My new watercooled rig - pics

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by tastyweat, Aug 28, 2004.

  1. G@MeBoY

    [email protected] makes your mouse tremmble!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    extra $$ is not a problem if you have them and if you can find the parts. In my country you cant find anything watter cooling realted, my WB is made on CNC machine in a local workshop.

    Tubbing is tubing, I see no point in giving 30$ for something that costs 3$. Radiators are also re-selled to you, and watter pumps too, actualy only thing the companies manufacter is WB.

    There is really little to no-chance to drown your rig since all comp. parts are protected with polish (as nailpolish ?! I dont know the word) and u use disstiled watter which is not conductive enough to short-cicruct anything (it has arround 100 el. capacity, to short-cicrcut something you need at least 600, tap watter has arround 1200 since it contains metals and minerals)
     
  2. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    actually... just one thing off there... DangerDen make their own pump
     
  3. El Kapitano

    El Kapitano Most of the 7 dwarfs in 1

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nah, sorry [email protected] but no PC cards are protected as you say, the solder points are all bare. Only external PCB's (alarm system bellboxes, PIR sensor pcb's and the like get the "conformal" (protective) lacquer coating you're thinking of.
     
  4. Falstaff

    Falstaff Old Codger

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    20,553
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    123
    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty

    go tasty go tasty go tasty
     
  5. G@MeBoY

    [email protected] makes your mouse tremmble!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    acctualy danger den uses eheim and hydoor pumps, you get to choose when you configure your order. The pump you refer is this one:

    [​IMG]

    as you can see the manufacturer is "Noryl" and is modded by danger den (added molex)

    black ice pro radiator is acctualy "Ford" cabine radiator which you can buy for some 25$...

    I am not saying Danger Den is bad, they just resell parts you can buy cheeper and manufacter excellent WBs
     
  6. @/2ct!<

    @/2ct!< New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LMAO :rofl: , Noryl is a type of material which the pump is made out of. The actual pump mfgr. is Laing, and swiftech is the only "official distributors" of the laing pumps(german co.?), swiftech then distributes ones that they dont keep for themselves to other companys such as DD, but the price is not that much different. Heatercores can be a lot cheaper than black ices, but black ices are a good fit for those that dont want to make any modifications, as are required with many pure automotive heatercores.
     
  7. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey dont laugh dude...thats what i thought the first time i saw it too.
     
  8. G@MeBoY

    [email protected] makes your mouse tremmble!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :) Well, it is funny for someone who knows what it is...I personally never heard of it, probably has a different name here where I live (some sort of distorted translation into my language). But it isn't danger den's and that's for shure :) Like I said, I use german submersible 1200l/h pump (averige pre-built system pumps are 450l/h hydor) which I modded into external pump. Works flawless for months now, and costs 12$ (instead of 70$), if it ever drops dead (which I doubt, I have one in aquarium for over two years) I'll just go buy another one for 12$ :D
     
  9. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    awesome man!

    I'm considering doing water cooling but I cant bring myself to go through the work to do it.
     
  10. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    it's not all that much work... i was a complete watercooling noob and I setup this completely customised system with no need for instructions... remarkably simple!

    I only needed a little help picking out the parts and that was it.
     
  11. G@MeBoY

    [email protected] makes your mouse tremmble!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you picked nice parts ! I like your tubbing very much, it looks like it's semi-transparent , is it ?! Your radiator is also very good, massive is good ! Thoese small 80x80xm radiators are far from enough to cool something very overclocked that produces over 80W of heat. Even with radiators this large watter becomes warm after an hour or soo on 1.9V AMD. Mind what sistem readings say, meassured with thermal probe placed on CPU Die on my xp2000+ @ [email protected] system utility says 44C, thermal probe says 51 (and I bent my system's thermal probe in socket to touch CPU's PCB directly under CPU's die, without bannding it would report even lower temps, probably 5C lower). So folks, now you know :)
     
  12. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    really....

    I may look into it then.
     
  13. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    IF you need a hand at all - then just let me know and I will give you some help - my knowledge about watercooling has expanded quite a bit since I started looking into it 5 or so weeks ago.
     
  14. WisMerHill

    WisMerHill New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup, lot's of people with some knowledge about watercooling. I've run several sets and combos in the last 2,5 years since i began using watercooling. Now al my pc's (now only 2 but still :) ) use watercooling and i've really become to appreciate the high performance cooling at very low soundlevels.

    Shoot if you have any questions or want an example like this:

    my current build, needs to be tidied up a bit and got some sleeving to do
    [​IMG]
     
  15. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I wish I could build something as tidy as that!!!
     
  16. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah seriously. There are so many power cords in my computer that i cant tuck any of that in. I have one idea for tidying up but thats it. Other than that I figured my comp was a lost cause. lol
     
  17. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    leakage :tears: :tears: :tears:
     
  18. SIK_L_CELL

    SIK_L_CELL Cowboy From Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you really discover a leak? Oh Nooo! :w00t:
     
  19. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    yeah :tears: - just tried - no vga now
     
  20. SIK_L_CELL

    SIK_L_CELL Cowboy From Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude same exact thing when I swapped my Gigabyte board for the MSI. I was too lazy to redo the fittings and the cpu block leaked on my X800xt. Massive video corruption and then no video. I used compressed air and Isopropyl alcohol to dry the card. All is well now but ever since that I am super paranoid. Good luck.
     

Share This Page

visited