Randomness Resurected

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by dj_stick, Dec 12, 2004.

  1. dawgXdenta

    dawgXdenta New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I second that
     
    Jason English likes this.
  2. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Third!
     
  3. Cow_160483

    Cow_160483 HH's only cow moooooo...

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Thanks guys here is to hoping that everything works out.. as for the insurance they probably will pay for the repairs but whats really annoying is that in the mean time I have got no car and public transport really sucks.
     
  4. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,522
    Likes Received:
    1,751
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Some $15,000 - $40,000 workstations:



    Nice specs. :D Also, I actually quite like the case of the IBM model (the first machine in the video).
     
  5. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    so, this is what ive been working on for the weekend. im going to start breaking it down later this week, i hope.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Is that your factory engine/tranny?
     
  7. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    ya, it is. only thing not factory their is the shifter and linkages. oh, and the valve covers.
     
  8. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    138
    So it's a "numbers matching" car?
     
  9. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    for the main components, mostly. im missing the correct carb, and a few other numbered parts. everything else though... its taken from several different cars.
     
  10. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Engine and tranny numbers are the big deal...... the guys that demand ALL numbers match apparently never plan to actually drive the car.
     
  11. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    ya. i honestly couldnt care less about the numbers matching on anything.
     
  12. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Unless you grenade the block or something stupid (I doubt you would, just sayin') I wouldn't put a different engine in it if it were mine..... I'm not a big "numbers match" guy either, but having the original engine is cool...... even if it were modified somewhat (cam, intake, etc.)
     
  13. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I've been data logging a Trifecta tune I did to the HHR the last few days..... Hot rodding via computer. Seems weird for an old wrench turner...... :D
     
  14. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Okay.... now I feel like a dumba$$....... I've got an RMA request into ECS for a motherboard, it's "pending" but tech says it's a bad board after haveing me try several things and hearing what it's doing/not doing.


    I buy a replacement board of a different brand, because I'm not all that impressed with the ECS. (got an ASUS, it's a better board) Today I build the system.... no boot. :confused:











    I have a bad stick of RAM. :wtf: :annoyed:
     
  15. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    eh, could have been worse.

    i spent 40 mins trying to figure out why my new system wouldnt boot, after assembling it for the first time. i left the 4 pin cpu plug unplugged.
     
  16. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,522
    Likes Received:
    1,751
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I spent days troubleshooting a new build which would boot fine 50% of the time (and work normally) and freeze after POST the rest of the time. I tried Memtest, unplugging all unnecessary hardware, switching to on-board graphics, updating BIOS... nothing! I was at my wit's end. It turned out that all I had to do was clear CMOS (I thought BIOS update took care of that).

    On a different note, I played a text based adventure (RPG?) for the first time in my life. It's a mini-game inserted into Defense Grid in a recent update and it unlocks a new couple of (free) maps (although I think that the today's patch unlocked one or both of them anyway). Of course, I tried one of those maps as well and found it both fun and challenging after not playing the game since mid November. Defense Grid has to have the best value for money I ever got out of a game purchase. :)
     
  17. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    138
    The ECS wouldn't do anything but flash the power on LED...... Vary rarely after being "on" for several hours (at ECS tech request) it would try to post and get no further than "Press F1 to go into setup" , once I got into the BIOS and it locked. Wouldn't even reset by the switch.

    Never did think about the RAM being bad.
     
  18. Cow_160483

    Cow_160483 HH's only cow moooooo...

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Trophy Points:
    123
    My new LED screens DVI board (whatever that is) is fried... its probably a manufacturers fault since all my PC things are connected via a UPS...
     
  19. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cleaned out flood damaged bits today from work... they were on the second story.
     
  20. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,522
    Likes Received:
    1,751
    Trophy Points:
    138
    2nd story? Did you have a Tsunami or something?! :wtf:
     

Share This Page

visited