Two Soundblaster Live! 5.1 in one PC

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DocMarten, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. DocMarten

    DocMarten New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi there :)

    I'm planning to put another Live 5.1-Card into my PC... do I have to take care of any hardware issues if the two cards aren't of the same revision?

    Thanks in advance,

    Toby
     
  2. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,398
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    138
    You shouldn't, but what are you planning with two live cards?
     
  3. peate

    peate Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If it's for recording, you need to chain the cards together using a digital CD cable or something similar, find the digital output pins on one card and send the signal to your other card. Then one card will appear as a digital source on the other card, then they will play in synch. Otherwise the timing drifts and mutli-track recording becomes impossible.

    If you just want to play different audio sources into separate cards, it wont matter if they're not synched together.

    There are a lot of threads on the subject in this Forum, just search and you'll find information like the pins to use and such. But yeah kX can handle two cards and more, Audigys and Lives together no problem. They appear as separate devices.
     
  4. DocMarten

    DocMarten New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First of all, thanks for your replies :)

    I don't need it for recording but for more audio sources for my internet radio...

    Best regards, Toby
     
  5. Doug W

    Doug W New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. peate

    peate Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    28
    That's the link I was searching for as a guide for the op, thanks Doug W.
     
  7. DocMarten

    DocMarten New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks a lot for your replies, but now I have another problem: About every 2-3 minutes playback "hangs" on both soundcards - even on my first, which actually worked well all the time...
    Another issue is, that I'm not able to get any newer driver than 3537 to work with the cards in my computer...
    I will now try to change the PCI-Ports in hope to get rid of that "hanging"... or does anyone else have another idea how to get things fixed?

    Thanks in advance,
    Doc
     
  8. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,398
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    138
    What OS and which cards are you using? Also a little detail on how you have these hooked up.
     
  9. DocMarten

    DocMarten New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both are the same Cards with identical Revisions:

    Soundblaster Live! 5.1 (0060) on Windows XP SP1 and an Asrock K7S8XE+ Mainboard with 2 GB RAM.
    As I said, any newer driver can't be installed...
    I tried now to change the PCI-Slots, but instead I crashed my whole system :x
     
  10. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,398
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I'm wondering if it's because the cards are identical...... Or maybe the SP1


    I'm running two cards in several systems, all running XP SP3, without any issues..... but they are different cards. I'm able to run 3550, the latest version, and had run earlier versions as well.
     
  11. DocMarten

    DocMarten New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also solved, seemed to be a IRQ-sharing problem... just changed PCI-Slots and resinstalled... and everything is fine :) Thanks to you anyway Tyrsonswood!
     
  12. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,398
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Glad you got it sorted.
     

Share This Page

visited