV

IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

Is this the official website http://www.powerball.com/pb_home.asp ? That's one of the most dated-looking web pages I've seen in a while. BTW, how much does a ticket cost if the prize is that big?! And how much would a person actually get if they wanted to cash it in?! It says that if the winner wanted instant payout, they would get $428 million before taxes. So how much would Uncle Sam pinch?

EDIT: 35% if I found the right number. So, if the winner wanted instant payout, he would actually get some $278 million. Now, that's still a nice chunk of change, but a far cry from 700 million.

5. Trusteft

Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

700....wow.
    I wouldn't say no but I would not want the attention either.
    I would be ok with 1% of that. I would move to the USA, open a gaming/arcade bar in a nice neighborhood and work without (financial) worry on movies. 1%? Hell, even 0.1% would probably do.

6. Judas

Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

Locally there is someone that won 23.8 million. Granted that's a wack of cash, majority of farmers deal with similarly big numbers, it's just rarely free and clear like that.

7. Calliers

Calliers Just got off the hedonic treadmill... Staff Member