NEW:Native AC'97 ASIO/WDM Driver (beta testers wanted)

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Lex Nahumury, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    For those who might be interested,
    here's an AC'97 WDM driver with native ASIO support.
    AC'97 ASIO Project

    As such I'm looking for experienced computer users
    (meaning guys & gals not afraid of blue screens,
    know how to manually install a driver,
    and know what ASIO is:))
    to test the driver and report back bugs and issues.

    Of course anyone is free to download and try the driver.
    Do so at your own risk!

    Notes:
    - W2k/WinXP 32-bit x86 only!
    - manual (un)install
    - This driver is only interesting for people who want to try to achieve the lowest possible
    ASIO latencies on older generation notebooks using it’s onboard AC’97 sound device.
    The newer 'Intel HD (High Definition) devices' are not supported.



    /Lex.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2009
  2. LyyNx

    LyyNx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does this mean it doesn't work on dual core processors? cause i'd really like to try it :(
     
  3. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It means I haven't been able to test/debug the driver on multi proc platforms myself.
    So you could try it:)
    But that aside, you are aware that this driver works only on the older AC'97 standard right?
    Not on the newer HD standard which you may have?
     
  4. LyyNx

    LyyNx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh.. crap.. i'm not really sure but i guess sigmatel 9200 is hd... :(
    any plans for hd support? :)
     
  5. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Btw; the driver should work fine with dual core.
    I just tested it on a HT machine.
    However, Sigmatel 9200 is indeed HD and hence won't work.

    Yes, I have plans to support native ASIO/WDM for the newer HD Audio devices.
     
  6. LyyNx

    LyyNx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool. well you have a future tester for hd devices then :) i'll keep checking back..
     
  7. Doug W

    Doug W New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will try the driver on a couple of work laptops tomorrow. Thanks Lex
     
  8. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update v1.003
    AC'97 ASIO Project
    - fixed an incompatibility issue with some ASIO hosts like BIAB.
    - added some ASIO optimizations.
     
  9. silvertones

    silvertones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lex,
    Good work. Works great in BIAB and also works great in Real Band. Playing 9 tracks with no glitches as with the previous version.
     
  10. silvertones

    silvertones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just because this is a Beta and I'm a non conformist I thought I'd let you know this info on the install. I didn't do it the way you mention. I just unzipped the files into a known location and then went to device manager and did a driver update for my card. Went through the choose my location, have disc etc. then navigated to the .inf file and it installed and that was it.
     
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, thanks for testing.

    Btw, changing buffersize in ASIO Control Panel may crash certain hosts.
    (to be fixed soon)EDIT: fixed!
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  12. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, that should work as well.
    Always check/verify the driver version numbers in devman afterwards though.
     
  13. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. silvertones

    silvertones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That did the trick.
     
  15. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Your compatibility list says,

    The driver should work with most AC’97 Intel(r) 82801xx Controllers;
    and with most AC’97 compatible Codecs from vendors like;
    Analog Devices,
    Sigmatel,
    Cirrus Logic,
    Winbond etc.

    For your info ... Realtek ALC655 AC'97 (also reported as SiS710 in device manager) ... constant 25% cpu usage - in task manager, shown as 50% of one core of an Intel HT cpu being used by KERNEL

    I hope that makes sense

    this is on Windows XP Pro SP3
     
  16. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You probably mean;
    - the Realtek ALC655 AC'97 is the codec
    - the SiS710 is the Audio Controller (chipset)
    ?
    I couldn't find any reference to a SiS710 controller.
    Only those listed here;
    Matrix:Vendor-SiS - AlsaProject

    Anyway, as stated, the driver is intended to work with most Intel ICHs.
    So SiS and other non-Intel ac'97 controllers probably won't work correctly.

    I'll check that.

    Btw I'm curious;
    - how did you manage to install the driver in the first place?
    (did you add a PnP ID to the .inf file?)
    - did you even get proper sound?

    Thanks for the info.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2009
  17. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yes, I added the PnP, on the off chance that it would work

    I never actually checked for sound to be honest
     
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have (again) checked the driver on a Intel HT enabled machine.
    Works fine.
    No weird cpu usage so I think (and hope) it's because of the unsupported SiS chipset on which you "forced" installation.
     
  19. StOrmCatz

    StOrmCatz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello Lex,

    I was wondering, would this allow me to fully utilize redocneXk with my AC'97? When I run redocneXk 2.05 GUI, it only allows me modify row 0 and 1 of the matrix. Does this mean I'm still limited to only 2 channels even if I encode?

    Just so you know, I've installed this on an NForce 4 chipset with a Realtek ALC850 AC'97 codec. Sound works and I have not experienced any odd CPU usage as of yet.
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    I don't know much about redocneXk but I'm pretty sure it won't work with this driver because SPDIF is not directly supported and the driver currently provides only 2 ASIO channels.
    BIOS may have enabled the SPDIF transmitter (if available) though.

    I wrote this driver primarily for (older generation pre 2005) notebook usage.
    Those notebooks rarely expose a SPDIF output and don't have multi-channel analog outputs either.
    I take it you use a desktop?

    Hey that's pretty cool.
    Do all analog output channels work ok?
    Do you use HT enabled CPU or multi proc?

    Thanks for the info!
     

Share This Page

visited