Help with Shiro DSL805E Router.

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by mos2k, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    hey guys.. i just got DSL in my home 512kB/s and i need to open a port for utorrent my the current DL i'm getting is around 30-50 I should be getting atleast 55-60 I have no prior knowledge for opening ports. So guys please help me :confused:
     
  2. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73
    lol... I got 8/1 Mbit dsl line and some times the speed is lower than you... and it's all because how the bittorrent network works .. so those speeds are actually ok for your connection...

    btw. does the router support UPNP?
     
  3. OldBuzzard

    OldBuzzard DH's oldest Geek

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    88
  4. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38

    Yes it does.
     
  5. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
  6. OldBuzzard

    OldBuzzard DH's oldest Geek

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Did you get to this page and follow all the directions?
    PortForward.com - Free Help Setting up Your Router or Firewall (This page is for your actual router).

    If you did, than double check to make sure you didn't miss anything.

    If you are positive you got it right, then it may be that your ISP is blocking something. I know that when I first got DSL here many moons ago, there were places/things you couldn't get to or do. They eventually opened those up.

    So, make double sure you made the proper adjustments at your end, and if they fail call your ISP's customer support.

    And make double, DOUBLE sure you have the right port. uTorrent seems to use a different one each time you install it. I had my Linksys set up for uTorrent, but after a re-install, uTorrent was using a different port, so I had to change my router setting to match it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2008
  7. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73

Share This Page

visited