Post your HDTach 3 Results!

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Judas, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you put the "burst" speed in layman's terms for me Panging? I have read a bit about it but am not really sure I understand what it means...
     
  2. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,537
    Likes Received:
    926
    Trophy Points:
    138
    burst speeds are essentially this:

    The cache present on the hardrives provides a fast access, if enough information is loaded to burst, it will. Burst speeds are usually what's measured for the maximum amount of data that can be transferred back and forth initially.

    But it's pretty limiting, you can hit insane burst speeds of 1000-2000-5000+ MB/S ... but they don't ammount to much considering they are just a small burst of a small amount of information, imo it's pretty insignificant. Theres more concern for random access and overall read/write speeds then burst.....
     
  3. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for that Judas. Thought we lost you, serious about the West Nile? Sure hope not!
     
  4. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,537
    Likes Received:
    926
    Trophy Points:
    138
    not sure....

    i was gradually getting worse from about end of june/start of july....

    then come the 9th i was seriously losing my ability to do anything, muscles just happened to fall apart, headaches, etc and so forth to the point i couldn't even stand up, and only yesterday have i gradually started to feel better, i had to close shop up for those days though, i probably shouldn't even be a work today... but the more i think about it, the more it sounds like west nile.
     
  5. xerkon

    xerkon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahhhhhrrrggghhhhh! how do I delete this post? am I just blind or something? i went into edit but I can't find delete anywhere. I'm new to this forum, sorry. :duh:
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2008
  6. xerkon

    xerkon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, everyone. I have what I think is a weird HD Tach result and I was wondering if anyone could help me understand it
    [​IMG]

    Two 150 GB Raptors in Raid 0 on an nforce4 raid controller, XP SP2. I don't understand why it's basically flat with weird spikes. It almost looks as if the read is being limited by something, but then why does it go up occasionally?

    Any ideas?
     
  7. zaim

    zaim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I woulda expected a lil faster than that with 2x 150 raptors
     
  8. Ultrasonic2

    Ultrasonic2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Carrying on from this post i wrote 2 years ago

    http://www.driverheaven.net/benching/103179-post-your-hdtach-3-results-4.html#post970836

    I've got a new rig
    MBM is a P5Q with the "R" south bridge . I now have 6 disk in raid 5
    the strip size is set to 64kb

    im disappointed with the pc mark 05 score
    Suite: HDD Test Suite
    Test set: HDD - XP Startup
    HDD - XP Startup: 11.726002MB/s
    Test set: HDD - Application Loading
    HDD - Application Loading: 5.225879MB/s
    Test set: HDD - General Usage
    HDD - General Usage: 5.529953MB/s
    Test set: HDD - Virus Scan
    HDD - Virus Scan: 61.261604MB/s
    Test set: HDD - File Write
    HDD - File Write: 8.997587MB/s
    Total score 3399

    the inbuilt vista test thing only rated my HD performance 0.2 hire than the PC i have with only one 40g gb disk .

    However the HD tach score is much improved
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Ultrasonic2

    Ultrasonic2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    120mb is the PCI bus limitation . i've been stuck at that in the past
     
  10. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,537
    Likes Received:
    926
    Trophy Points:
    138
    nice results ultra....

    what hardrives you using again?

    btw xerkon.

    your nforce 4 raid results are fairly accurate.. your sevearly limited by your motherboard chipset itself..

    in some cases i ended up with complete corruption using the nforce raid controller..... be cautious about it though.
     
  11. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Here's mine for my single WD drive. I have it in four partitions, a 390G partition for Vista, a 97 gig partition for Ubuntu, a 4Gig partition that Ubuntu made also, and a 105 gig partition that contains the image of the Vista partition.

    [​IMG]
    Shot at 2008-08-02
     
  12. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]
    My 3 WD6400AAKS' in RAID5 on a Dell Perc 5/i (flashed to LSI 8480E) w/ 256mb cache. Not the best, but good enough for an HTPC.
     
  13. caveman-jim

    caveman-jim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's my Intel ICH9R setup, 6 7200.9's (4x300gb, 2x250gb) in Raid5.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    INTEL ICH9R

    2 x Seagate 7200.10 320GB w/ 160GB and 480GB partitions made in the Intel Matrix storage bios (seen as 2 drives in windows)

    160 GB
    [​IMG]

    and HD Tune for good measure
    [​IMG]

    480 GB partition
    [​IMG]

    and HD Tune again
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2008
  15. caveman-jim

    caveman-jim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gotta love the 7200.11! edit :p 7200.10's are nice too :lol:
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2008
  16. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    lol, was just think'n another 7200.11 would be nice :duh::rofl:

    :ppost edited above:
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2008
  17. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only 2 drives so far, and on ICH10R. Have yet to test the Perc 5/i or the ARC-1220.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    and an ATTO bench to show the write speeds
     
  18. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no one cares or reads, but i'll post anyways :D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  19. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    bs. that is wicked. nice how performance doubled when u added 2 more drives. i seen quite a performance jump with my 1st ever raid setup earlier this year. makes all single hdd just feel laggy.

    how do these new flash drives do in the power department? do they consume alot more than an old skool mechanical/platter drive?
     
  20. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They once started to scale when I threw them on a good controller. With onboard the 4 drives didn't perform worth a damn. AFAIK they drives consume considerably less power. There was an article a while back stating otherwise, but they later corrected themselves.
     

Share This Page

visited