Overclocking A E7300

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by RE III - Frankie, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello. I've just completed overclocking from 2.66GHz to 3.5GHz on my Core2. At standard the voltages I adjusted were VCore 1.2V, NB 1.2V and VTT 1.15V. I pushed them up to VCore 1.48V, NB 1.45V and VTT 1.3V. I want to go to 3.8GHz though. Where should I go from here, but before that do you think my numbers so far are correct? Any tips will help. Thankyou. Bye!:annoyed:
     
  2. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't have a quick answer for you Bro but you may find more help on topics like these posting in the Overclocking and Modding section where your last thread was moved ... saves the friendly Mod staff some work ;)

    http://www.driverheaven.net/overclocking-modding/
     
  3. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    thread moved,

    what is the FSB setting in your motherboard BIOS?
     
  4. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have my FSB set to 1400MHz unlinked from the Ram with the multiplier set at 10.0x. I have 3 120mm Thermaltake adjustable fans setup with one connected to the cpu heatsink. I am sure I have enough cooling, but perhaps after dwelling on it water cooling would be more sufficient to go to 3.8Ghz. Presently at 3.5GHz under load using Maximum Heat settings on Prime95 the real temp pushes towards 63c with the core temp staying under 58c.
     
  5. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    You're already on a fairly high core voltage so I would look towards remaining at 3.5GHz with maybe slightly lower voltages rather than pushing forwards. My own E7200 seems to require a lot more voltage at 3.8 than it does at 3.5-3.6GHz, so I quit while it was still safe and easily cooled. However I'm getting a new board in a couple of weeks and then it's back at it again for fun.
     
  6. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    your cooling cant take much more abuse. the 60s arent a healthy range to be at...

    you said you think you have enough cooling to reach 3.8 but can you say the type of thermal compound you are using?
     
  7. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm only using the standard white compound that came with my Cooler.:lol:
     
  8. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds good. Hope you do well!:D
     
  9. CyberpowerUK

    CyberpowerUK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using decent paste like Arctic Silver 5 or Ceramique can reduce temps by a good 5 degress compared to bog-standard pastes. Certainly I would advise that.

    Max of 70*C should be observed, and no higher if you want your chip to last.

    I would drop the VTT voltage as you shouldn't need that high with such a low FSB - I would expect 1.24-1.26VTT and a VCore or 1.45Volts with 400FSB and 9 multiplier, giving 3.6GHz and better bandwidth too. if running DDR800 you now have 1:1 frequency, generally accepted as being the best performing ratio.

    Mike
     
  10. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In most cases yes. But be carefull, don't put too much on it. That's bad!

    1.45 Vcore is rather high. I shouldn't go beyond 1.44 Vcore with 45 nm's. 65 nm can take more...

    What's the VID of your E7300?
     
  11. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At standard the Vid runs around 1.18 min to 1.21 max.
     
  12. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I will keep an eye on those temps.:D
     
  13. CyberpowerUK

    CyberpowerUK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should be fine - actual vCore will more than likely come to around 1.4Volts after vDroop is taken into account and could comfortably run at that for a long time.

    Mike
     
  14. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As you probably already know, at 4.0GHz I clocked it at VCore 1.53Volts. For stability. Anything less and it crashes. I don't know why. ummm. Maybe it's something to do with clock remanufacturing.
     
  15. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    If you're temps are pushing 60 degrees under load (or was it idle) I'd say seriously crank the OC right down again before you CPU craps out. I get paranoid when mine tops 40 let alone 60 o.o You're crazy man expect to have a melted CPU fused to your socket before long
     
  16. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's 60 -even- under load. Full screen 3D at 4GHz.:drool:
     
  17. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At 60C under full load having a Tjunc of 100C should be fine if you keep it under 70 like Mike said ;)

    I still like to see mid 50's myself though.
     
  18. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I don't keep at 4GHz at all times, just when I want to show it off a bit. So basically all I'd mainly be doing is desktop stuff. It idles at 44 degrees and desktop stuff usually only goes up to about 56 degrees.
     
  19. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good plan and try and get that voltage down a bit reading here:
    VID Voltage Range: 0.85V – 1.3625V

    The cores on my E6550 idle at 28 and 32C ... Tcase 22C. This is at 440x7 a 32 percent O/C not as high a you have but I have never had those temps on core go over 54C under extreme load(OCCT).
     
  20. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Understood. I will keeps the voltages down. I guess those spikes must be killers?
     

Share This Page

visited