Radeon Omega Drivers 2.4.96c for Win2k/XP

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Omegadrive, Nov 8, 2003.

  1. zapper

    zapper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: opengl texture quality


    Yea, I noticed that too when playing COD, I would get really bad textures with the shell shock, I moved the bar to max and all is fine now
     
  2. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,295
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Re: opengl texture quality

    I've noticed this with many, many Cat and Omega releases. I always just check the settings after install. No biggie.
     
  3. Trilogy

    Trilogy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh my god, these drivers are brilliant! I had some problems with 3.9 VPU recovery but they are gone with these drivers. I got my Operation Flashpoint work again with ATi. I got it run once on 3.6 omegas but later on it didn't run anymore and now it works flawlessly. Silent Storm, COD Demo #2 and Max Payne 2 worked well too. I really admire your work, please keep doing these great driver releases :)
     
  4. ZzzombieBunny

    ZzzombieBunny Cake or Death?

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Re: opengl texture quality

    I think Omega mentioned that the difference in quality is near minimal between High and High Quality. But the performance gain is noticeable... I personally dont see any difference between the High and High Quality setting, except somewhat slower performance... so I run with the High setting. Anyone feel like taking a few comparison screenshots?
     
  5. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Re: Re: opengl texture quality

    yeah, me too, is not that big difference (if any) in quality, but good for performance ^^
     
  6. uNkn0wN

    uNkn0wN New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do i close/uninstall/deactivate this configurator (resolution...) with the omega logo in my systray???
     
  7. Al_Vampyre

    Al_Vampyre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    There is a disable ATI systray icon in the options (under General I think) that will remove it m8
     
  8. ree

    ree New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some issue want to share after installing Omega Driver

    I have a minor problem after installing the Omega. After some reboot on PC, my explorer use up more
    CPU resources, sometimes up to 99%. And another problem is once i swith on my TV tuner in PC, the overlay screen on the TV program will be black out after overlap by menu. Overlay screen no longer stay
    on top of any other program. This is important because I always multitaking, I switch on the TV meanwhile doing other things such as online simultaneously.
    I manage to solved above problems by running "Driver Cleaner" and reinstall the Omega Driver. Final advice, please don't overlap the driver installation, completely uninstall the previous driver by using Driver Cleaner. This should solve most of the problem:D
     
  9. wolfran

    wolfran New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Question??

    So why did Omega decide to disable the O/Cing in his profiler??
    It's kinda very useful for someone who like to o/c the card depending on the apps.
    Can he make it to work in the future release??

    Thanks man
    Your driver rocks as usual.
     
  10. Chaos

    Chaos Number Nine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the 3D profiler is a 3rd part application that he just bundles with his drivers.... You can still OC your card with RadClocker
     
  11. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and he disabled it cauze there some problems with it ^^'
     
  12. thomasabarnes

    thomasabarnes Long Time ***** Friend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Uninstall of Omega Drivers and Control panel

    Hi all:

    I tried the Radeon Omega Drivers 2.4.96c for Win2k/XP, but unfortunately the Catylist 3.4 driver works best for me and the game I like to play most (Comanche 4) using my Radeon 8500 64 MB card.

    So I uninstalled the Omega driver, but the clock rate tab on the control panel keeps coming back when I reinstalled the 3.4 driver and control panel. Can someone tell me how to completely uninstall the Omega driver and control panel stuff?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Sincerely, thomasabarnes@sbcglobal.net
     
  13. boby

    boby New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u must uninstal omega drivers and all utilities that comes with these drivers
     
  14. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow, just tried a little further, and after time and time of my PC freezing with some DX9 games, this drivers solved that problem, AT LEAST =D I thought I was going to stay with 3.4 for longer time :p ohh it also recognize only one monitor instead of two when I have only one connected, its cool ^^ not mentioning that I never liked the 3.8 CP so much, great great work Omega, keep it going ^^ yeah yeah, I know, little late for comments, but I've been busy lately :p
     
  15. Stim

    Stim New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've installed new Omega's drivers based on Catalyst 3.9 and experienced graphics problem with missed polygons in Once Upon a Knight game in Shader game mode. In T&L game mode everything is OK.
    Somebody told me that Catalyst 3.7 dont have such bug, but I'd like to use 3.9 based drivers...
    Any suggestions for that?
     
  16. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do u need any of the bug fixes of 3.9? if not u can always get back to 3.8 or somethen
     
  17. judasith

    judasith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SmartGart?

    Hi to all,

    I have a laptop with a Mobility Radeon 9000 64mb ram.

    Set aside the problem with "INF error" during the installation, which I went round installing via Device Manager, I found another strange problem: I don't have the "SMARTGART" tab in the configuration, which I had with Omega 2.4.96b... why? It is because I could not install in the conventional way or because Smartgart is not inlcuded in this Omega Drivers version?

    I'd really like to disable Fast Writes, and I can't do it via MB BIOS, since it doesn't have ANY options on my laptop :(

    Overall the drivers are very good, but I'll wait eagerly for the new, fixed version, since the previous ones gave absolutely NO problem and worked flawlessly :)

    Bye...
     
  18. daos

    daos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    omega PWNZ ALL.
     
  19. infexious1

    infexious1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys, I'm having the same problem as judasith, Mobility Radeon 9000 - gives me an INF error, is there going to be a fix for this small prob?

    Cheers - keep up the good work ;)
     
  20. USMC Gomer Pyle

    USMC Gomer Pyle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Question on new Drivers......

    Hello this is my first time here and my first time using the Omega Drivers.
    I have a Radeon 9000pro and just downloaded and installed the Omega Drivers, your newest ones. I play Battlefield 1942 with the Desert Combat mod and when I use the drivers I get small Triangles that appear in the terrain, but they seem to disappear after a while. Before I was using the 3.1 Drivers from ATI (normal drivers) and it did not do this. I have not tried all the maps so I can't say if it will continue to be a problem. If anyone here plays the same game and if you know of any setting that I can change that might stop this from happening please let me know? Any reply is most welcome and if this is not the right place to ask please point me in the right direction. Also the only thing I have changed after installing the drivers is I turned off the fast write as per your instructions. Here are my computer specs in case you need them Thanks.

    Comp Spec:
    DRAGON FULL-TOWER CASE
    ASUS P4T533-C RDRAM MOTHERBOARD
    INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.06GHZ 512K L2 CACHE 533MHZ FSB
    512MB RDRAM PC1066
    WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 8MB CACHE HD
    ATI RADEON 9000 PRO 64MB DDR
    16X DVD-ROM
    SOUNDBLASTER AUDIGY W/1394
    INTEL PRO/1000 MT GIGABIT DESKTOP ADAPTER
    1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE BLACK
    LITE-ON 52/24/52 CD-RW BLACK
    MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
    MICROSOFT BLACK INTELLIMOUSE EXPLORER USB
    KOOLMAXX COOLING SYSTEM
    400 WATT POWER SUPPLY
     

Share This Page

visited