The Old Junk for recording rig thread !!

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Mac Daddy, May 13, 2009.

  1. Cow_160483

    Cow_160483 HH's only cow moooooo...

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,465
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Wow this thread is sooo cool seeing how old systems where back in the day, it has inspired me to dig around for some old parts and put them together :)
     
  2. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go for it .... it's fun :)
     
  3. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,263
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Okay............ This thing is seriously LOUD......... :eek:

    Mitsubishi M-A4200 Stereo Power Amp, $10.00 at Goodwill. :cool:


    And yes, before anybody complains, it is connected to a computer, I've got a new amp for the basement recording room............... Too damn loud for upstairs.


    Beyond loud the clarity is just sweet. Audigy Platinum output through my Alesis Mixer straight into 100watts per channel. :drool: It's a straight up power amp, doesn't even have a volume control. For speakers I've been running a reloaded and modified pair of Optimus 1000..... 15"woofers, 6" Mids, and Peavey horns (Motorola)

    Cosmeticly.... I really don't care, it's scratched up quite a bit. Functionally 100% 100 clean watts per side

    I'm diggin it!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice :)

    I found an old pic of the volt mod on the Cele rig I decided to do this on the mobo as opposed to the CPU itself. Sorry for the blurry pic but this gave me 1.65V. And a southbridge cooler ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Now that's a chunk of aluminum :)
     
  6. GigaWatt

    GigaWatt Now In Color :D

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think those kind of amps are called "slave amplifiers", cuz they don't have any controls on them (they need a preamp or a mixer to control them)... but hey, if you dig the sound, then heck, go with it... ;)

    judging from the pic, it looks like it's loud, how much did you pay for that thing...? LOL :D
     
  7. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,263
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    138
  8. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :eek:

    Wow what a deal Ty !!
     
  9. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,263
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Well............. I lied. It was $9.99.......... :rolleyes:


    Shoot me. :rofl:
     
  10. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. GigaWatt

    GigaWatt Now In Color :D

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hahahha :D... an amp like that fro 10 bucks... where is that audio garden of eden... :drool:
     
  12. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,263
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Goodwill............. it's a donation store, mostly cloths and some furniture etc..... Sometimes a prize is found. :)
     
  13. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    That place is awesome! I actually got a couple 17" viewable CRTs from a Goodwill for $5 a piece :D some time ago when CRTs were still actually worth more than that :rofl:
     
  14. GigaWatt

    GigaWatt Now In Color :D

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, if you ask me, they still worth more than that... i use a 17" CRT (still fixing the other one LOL :D) and i wouldn't change it for the world... ;)
     
  15. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,263
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I'm working at a flatscreen 17" CRT right now.... Goodwill find for $4.99..... Brilliant picture and I doubt it was used at all before I got it, sure looked new anyways. I love CRT except when recording guitar.... they make one hell of a racket through the pickups, so I use both types.
     
  16. GigaWatt

    GigaWatt Now In Color :D

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i know i had the same problem recording the guitars... :S... i just distanced the guitar processor and the guitar itself from the CRT as far as i can... ;)
     
  17. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,263
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    138
    There's always one spot in the room, IF you face a certain direction (this direction varies) where it's perfectly silent......... but thats nowhere near where you need to be. :D

    The CRT noise shouldn't effect the processor unless it's not in a metal casing. Mine tend to be in the rack except for my RP20 which is a floor unit. The noise is coming through the pickups for the most part.
     
  18. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    See I can't do the CRT's. I probably used ten different ones for my rig through the years and they end up giving me splitting headaches before im done with a days worth of gaming. So I just stick with all LCDs. They even got me a set of 2 19" Samsungs for work (oh how nice they are in the government :rofl:) since I couldn't handle the set of 17" Dell CRTs that I was working with :(
     
  19. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,263
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Some people do get headaches from CRT's, I don't but I'm also not looking at moving graphics, ie games, or staring at "spreadsheets" all day. I've a habit of looking away from the screen quite a bit and re focusing my eyes on something else in the room.... that helps a lot.

    As I've said, I have a mix here of LCD and CRT.... my bottom line is working and cheap (or free) because most of my systems have dual monitors...... More CRT's fit those two criteria. Typically if an LCD is cheap or free, it ain't working. ;)
     
  20. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly ;)
     

Share This Page

visited