UAA HD audio bus driver for 32-bit

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by tarninc, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. tarninc

    tarninc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys please help me out! I'v trying to find the UAA HD audio bus driver for a 32-bit comp but can't seem to find it anywhere.

    if you know where i can download it please tell me.

    Thanks
     
  2. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,304
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    123
    First up, welcome to the forums!

    The easiest way to get a hold of the driver is to download Realteks HD audio drivers, which you can get HERE. These are Realteks generic HD drivers for their chip. As part of the package Realtek includes the Microsoft UAA driver. J

    ust extract the drivers manually (WinRAR works best for the exe file), and inside you should see a folder called "MSHDQFE". Within that folder you will see 2 more folders: 1 for Windows 2003, the other for Win2k/XP. Now, here's where it gets tricky. There are 2 XP files further in: one for SP1, and one for SP2. Just pick the one that suits your OS, and in the case of XP, the Service Pack version, and you should be good to go.

    Hope that helps you out. :)
     
  3. tarninc

    tarninc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahh still no sound! I installed XP pro the other day, not my computer won't play music or and sounds? I've tried fixing it but had no luck, anyone know what the prob would be?
     
  4. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,304
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    123
    One thing with installing the Microsoft HD driver is that this will not give you audio. It's just one piece of the overall software needed in order to get the audio to work. Normally you would install the UAA driver, and then the subsequent drivers. In the case of the Realtek drivers you need the UAA driver to be installed before you install their actual drivers (which is why they include the UAA driver as part of the package). Same thing can be said for other software sound cards and other devices (such as software modems).

    Here's what I mean: Just recently I purchased a laptop from Quanta directly (part of an Intel deal), and they were using software audio and modem on it. In order to get that to work I first had to install the UAA driver. Right after rebooting Windows immediately recognized that there were new sound and modem devices, and I had to install the rest of the drivers for each of those for them to work.

    Tarninc, can you post what motherboard or laptop you are using? It'd make things easier for us to find out the exact driver you need... or at least a compatible one.
     
  6. tarninc

    tarninc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,304
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Thanks, tarninc. That helps greatly.

    Going by the specs on that site you have a Realtek AC'97 audio chip (based on the ALC658C chip). You can get the official Realtek drivers from their site HERE.

    One thing of note: according to that sites specs you have Realtek AC97, however the list for their drivers mentions it being the Realtek HD chip. Kinda strange if you ask me. Bearing that in mind, IF the above drivers don't work for you then I would suggest trying the drivers that I link in my first post that had the UAA driver since they are the Realtek HD drivers. However, IF the specs are right, then the drivers I just linked to above should do the trick.

    Either way, let us know if that works out for ya. :)
     
  8. tarninc

    tarninc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tipstaff thank you very much! Sounds are working now! Now all i need to do is find 2 more drives and i'm set!
     
  9. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,304
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    123
    No problem, Tarninc. Glad it worked out for ya. ;)
     
  10. Methoss

    Methoss New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. vrashal

    vrashal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any one here could please mail me the audio driver or the link for hp compaq presario m2000 i am desprately in need of that my mail address is email removed to prevent use by spammers
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2007
  12. jrenick1

    jrenick1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. brunowas

    brunowas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    uaa driver

    Hi i am new here founded in google this topic and just registered.

    I am experiencing the same problem. I bought a new computer with vista business but due to some problems changed to xp. But i could not install my audio driver because it appears the message that the HDA audio driver could not be found.
    I think it is the same problem. My computer is a u200 toshiba laptop, 1,66GHz and 2048MB, 128MB onboard graphic card.
     
  14. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,304
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    123
    First up, welcome!

    The Toshiba U200 series uses what's called an ADI HD Audio chip, and thankfully Toshiba made 2 lines of that laptop: one with Vista, and one with XP. However, I think the XP version was only available in the US.

    In any case, head right HERE. I've set the filters on this page to show only the XP drivers for that particular series in case you need any of the other drivers, and HERE is the specific page for the XP audio driver.
     
  15. lizjerry01

    lizjerry01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey i downloaded the uaa hd bus drive the hp website.
     
  16. J9Jonas

    J9Jonas New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, Tipstaff, help!
    I'm having the same problem!
    Also, mine is a Compaq Presario R3000 Laptop/Notebook PC
    I can't get the info by myself
    Please, help...
    I'm dying without different music!

    :confused::confused::confused:
     
  17. J9Jonas

    J9Jonas New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :uhoh:
    I need your help, too!
    Mine is a Compaq Presario R3000 Laptop/Notebook PC
    Can't get the specifications by myself, that's why
    Kind of an ignorant
    BTW, help!
    I'm dying without different music and sound!
    :(
     
  18. J9Jonas

    J9Jonas New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installing SoundMAX Audio Problem

    I was ready to install SoundMAX Audio Driver on my PC
    Then it said, "Driver not found! Reboot, and run this setup again."
    Any help?
    Please...
     
  19. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,304
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    123
    From what I remember that series doesn't use the HD chip, but rather the older AC'97 chip (if memory serves it's the ADI SoundMax 1981B).

    Can you tell me exactly which R3000 notebook it is? There are so many in that series. If you take a look at the bottom of your laptop it will tell you exactly what R3000 notebook it is.

    In the meantime you can take a look at THIS page. It's a list of all the R3000 series notebooks. Just pick the exact model you have, go step by step through the pages, and you will find the drivers you need for it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  20. LEON_EL

    LEON_EL New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :/ Same Problem...

    Mobo :Asus P5E
    During Drivers instalation :
    "The HDA Audio bus driver is required and not found"

    My guess is kb888111 missing.....

    Problem:
    when installing kb888111.exe :
    "Setup has detected that the Service Pack verion of this system is newer than the update you are applying...
    There is no need to install this update"

    Windows XP Pro SP3 v3264

    F1 F1 F1 F1 F1 F1
    THX
     

Share This Page

visited