NEW: ProFx (3538) Update Incl. MX6 and AC97

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Lex Nahumury, Mar 11, 2005.

  1. kosketus

    kosketus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Lex

    Sorry but I'm a complete dummy when it comes to code, programming and everything in that sphere - and I'm too old to start learning now :sigh:

    All your previous versions of ProFx have been downloadable in a ready-to-install .zip package. Is there any chance that this latest update will be too? Because despite all my efforts I'm unable to get kX ver, 3551a - either in its x86 or x64 guise - to work with ProFx 3.11 in Win 8 Pro 64-bit. Your update could be the answer to my prayers - if only I could use it!
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2013
  2. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ProFx is only 32bit. You have to use the kxmixer.exe from Program Files (x86) folder to register and use this plugin.

    Download latest ProFx and put it some folder (like C:\Program Files (x86)\kX Project)
    Launch KXmixer.exe
    Open KXDSP
    right-click Register Effects (Dane/kxl/rifx) and navigate to the file and register it.

    Those instructions work for ProFx311_51.kxl.
     
  3. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just tried to upgrade my ProFx311_51.kxl to ProFx_312.kxl.
    When I "Register Effects" in KXDSP, I still get "Error: Invalid plugin library".

    Do I need to install MSVC Redistributables and which one?
    Do I need to unregister old ProFx first?

    I am on Windows 8 64bit and 32bit kxmixer.exe.

    Thanks.
     
  4. kosketus

    kosketus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Funny you should say that, because that's exactly what happens to me - except that it's in respect to ProFx311_51
    That is precisely what I'm doing. Result:- "Error: Invalid plugin library". I've been around this loop so many times now I'm dizzy.
     
  5. BiCho

    BiCho Audiotecna- Representante

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    same mistake here, using WinXPSP3
     
  6. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    For ProFx311_51.kxl I had to install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86) and the error went away and plugin started working.

    Again, you have to use 32bit kxmixer.exe from C:\Program Files (x86)\kX Project
     
  7. kosketus

    kosketus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    imperia

    I repeat:- both these conditions are already satisfied. But I get the error-message all the same.

    Just so we're clear about that.

    Separately though, what I was trying to find out was whether Lex's latest ProFx version woudl become available as a downloadable .zip or .rar file like all the preceding versions.
     
  8. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I do not have kX these days so I cannot test anything, but from what I can see, ProFx_312 does not have any dependencies on any MSVC Redistributables (as Lex stated).

    For any version you might try downloading Dependency Walker.
    Open the ProFx.kxl with it and it should be able to tell you if you are missing any necessary DLL's, etc.

    @kosketus
    Why do you need the file to be compressed (zip/rar)?
    Is it a problem with downloading it or something?
    The .KXL file is what would be inside the zip/rar archive and is the only thing needed to install.
     
  9. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    profx_312.kxl fails to register in 64 bit windows 7 ...

    Error: The Side-by-Side configuration information for "PROFX_312.KXL" contains errors. The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log or use the command-line sxstrace.exe tool for more detail (14001).

    and yes, I used 32bit kxmixer to try and register it (profx311_51.kxl registers just fine in the same setup)

    using sxstrace

    INFO: Reference: Microsoft.VC90.DebugCRT,processorArchitecture="x86",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",version="9.0.21022.8"
    INFO: Reference: Microsoft.VC90.DebugMFC,processorArchitecture="x86",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",version="9.0.21022.8"

    I think those two lines suggest the problem (not sure though)
     
  10. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here is what I found on internet:

     
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So to summarize;
    Latest profx 3.12 fails to register on 64-bit windows (both win7/8)?
    Is that correct?

    /Lex
     
  12. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes. I tried only Windows 8 64bit.
     
  13. BiCho

    BiCho Audiotecna- Representante

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it failed for me on ol' WinXPSP3 32-bit, too
     
  14. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I can confirm it fails in win 7 64bit, but based on my previous post, and imperia's response to it, it has nothing to do with 32/64bit, it has to do with debug library dependency

    I've created kx plugins in VS2010, and I remember it was a pain in the butt to remove redistributable dependencies. I had to install winDDK and an old MFC42 package to do so.
     
  15. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, my profx 3.12 doesn't depend on debug libraries or MFC.
    I use winddk, release build and never link to kxgui.

    I think it has to do with wrong target platform.
    IIRC, I build profx 3.12 targeted at win7, 32-bit, Fre build because TravelRec (old kX friend/forum member) asked me too.
    I guess that's why it won't work on XP and Win7 64-bit.

    I'll contact Eugene about the matter.
     
  16. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    sxstrace thinks it does

    However, sxstrace is a microsoft program, so the information in the trace may very well be misleading - dependancy walker (depends.exe) makes no reference to debug library nor to MFC at all

    Ask him when 3552 will come out and fix the issue with many of the sliders not working (removed rofl smiley because it broke)
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  17. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I think I found this particulair issue;
    Sxtrace uses info from manifest to determine side-by-side depencancies.
    The manifest I used in profx 3.12 is the wrong (debug) version.
     
  18. kosketus

    kosketus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Russ

    Thanks for responding.
    I was being dense! I've now worked-out how to get just the "ProFx312.kxl" file onto my computer, using "save link as...". (Before I was getting reams of code).
     
  19. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Windows 8 64bit.

    I just registered 3.12 over my current install.
    I am not sure if I had to uninstall(somehow) 3.11 first.
     

Share This Page

visited