If U use Windows 98 ME!!

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by LuciferDK666, May 9, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LuciferDK666

    LuciferDK666 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If U use Windows 98 ME!!
    And U want to TWEAK it a bit

    These R the settings in my SYSTEM.INI file


    [386Enh]
    ebios=*ebios
    mouse=*vmouse
    device=*dynapage
    device=*vcd
    device=*vpd
    device=*int13
    woafont=app850.fon
    display=*vdd,*vflatd
    LocalLoadHigh=1
    EMMExclude=A000-FFFF,C000-CFFF
    32BitDiskAccess=ON
    32BitFileAccess=ON
    DMABufferSize=64
    MinTimeSlice=40
    MinSPs=16
    DualDisplay=on
    KeyBoostTime=0.1
    PageBuffers=32
    WindowUpdateTime=200
    COMBoostTime=1
    Irq10=8192 , the IRQ 4 my Realtek NIC
    Irq11=8192 , the IRQ for my Geforce graficcard
    PerVMFiles=225
    PagingDrive=D: this is where You have Your Swapfile
    MinPagingFileSize=307200 min size of swapfile
    MaxPagingFileSize=307200 max size of swapfile
    ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1 , only if U got more than 256 Mb RAM
    COM3Base=3E8
    COM3Irq=4
    COM4Base=2E8
    COM4Irq=3
    RemovableIDE=1
    MaxDMAPGAddress=100000


    [vcache]
    ChunkSize=1024
    MinFileCache=98304
    MaxFileCache=98304


    Greetings
    LuciferDK666
     
  2. curiophile

    curiophile won't you be my neighbor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very nice

    I wrote a tweak guide with all those setting about two years ago for the Radeon Guide with Snuffolupegus. I miss windows me because of all the tweaking that could be done
     
  3. XSgore

    XSgore New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, but...

    Hi...

    Isn't Windows Millenium rubbish though? I am going by personal judgement here btw, but it's never worked properly for me, it's even worse for stability than MS-DOS4.0 was back in the olden days of computing (I remember when 16MHz was "WOW" and 60Mb was considered "masses of space")

    Personally, i think Windows 2000 Professional or Windows XP Professional are much better operating systems, ok, so perhaps it may not support every old piece of software out there, but hey, we all have to make sacrifices ;-)

    Gorebrush Tripwood
    (XSgore)
     
  4. sinjin

    sinjin the last samurai

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i used to run on winMe for a couple years. i had nothing but problems...but at the time i never thought it could be the os causing them. after everything (winMe w/patches, mobo drivers, 4n1 agp, directx, conservative bios settings and memory timings, etc etc) were all installed, updated, tweaked, configured and copacetic i would still end up with strange bsod's, infinite loops, and otherwise weird occurances.

    i would fiddle around with everything that other experienced users on boards such as this would throw out...the only thing that i gained from it all was a better understanding at how everything really works.

    people would jump and down preaching how miserable winMe is...and i just didnt understand why...heck, no one really gave much of an explanation...

    and neither am i.

    just take my word. winMe is a fragile os.

    if you need only one reasone to go to XP, heres one...you cant run the omegatonium drivers without it. :D
     
  5. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What the heck.

    I just did a pretty much straight cut-n-paste of your settings into my 98se system.ini, (I deleted dual monitors=1 and removable IDE=1 'cause I don't use and don't have. ;) ), and am about to reboot and see how it does.

    If I'm not back in awhile.....
     
  6. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm 5 hours later..........not a good sign lol

    btw WinME has problems with memory leakage and with putting in an AGP card when a mobo has onboard video on it.

    and I recommend XP Home over XP Pro for most users

    The features in Pro arent worth the extra money or ram they use

    and Home is more stable than pro in most cases

    Pro isnt made to be tweaked for gaming

    Its made for businesses
     
  7. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Except if you're an IT professional (by trade, not by claim) or you work at home and connect to the office
     
  8. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    true.....thats why i put for most users in the line above

    Home office users who telecommute defnintely want Pro to connect to their work PC.

    I was meaning for the average user and gamer
     
  9. curiophile

    curiophile won't you be my neighbor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    LoL! I was about to raise my hand. ;)
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yeah...

    I was gonna post after I played with it a while...sorry, my daughter woke up from her nap crabby and it tends to distract me. :rolleyes:

    It didn't seem to do a whole lot of improvement, but my system.ini was already pretty well tweaked. For some reason my intellimouse optical 3.0's software stopped working after using the tweaks, so I went back to my original system.ini

    Sorry I spaced the thread, I'll try and be a bit more dilligent.
     
  11. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol its ok.......i just thought it was funny :p
     
  12. Mcrobrewer

    Mcrobrewer New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess I most be lucky... I have been using WinodwsMe for 2 years now and have never had a problem....

    I am building a new system by the end of the Summer and will probably put windows XP home on it just to be with the 'in crowd' but really for me ME was excellent!!!
     
  13. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    XP Pro has multiple users, quite a useful feature I would say. Unless I'm mistaken, the Home edition doesn't have personal folders and such. I think many people would prefer to have their files protected from the prying eyes of wary family members. Oh, and Pro has support for multiprocessing. :D
     
  14. Dude111

    Dude111 An Awesome Dude

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ya Im on 98se and I was gonna try that but wouldnt this setting cause HIGH usage??

    "LocalLoadHigh=1"

    I dont have too much Ram and wouldnt wanna mess something up....
     
  15. MIG-31

    MIG-31 HardwareHeaven News Mod Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    73,949
    Likes Received:
    1,989
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I'm afraid that Digitalwanderer no longer visits HH's forums, And to add that the last reply prior to the above post were 2002 o_O

    As this has been mentioned before Old (In this case Extremly Old) threads does not really need to be brought back from the dead.

    Thread Closed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

visited