help to stop prompts and read only files in win 8

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Mr Cairo, Oct 17, 2013.

1. Mr Cairo

Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

ok two (hopefully) easy things to resolve

First one is Win 8 is essentially making most of my rar and avi files read only and I keep having to right click and untick read only ... considering I am an admin on my own computer is there a way to stop this ?

Second the prompt that keeps popping up by the charms menu to tell me that windows has new programs that can open files ... for instance I have set winamp to open all mp3 files but once a week or so when i open an mp3 the prompt that there is other software that will play this appears

is there a way to stop that as well

small minor annoyances but they are annoyances and I would love some options

cheers guys

2. Judas

Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

I cannot reproduce this issues.

1:

The Read only thing is most definitely not a windows 8 feature/function, that is clearly a glitch introduced by something which I have no idea. I'd lean on it being a 3rd party app doing it, no way a default windows 8 install would cause that.

2:

During the installation of a program that windows 8 could already open .. (such as a new browser like firefox, or winamp or vlc... or adobe pdf reader), is the moment it notifies me about such an app.. and it only triggers BRIEFLY once and never re-appears.

Personally both those issues are a little more than minor... they would make me quite irritated and for me knowing that windows 8 has never done either of those things on about 50+ machines I've work with both my own installs as well as 3rd party laptops/desktops/etc, makes me think malware or a bad program doing bad things.

3. Mr Cairo