P4 Overclocking Results/Tips/Tricks/Complaints

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by No_Style, May 18, 2003.

  1. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh~ (how STUPID of me)

    :) ___________ :lol:
     
  2. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But, I do wish it was unlocked:D
     
  3. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Question:

    P4 2.0A are Northwoods right? So the VCore is 1.525? That's truly amazing how you got a 50% overclock with default voltage then.
     
  4. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what's the difference between a northwood and..........ya know the rest.. and what 's mine??
     
  5. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep, it's a northwood, yep it's at default voltage..
    I can run her stable at 3.2GHz but I have to bump the voltage to 1.65
    I would rather just run at 3GHz and keep her at default.
     
  6. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is that possible, such high bumps without going through the others??
     
  7. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have a northwood b chip.
     
  8. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and the difference?? how do you tell?? and which one is better??
     
  9. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Willamettes were Intel's first P4s. They actually started out in Socket 423 form. After some time, they switched over to socket 478 Willamettes. The next major revision was the introduction of the Northwood core. This core required less power to operate and was able to reach higher clock speeds and such. Willamettes were default at 1.75 V while the Northwoods were 1.525 V or 1.5 V. Northwoods run from 1.6A, 1.8A, 2.0A all the way to the current 3.0 C. So to answer your question: Your core is a Northwood.

    I believe:

    the lettering..for instance the ever so popular Northwood 2.4A, 2.4B and the new 2.4C. The letters represent the following:

    A = 400 FSB
    B = 533 FSB
    C = 800 FSB
     
  10. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya thankz.........you guys have very cool OC with your motherboard (the same actually), does that support dual-channel??
     
  11. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, for one I have a northwood A = 100MHz fsb.
    You have a northwood B = 133MHz fsb

    I can't tell you which one is better..
     
  12. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unfortunately not.

    That's the one downside of the P4PE. The new 865PE board from ASUS is like THE board. I love my P4PE~!
     
  13. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, seems to me like its time to have a change of mobo, cause you guys can run 533fsb @nearly 800
     
  14. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I was assembling...

    When I was researching parts for my rig. The prices for the P4PE and the P4S8X were roughly the same. But after doing some hardcore review searching and judging, I sacrificed the AGP 8X and went for the P4PE.
     
  15. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah the P4PE is an awsome board:cool:
     
  16. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah~, i got this P4S8X-X because of the 8x as i've a GFti42008X, but in the sense of Ocing th eP4pe is definitely better....
     
  17. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would have loved to take advantage of the 8X..

    But since the improvement was marginal at the most, it wasn't worth it. With the coming of new P4 MoBos. The P4PE should be sliding down the price ladder. It's quite affordable...actually VERY affordable for what it's capable of.
     
  18. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i prefer better Ocing than 8x, cause after getting this, only then i knew the 8Xsucks

    :lol:. :) speaking of mobos , what 's the difference between the northbridge and the south one??
     
  19. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought my P4PE refurbished from newegg.
    So, it was real cheap..
     
  20. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what does it mean when you use the word refurbished??
     

Share This Page

visited