Massive Memory Leak in Firefox 2.0.0.3

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by Alistair, Mar 23, 2007.

  1. Alistair

    Alistair Spoos

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Has anyone else been forced into downgrading back to 2.0.0.2 as a result of a massive memory leak in the latest "bug fix"? At least myself (on two separate computers) and one friend have had Firefox take a HUGE amount of memory in a short period of time (600+MB, with MASSIVE swapping going on). It seemed to happen when browsing with multiple tabs and some flash in them. Its obviously a 2.0.0.3 issue as this does NOT happen in 2.0.0.2 for me. Just curious is anyone else has seen this or has more information on it.
     
  2. Erroneus

    Erroneus Get off my lawn!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,727
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    103
    No problem here, using 2.0.0.3 on two machines. Sounds like a plugin or an extension going crazy.

    Using latest flash and java 6.0 on both machines, plus a ton of extensions.
     
  3. >GSXR<mrbusa

    >GSXR<mrbusa MY BIKE vvv

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Me to.
    Two machines and countless extensions and themes and no issues. It is using less than 50mb with four tabs open and flash enabled.
     
  4. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    i dunno i never checked, looks like you've given me something to look into.
    i run FF 2.0.0.3 with no themes and only DownThemAll! (DL Accelerator)
     
  5. MGaz

    MGaz All wheel driver!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    well ATM fire fox is eating up 120 MB's of system memory. that's nothing compared to how it was one day.. i'll see if i can find the screen shot i took.

    My PC crawled to an almost halt. :duh: in fact i think it slowed down so much it actually started going backwards! lol :D
     
  6. MGaz

    MGaz All wheel driver!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    well ok, dummy me didn't take a pic of the memory usage, like i thought, but i can tell you it was a lot of my 1 gig. :eek:


    What i did take a pic of was the cpu usage, my PC was crawling along :wtf:.

    FF 92% cpu usage! somethings wrong there? surely? I never had that kind of problem with IE, all IE ever use to do was crash and chuck up errors and illegal operations all the time. Silly MS garbage.

    Anyway, heres the pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Alistair

    Alistair Spoos

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    MGaz, thats exactly what it did to a friend and I once it started using the hard drive for swapping.
     
  8. aNy_oNE

    aNy_oNE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MGaz, firefox goes to about 99% cpu usage for me if im loading 3-4+ tabs at once, not uncommon. (although my CPU is crap, even compared to yours xD)
     
  9. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you tried creating a new Firefox profile, or clean out the existing profile (only leave what you need, likes cookies, bookmarks files) ?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2007
  10. cozumel

    cozumel I'm dangerous but cute...

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,574
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have any problems here with FF 2.0.0.3. Working perfectly. :)
     
  11. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Time for an upgrade :D

    ...upgrade of browser that is. FF does this with alot of tabs open, if I have like 30 tabs open my PC grinds to absolute 0 power.

    Never had this problem with Opera, never dared try with IE :lol:
     
  12. GutterPunk

    GutterPunk I = Greatest Dood

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,950
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I had 53 tabs open in IE w/o a problem.

    FF yes the same problem and opera is ok
     
  13. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use this below Firefox build in Vista right now...
    Tete's Firefox 2.0.0.3 [2007032116 en-US win32 tete009 sse pgo]
    Visual C++ 2005 SP1 (PGO) build, and CPU Instruction Set SSE3 Beta DLL (December 8, 2006) - http://www1.plala.or.jp/tete009/en-US/software.html#FFRELEASE

    when tested with no Add-ons, no Flash (Proxomitron), and with 50 tabs opened, i can hardly see any system performance drop off/down.
     
  14. GutterPunk

    GutterPunk I = Greatest Dood

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,950
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I wonder, I tested mine on XP

    Im going to go home and test it on my Vista
     
  15. Alistair

    Alistair Spoos

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have managed to come up with a way to trigger this memory leak on a consistent basis.

    Step 1: Open Task Manager and sort by memory usage. (CTRL+SHIFT+ESC)
    Step 2: Open Firefox
    Step 3: Browse to a website
    Step 4: Open new browser tab (CTRL+T)
    Step 5: Navigate to chrome://browser/content/browser.xul
    Step 6: Right-Click View Source
    Step 7: Close View Source Window
    Step 8: Close Tab opened above.
    Step 9: Sit back and watch your memory usage climb.
     
  16. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    followed every steps there, and then left it for 10 mins, the system memory usage was about the same, there was not much going on here at all.

    unless I missed something?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Alistair

    Alistair Spoos

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Bon Echo? wasn't that a development build? This was the production 2.0.0.3 release I encounter this on. It is happening on 5 different machines for me all using these steps. There is no common extension shared on all systems either. The only similarity on them is that they are all on a 64-bit builds of Windows (XP and Vista).
     
  18. aNy_oNE

    aNy_oNE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have ordinary 32bit WinXP Pro, and I did those things, memory usage stayed exactly the same. Firefox is normal 2.0.0.3 from the automatic update thing.
     
  19. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    since you have problem with the specific build version, and so, of course, it won't be able to serve you well under your systems, i suppose i can only tell you that if i were you i could always try and use different builds of the Firefox, there are so many Firefox builds out there either milestone, branch, trunk, or nightly builds.
    an alternate way would be to change back to the older build version if i found there was no problem with it.
    one thing different between IE and Firefox is: there are new builds of Firefox comes out at almost every day, and a clean uninstalled and reinstalled of a Firefox can be done easily and very fast if desired.
     
  20. Alistair

    Alistair Spoos

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have reverted most to the official release of 2.0.0.2 as that seems to lack this memory leak on them. I try to avoid the nightly builds, but experiment a bit with the latest development builds of the next generation from time to time.
     

Share This Page

visited