Overclocking A E7300

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by RE III - Frankie, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just keep an eye on it and try and get those voltages down a bit Bro we don't want to see anything bad happen to your system ;)

    As far as voltages go they are one of the most critical items because damage doesn't always occur immediately it can accumulate over time.
     
  2. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That doesn't sound too good. I know what you mean though, sharing is caring... I will reformulate my settings to accompany your advice. Thanks.
     
  3. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No worries and keep us posted Bro ;)
     
  4. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've decided to to put overclocking aside until I can put in some more practice of it. Especially finetuning the clocks.
     
  5. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whatever you are comfortable with Bro when I started O/Cing my E6550 I started slow working my way up and getting used to the BIOS settings. Even now on this ASUS board I am taking things slow once again as it is new to me.

    Monitor temps and run stability tests as you go.
     
  6. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Arg, i thought there would be a Vmod :| :p
     
  8. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's a Vmod?
     
  9. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Voltmod.

    Friend of mine has it too. He had his E8600 clocked @ 6,x GHz. :)
     
  10. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's really cool. Is it hardware or software?
     
  11. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Generally hardware Frankie but I don't really see why he would need a volt mod for an E8600. They are generally used for older CPU's that have limitations locked into the pins for max Vcore.
     
  12. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, you need to have points where you need to read the voltage with a potmeter (= English?). And you need to go beyond 2V for the Vcore, which is difficult for most motherboards...

    I also have Vmodded my 9500GT for a Benelux contest that is happening right now :)
     
  13. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh ok I understand both my X38 mobos are fine with that voltage and the GA-X38-DQ6 can go up to 2.75V or something crazy like that lol (Potentiometer). So this is a mobo vmod then. What cooling is your friend running?

    For this thread we have Frankie running temps to hot near 1.5V on his E7300 for a 4G O/C so any help for him would be cool.

    On the 9500GT I am still looking for Vmods for GPU on my Gainward Bliss 9600GT ... it is a Palit board and doesn't follow the PCB layout of the NV reference series :bleh:
     
  14. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Asus Motherboard runs Voltages up to 1.9V. At 4.0GHz I find that anyhting less that 1.53V becomes too unstable. Of course I don't run it like that all the time! I only wanted to see if my CPU could handle running at that speed. I don't stress it too much. Basically I have a plaque on my wall now that says - "Windows Vista 32Bit - 4.0GHz". It is an awesome power and it is right to want it tamed properly.

    Overclocking GPU's I found caused them to become unstable. Probably want to look into it more before -if- I try doing that again.

    Temps for the 4GHz overclock were stable idle. Web page scrolling was different though with the core temp jumping from 44-56c per mouse click! Definitely something I do want to know more about.:rofl:
     
  15. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool on the plaque :cool:

    I think you are doing just fine and you might look more into NB voltages for a stable O/C as opposed to Vcore. Not sure what options you have in your BIOS will have to check.

    On O/Cing GPU's they can be picky but your 9800GTX+ should run fairly cool I would think.
     
  16. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    K1ngP1n F1 EE pot (LN2), but he also got a cascade cooling system. :taste:
     
  17. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How come NB? That's Mobo territory.:w00t:
     
  18. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you think my NB a bit off? I guessed that the NB had to stablise the CPU OC so stuck with that. Asside from the temps haven't had a prob.
     
  19. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NB up 0.2V
    Drop the Vcore to 1.4V

    How sweet is that I am jealous and humble enough to admit it :drool:
     
  20. RE III - Frankie

    RE III - Frankie Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I have to say that I was completely unsuccessful at loading up Windows with those voltages. I had them set at Vcore 1.4 NB 1.45 and VTT 1.3. I just could not get Windows to load at 4.0GHz. The best I could do was 3.9GHz.
     

Share This Page

visited