If shoe fits wear it.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Liqourice, May 3, 2018.

1. Liqourice

Liqourice Well-Known Member

No, not really.

I don't quite know where to put this so I put it in here just to be safe.

I've been neglecting my old computers for to long. So, I started playing around with my now 26 year old Amiga 4000 again, just to find out that something was wrong with it. I couldn't get any display on my old Commodore 1084 monitor so something wasn't quite working with the good old AGA chipset. My RTG display (Cybervision 64/3D) worked just fine so not much wrong with the computer in general.

Eventually I took the old thing apart and had a look at the motherboard. Lo an behold I found one of the old electrolyte capacitors had leaked a bit. Nothing uncommon, mine has actually been working a lot longer than other A4000's. Probably because I more or less had it running 24/7 for about 12 of those 26 years.

It hadn't leaked that much, it was easy to clean up and hadn't done any real damage. The only thing the leakage caused was a short on two pins on one of the chips handling the AGA chipset display. Hence it also affected the Zorro II scandoubler I had installed. After cleaning it up and removing the gunk it worked just perfectly again, even the scandoubler so I can use a VGA monitor for the AGA screenmodes.

It's so great to be able to play these old games again. The Settlers, De Luxe Galaga and so on. Even did play a bit of Quake just for the fun of it.

But. Things won't get better if I don't do anything. I did replace the original battery, the crappy barrel type that starts to leak on pretty much every Amiga eventually, to a NiMh barrel-battery about 20 years ago. It's all done for, it doesn't work anymore so I have to set the internal clock every time I boot it up, but at least it doesn't leak. So, I will replace this soon enough but I don't really feel the rush since it's not very likely to leak like the original battery would.