I may be looking for new graphics card

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Robert McClelland, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,551
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Right. Which is why I said it's more about people who complain about their stuff not working right than those not saying anything with it working.

    For example, my 7870 works perfectly fine. Yet, I'm not going to rant up and down about it working just fine. If it didn't work fine and I couldn't get a solution worked out, then yea, I'd rant up and down about it. So would anybody else.
     
  2. SeaWulf

    SeaWulf Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Steve......I was not offend just wanted to share my personal experience
     
  3. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I thinking holding off on new video card for now just get more ram instead :). So I have 16gig max on my mother board :). Thanks for ideas later on.
     
  4. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    you really want a nVidia GPU anyways..... ;)
     
  5. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,551
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    123
    If your system specs are correct still, then 8GB of RAM is enough to play modern games without any issue.

    I'd say keep going for the GPU upgrade.

    And don't let either Mal nor myself influence you on your next GPU decision. It's quite clear who we prefer even though we both say we don't prefer one or the other :lol:
     
  6. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Or just save the money and go on holiday or something :D
     
  7. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -1 Great-grandson-and one in the oven

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18,934
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    153
    As CD's suggested, you really won't see any significant performance increase for GAMING by adding more RAM. The better option for GAMING performance would be to get a 3 GB GDDR5 GPU with a 384 Memory Bus. For my own part, I won't even consider another GPU that has anything less.
     
  8. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    It's ok It's extra money from casino I won ;) Used 50 towards new ram hehe. Going get video card maybe down road once I pay more bills off. Beside I need extra ram for new simcity 2013 game I preorder :). As you build your city it does need more ram to run it. What happen to AMD Patriot They ran out? I have Patriot AMD Ram I'm sure this will work well togather > VisionTek Products AMD Performance Edition 8GB Kit of 2 (2x4GB) 1600MHz CL8 240-Pin DDR3 PC3-12800 Desktop Memory (AP38G1608U2K-1) < Same Model Number as on Patroit Ram. From Amazon. New egg sold out or Patroit Discontinued? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820103008
     
  9. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    That seems an odd requirement when the worst GPUs that meet that requirement (GTX 580 3GB, 7950 boost) are outperformed by some 192-bit GPUs (3GB GTX660Ti, even 2GB GTX660Ti for 1080p) - http://techreport.com/review/23981/radeon-hd-7950-vs-geforce-gtx-660-ti-revisited

    But never more than a couple of gigabytes, as it's a 32-bit, single-threaded executable. Even if they do release a 64-bit executable, it'll bog down far before you're making use of 4GB. Basically, anything more than 6GB of RAM is a waste on any gaming machine. But each to their own.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    if your running a Surround or Eyefinity set-up then you MIGHT have a valid argument
    though it depends on a few more factors.

    but overall you are incorrect in your logic thinking it can't perform..
    ;)

    it's been proven that not even 4GB of VRAM has any advantages over 2GB cards.
    just like the 192-bit bus vs 384-bit bus.
     
  11. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,551
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    123
    proven w/o any proof? blasphemy!

    :lol:
     
  12. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    BRB with links... but note, I feel that if I said it then it has to be.. :p
     
  13. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
  14. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,551
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    123
    trolled! :lol:

    Anyways, I'm well aware of the microstutter issue and I did notice it when I was doing testing on a wide range of issues. However, unless you can run your eyes at 120FPS reduced down to 24FPS, most people really won't be able to tell a difference. That is of course they are a meticulous person looking for the slightest defect like we are :cool:.
     
  15. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
  16. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -1 Great-grandson-and one in the oven

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18,934
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    153
    We do need to differentiate between RAM and VRAM. Adding more RAM [system] instead of going with a "better" video card won't have any significant difference with his GAMING. I think my argument is completely valid in that regard.

    If, however, you're going to restrict the argument to 1, 2, 3 GB GDDR5 [VRAM] and as to whether the bandwidth plays a significant difference, I still think the "better/newer" cards will show the improvement. Especially at the higher resolutions so many gamers are using these days.
     

Share This Page

visited