Should i overclock?

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by PhreakyWar, Apr 12, 2013.

1. PhreakyWar

PhreakyWar New Member

Well i can't decide... i will be running an i7 3770k on a ThermalTake Frio OCK
    But i read That overclocking reduces the lifespan of the product by a HUGE amount...
    i am still a student and i won't have any money to replace.

What is the lifespan of OCed products compared to stock products

How much of an advantage would i get if i OCed?

this is my first build and i have no experience.

So, what should i do? :confused:

EDIT: i will use it mainly for Adobe AfterEffect,3ds Max and Gaming

Another EDIT : The Specs i will get:

CPU: Intel Core i7 3770k
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 670 FTW Sig 2
    MotherBoard: Gigabyte G.1 Sniper 3
    PSU: don't know please advise

I will be using a single monitor at 1920x1080

Last edited: Apr 12, 2013
  2. Judas

Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

Depends on how well you keep it cooled.. and high the voltage ends up going..

I've actually got some products that are still working today that were overclocked substantially...

Lifespan can be a thing to be concerned... but proper cooling is the ticket and keeping voltages under control.

People that try and push things to the outside extremes generally I find sometimes have a lot shorter life.. but a minimal boost usually doesn't hurt anything.

My 3770k with a evo 212 cooler is running 4.1ghz and sticking to the 60-65*C mark under full load for days on end.. actually it hasn't been shut down for any length of time since about july 1st of 2012. So it's 9 months running at 4.1ghz nonstop.

Some push their overclocks right up into the danger zones of 90*C or higher... these seem to really put the stress on the cpu badly...

In the end it's up to you... And how far you go. For your use, you'd probably see a nice improvement with only a say bump to 4ghz without touching anything else.

oh and one last rule of thumb