RX 590 - New Purchase and Some Benchmarks

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Dyre Straits, Feb 3, 2019.

  1. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids and 1 Great-grandson!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18,849
    Likes Received:
    1,755
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Benchmark results using 3D Mark Time Spy:

    Previous Score using R9 390 8gb card: 3908

    Tonight's Score using RX 590 8gb card: 4698

    However, the new card apparently doesn't like my DP->HDMI 4K Adapter. The screen it was connected to kept going from a full blue screen back to the desktop every few seconds. I changed it out with one of the previous non-4K adapters and it's working fine. Although, since the 4K screen is also used for my console playing at 4K...which the consoles support...when I change back to the PC desktop, I'm having to turn off the screen and back on for it to resolve the resolution out of range black screen. Going to Micro Center today to pick up a new 4K supported adapter.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
    Calliers likes this.
  2. Calliers

    Calliers HH's MC Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    43,320
    Likes Received:
    2,845
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Nice. You should update your specs on your profile page though. ;)
     
  3. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,387
    Likes Received:
    888
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Why are you using an adapter? Why not directly plug the HDMI into the RX 590's HDMI port? Since the launch of the RX 400 series and vega cards, HDMI 2.0b have been fully supported.
     
  4. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids and 1 Great-grandson!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18,849
    Likes Received:
    1,755
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The short answer: I had to do some quick connections since my brother is leaving to go home and I needed to make sure this new purchase is working reasonably well. I also have adapters from previous cards on hand.

    The LONG answer: In order to get behind all the screens I have here is going to take more effort than I have time to put into it before he leaves.

    Essentially, at the moment, everything is working well. I even removed the 40 HDTV from the Intel port and added it to the RX. So, all five screens are working from the RX now. Will do more management when I have more time.
     
  5. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids and 1 Great-grandson!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18,849
    Likes Received:
    1,755
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Done! But, don't you know that Windows 10 has been out for a few years now? ;)
     
  6. Calliers

    Calliers HH's MC Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    43,320
    Likes Received:
    2,845
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Unfortunately that is above my pay grade. :p

    Edit: btw you haven't updated your specs yet.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  7. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,317
    Likes Received:
    1,583
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I like how your long answer is even shorter than your short answer. Like "STFU, this is how I roll!" Joking about the latter sentence, of course. :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    Calliers and Dyre Straits like this.

Share This Page

visited