Project: SR-2 STACKER

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by coolmister, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I guess it might be able to under regular gaming, when the graphics cards aren't drawing their theoretical maximum and not all the CPU cores are loaded, but anything that fully stresses that system will surely be too much. 4 GTX480s in Furmark will break 1200W on their own.

    In that system, with the power hungry motherboard, cooling and CPUs, a 1200W PSU might not even sustain 3 480s.

    On the other hand, perhaps that PSU is capable of delivering beyond its advertised peak. You could look at mounting a 5.25" bay secondary PSU somewhere, which could power all but the PCI-E slot demands of the 480s. That'd leave you with about 750W being demanded of the 1200W PSU by the graphics cards, leaving 450W for the rest of the system, which might be enough depending on your overclocks.
     
  2. Dybdal

    Dybdal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WOW!! Im speechless!:D
     
  3. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    108
    not really sure about the routing of the tubes, but it has been mentioned before.

    One of the cpu's will be hotter than the other one as its pre-warmed water.
    keeping the cpu's in a seperate loop would probably be better.
    But as this is just for show, I guess the routing you did now looks better than the other.
     
  4. coolmister

    coolmister New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn’t work like that Neshi though i can see how you might think it would as its one of the greatest if no the greatest misconceptions of watercooling.

    Liquid doesn’t go through one block, heat up then go through another and heat up some more and so on heating up until it reaches the radiator and cools down.

    In fact the temperature difference between inlet and outlet of the radiator is so little its practically immeasurable.

    The liquid flow is constant throughout the entire loop and heat is constantly being dumped into the liquid which is constantly being dissipated in to the air by the radiator so basically after half an hour or so a watercooled system reaches its equilibrium and the water running through the loop is pretty much at a constant temperature throughout.

    This is why on a watercooled loop you see a very slow increase in temperature if you stressed it out for ten minutes or so compared to an aircooled machine which you’ll see the temperature jump up immediately you stress it and jump back down at idle.


    @ blibbax - thanks very much for the link.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  5. mcdragon2

    mcdragon2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might be running to much heat with all 4 video cards on one loop like it seems you have them set up but idk much about watercooling or how hot those cards run and I think Neshi is assuming that its running through cpu1 and directly into cpu 2 which would in fact make cpu 2 hotter than cpu 1. but with enough flow this would be very slight
     
  6. Takaharu

    Takaharu Unus offa, unus iuguolo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    324
    Trophy Points:
    108
    4 480s? Cheapskate :lol:
     
  7. coolmister

    coolmister New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, i couldn't resist but don't they look nice with Carbon Bitspower connectors :duh:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    108
    makes sense. Should have thought of that.
    I have never used watercooling myself, but with a bit of thinking it would become the only logical conclusion.
    thanks for clearing it up!
    great system btw.
     
  9. mcdragon2

    mcdragon2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bet those are interesting to put in all at once
     
  10. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58

    oh, don't mind us... :drool::drool::drool:
     
  11. synthesis204

    synthesis204 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh dear god. 4 X GTX 480's watercooled with...gah. It's amazing and impressive. Make sure to get people's reaction at CeBit! Looks amazing mate :)

    Also, I would recommend getting the 1500W Silverstone. It's the largest PSU I know is sold in retail stores (aka NCIX/NewEgg/Amazon). There may be some bigger ones out there, but you may have to get a secondary PSU, as mentioned above.

    Link:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256054

    Edit: Managed to find a 1600W. Never heard of the company.

    Likewise, I think if you ever managed to draw the full 1600, you would blow something.

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...ffiliateID=X3Th4gZi_iQ-..De9_CWzSLIfn.jL9rQEA
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2011
  12. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    963
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Eventually you will just overload any 20 amp wall outlet anyways....... Cool!

    Let us know what color the smoke is ;)
     
  13. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I'm not sure I'd want to bench that system with one PSU and one wall outlet even if it was 1600W :p
     
  14. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    963
    Trophy Points:
    138
    He could build a matching bottom box with 4 PSUs in it........ ;)
     
  15. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    And hook it straight up to the national grid :p
     
  16. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Bringing down the national grid like that seems a bit selfish. Best to buy a decommissioned nucleur sub, and run some extension cables from that.
     
  17. synthesis204

    synthesis204 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    0

    That could actually be really interesting. Get two 1000W's or something. Would be fun to see :)

    And why do that? Pretty sure he has a nuclear reactor somewhere closeby.
     
  18. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    963
    Trophy Points:
    138
    It would be a good additional build for something like this...... could even add a redundant supply for a real power hog.....

    No extension power cords allowed! They would melt :evil:
     
  19. synthesis204

    synthesis204 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think a power strip would blow up.

    Be an interesting way to kill someone, though. Have them start up at 2000W computer and die via explosion.
     
  20. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    963
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I run 1800watts + through my Tripp Lite rackmount....... Of course, it's made for that......


    Forgot to mention I've got 4 of them. My house IS NOT made for that. :evil:
     

Share This Page

visited