New X58 System

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by IamLakota, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well finialy after a few years of hard work and much determination I have the cash and have ordered new parts for a new system,i7 cpu,new Intel X58 mobo,new ddr3 mem, the only questions I have are should I wait on new vid cards,(continue using my sli'ed G92 8800 512's) or get something better??
    Also should I get 4 gigs of mem or 8 gigs???:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: pardon me I'm just to Happy about now.
     
  2. Chaos

    Chaos Number Nine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would go with 8GB of ram and upgrade your video to either GT260 216 or 4870 1GB
     
  3. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    congrats on the new build! :)

    who's x58 board did you get?

    i say you get the 8GB of RAM though. it'll be better for you in the long run ;)
     
  4. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    i would go with 6gb ram.. considering it's not so great with 8gb or 4gb seeing as the x58 and i7 is triple channel..... (3x1gb/3x2gb/3x4gb)
     
  5. billionairebum

    billionairebum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WOW MAN here in SA it costs more than a car to get that system right now. But yeah 6 gigs of ram and 260 would be sweet
     
  6. billionairebum

    billionairebum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey could you give more detailed specs??
     
  7. GigaWatt

    GigaWatt Now In Color :D

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, in that case, why not go for 12GB or RAM (3X4GB), he is going to be using a 64bit OS anyway... ;)

    what do you think Judas...?
     
  8. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    if you can find 4gb DDR3 sticks.... sure go for it...... but it'll cost the other 2 limbs as well..
     
  9. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58

    yeah no kidding.....I think after doing all that you could have bought a nice sports car :rofl:
     
  10. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    well depends on your definition of nice and sports
     
  11. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    108
    .. and your definition of car.. :p

    but indeed a nice system you've got there. I would go for 6gb, as I imagine the 4gb sticks are pretty pricey!
     
  12. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    well the 2x(3x2gb) 6gb packages i have are about $370 each so for 12gb it's a little over $740 just for the ram

    the 2 motherboards cost me just about 900 together

    and the 2 920 cpu's cost me approx 930
     
  13. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    :lol: that's comedy right there :rofl:
     
  14. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Specs are as follows
    intel i7 920 most bang for the buck
    6gigs of ram
    3 VelociRaptors 1 standalone 2 in raid O
    X-Fi Titanium pcie ya know the little slot,..lol
    2 Nvidia GTX 260's SLI
    and the mobo I finialy went with was eVGA's X58 version
    just waiting for the mobo to come in everythimng else is sitting and waiting.
    Normaly I'd be real impatient but work has me staying real busy and I'm thankful for that.
     
  15. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sound nice. My new rig will be very similar. I am waiting though to see what new boards come out.
     
  16. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    i dunno...... i wouldve gotten an SAS equipped Foxconn or ASUS X58 board.
     
  17. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is why I want to wait and see what the next quarter brings for new boards etc..
     
  18. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Na, for the cost of the good SAS drives..... it's be nearly pointless...


    I mean seriously, if i were to get the SaS, i'd only get the one and only drive worth getting, and it's be those seagate cheetcha 15.6k (i think) that sustain essentially the maximum throughput of the SaS controller. but at nearly $1000 per drive..... i'd rather spend it on something more worthwhile. I mean you better off with multiple seagate 7200.11's in raid 0 with more space to boot. at a fractions of the cost.


    My GA-ex58-UD5 boards are amazing... but are they freaking heavy, you lift the box and you figure your lifting a power supply.... a good one....

    and even when you pull it out of the box, it's still bloody heavy.

    I guess that's what happens when you line several layers with copper.

    according to the box, 17 layers total.

    Main selling point for the gigabyte board is the onboard realtek and the other design layouts of the board, not to mention it's performance lvl.
     
  19. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    the EVGA board also has the RealTek HD audio controller as well...
     
  20. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should never buy a motherboard because of the onboard soundchip. They will never sound as good as a quality add in soundcard.

    In my opinion that would be a crime, loading a new X58 board with all new gear and actually using the onboard soundchip. Unless your going digital to a receiver or similar but still...
    There are some wicked soundcards out now and some other slated for release very soon.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2008

Share This Page

visited