P4 Overclocking Results/Tips/Tricks/Complaints

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by No_Style, May 18, 2003.

  1. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cause my fsb is ony at 612, a hundred and thirty six MHZ away from yours...

    by the way, what do you call your current PC"?? free_style??
     
  2. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I had my TV Tuner on..

    I'll retest it in a bit.
     
  3. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whats' a TV tuner?? you mean you're running your PC with a TV?? oh~ and i think its a problem with my PC cause there's no reason i can beat a 3.06ghz with hyper threading on and nearly reach 3.06 800fsb with HT, maybe you can.....try rebooting
     
  4. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Edited my scores.

    I had my TV Tuner program paused in the background. I turned it off and got a marginal increase. Do you have the latest Sisoftware Sandra installed?
     
  5. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup ithink so, the 3.06 ghz with HT scores 'bout 81XX and the 3.06ghz 800fsb scores 'bout 89XX, right??
     
  6. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check.

    Click WebUpdate feature and see if you have the latest. Got Sandra Sisoftware 2003 right? But there have been patches out for it.
     
  7. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup, the lastest......just tried that. how 'bout we ask don_1 'bout this and his marks and oppinions and we'll discuss this together.....
     
  8. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's my scores...
    CPU Arithmetic 6511\3983
    CPU Multimedia 12761\15800
    memory bandwidth 3009\3009
     
  9. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    shit don_1, that's impossible, you have to reboot and try that again....

    Wooww, you got good memory scores, great OC.
     
  10. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep I rebooted and it was 3010/3009 on the second boot
     
  11. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no, no, i was talking 'bout the CPU arith.... score, sorry to mislead you...
     
  12. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep I just reran cpu arithetic and got 6511\3983
     
  13. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Bad, I didn't have the latest version of sandra.
    Downloaded latest version.

    Redid the tests:
    CPU Arithmetic 8194/3954
    CPU multimedia 11920/15216
    Memory Bandwidth 2973/2968
     
  14. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmmm.......that's more like it.

    by the way, what fsb are you on again???
     
  15. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so, that's 600MHZ for your fsb
     
  17. Don_1

    Don_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, I believe it is.
     
  18. HardWired

    HardWired New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    While I didn't read every single post line for line in this thread, one thing that may help prospective buyers of P4 CPU's looking for a great overclock is to know about the multiple VID chips Intel came out with earlier this year. It is a C1 stepping and runs at a lower default voltage (1.475) than the standard P4 Northwood which is 1.525.

    Here's an old but still viable link regarding the C1 stepping multi-vids.

    Multiple VIDs Show Up With A Bang

    To sum it up, multi-vids are almost exclusively sold as OEM, not retail boxed. They're also referred to as "tray" CPU's, and the best place to buy them is at Fry's (if you live near one) or Fry's online site www.outpost.com. (look for the 2.4 and 2.53 533 FSB tray processor)

    Right off the bat with no extensive tweaking other than boosting the FSB and slight vcore bumping, many are able to get these well up past 3.2, 3.3GHz and beyond.

    Hope this helps some of you considering a P4 upgrade.

    A 2.53b multi-vid and the Radeon 9800 Pro got me the avatar you see to the left...for the short while it'll take for someone to boot me aside ;)
     

Share This Page

visited