Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Trusteft, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    curious what is a "lot of files".

    I've had about 15,000 files and about 500gb of files in my user download folder and i don't see any lag... but then again i've got that off my SSD and onto a secondary WD RED
     
  2. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Windows 10: sfc /scannow "found several corrupt system files but cannot fix them all."

    Nearly every corrupt/flagged error contains this string:

    version 10.0.10586.0, arch amd64, nonSxS, pkt {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}

    The only AMD item in my system is my AMD R9 390 using AMD drivers.

    What is the best option going forward?
     
  3. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    amd64 refers to the entire x86-64 structure.... it has nothing to do with your amd R9 390....

    If you lookup the contents of a nvidia or intel or marvel or any device under any type.... it'll include amd64 as a string name for anything to do with 64bit computing in windows and even in other OSes due to AMD being responsible for the creation of the standard.... much like intel's x86 shows up even on AMD's based system way back in the day.

    As for the corruption/errors... i just checked my 10586 build and it checks out fine... Typically SFC failures under normal situations would require repair or a clean install...
     
  4. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    So, a repair attempt may be the first option?
     
  5. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Yes... might be a solution you don't really want to go through.. windows 8 and windows 10 include a "refresh" option that basically goes through the reinstallation of windows without (if you choose) losing your files or potentially your apps. It may be worth a try.... but in all honesty... considering how SFC would report errors with a fresh install of the technical preview of windows 10 without being able to repair... most everyone were just thinking it was a false positive.

    Now unless you're running into some strange things happening while using windows 10.... i wouldn't worry too much.
     
  6. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    This has been an ongoing issue over three separate Windows 10 installations on this system:

    The PC refuses to SHUTDOWN! No matter what option is selected from Windows, it simply insists on restarting.

    Per previous suggestions, I have:

    1. Disabled the IGPU in BIOS and there is nothing connected to it;

    2. I have additionally Disabled the Fast Startup in the Power Button options in the Control Panel options; and

    3. I have disabled Rapid Start in the BIOS.

    Even after I did a manual shutdown using the Power Button...during a restart...in order to do a small amount of maintenance on a hard drive that wanted to get noisy from time to time, while working on the mounting to quiet it down, the PC STARTED UP ON ITS OWN! I never touched anything else except the power plug and SATA cable to that particular HDD!

    Totally a PITA situation.
     
  7. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,830
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Trophy Points:
    138
    If the machine was shut down and it started up while doing maintenance..... that is NOT windows related.... that is something clearly elsewhere.
     
  8. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I agree! Finding the culprit is the goal!
     
  9. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,177
    Likes Received:
    2,396
    Trophy Points:
    153
    If you don't manage to find the reason, just for the hell of it you might want to install linux and see if that shuts down properly.
     
  10. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    With the issues I've been having with Windows 10 refusing to shutdown and only doing a restart, I've run Defender...which finds NOTHING amiss, and I've also updated and run MalWareBytes at least three times and have made sure the DEF files are updated each time. On each scan it finds five problems and, after selecting to have them removed, it prompts for a restart and, after each restart, and a re-scan the same five "problems" show up again.

    What is your take on these instances?

    This list actually shows SIX instances....

    AND, what would you recommend doing at this point? I'm comfortable working with the registry, BUT, should I go ahead and delete these?
    __________________________________

    Registry Keys: 2
    PUP.Optional.DNSUnlocker.BrwsrFlsh, HKLM\SOFTWARE\MICROSOFT\WINDOWS\CURRENTVERSION\UNINSTALL\{E1527582-8509-4011-B922-29E3FB548882}_is1, , [55f0eb9c4e4b6fc7c66202820bf94cb4],
    PUP.Optional.DNSUnlocker.EncJob, HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432NODE\MICROSOFT\WINDOWS\CURRENTVERSION\UNINSTALL\{285F6C22}, , [95b0147393062a0c54631e6618ec3dc3],

    Registry Values: 3
    PUP.Optional.DNSUnlocker.EncJob, HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432NODE\MICROSOFT\WINDOWS\CURRENTVERSION\UNINSTALL\{285f6c22}|1, 1457123615, , [95b0147393062a0c54631e6618ec3dc3]
    Trojan.DNSChanger.DNSRst, HKLM\SYSTEM\CURRENTCONTROLSET\SERVICES\TCPIP\PARAMETERS\INTERFACES\{543f2de9-52c5-41e1-aab7-7b16a3ff8a6d}|NameServer, 82.163.143.171 82.163.142.173, , [360f0087990079bd0b81492f24e0af51]
    Trojan.DNSChanger.DNSRst, HKLM\SYSTEM\CURRENTCONTROLSET\SERVICES\TCPIP\PARAMETERS\INTERFACES\{7c3a46f3-0e89-4ce5-b6c9-31e132c392e1}|NameServer, 82.163.143.171 82.163.142.173, , [8bbaf097712881b5c1cb0672c93b21df]

    Registry Data: 1
    Trojan.DNSChanger.DNSRst, HKLM\SYSTEM\CURRENTCONTROLSET\SERVICES\TCPIP\PARAMETERS|NameServer, 82.163.143.171 82.163.142.173, Good: (8.8.8.8), Bad: (82.163.143.171 82.163.142.173),,[35102166e3b640f6543cfb1af60f29d7]
     
  11. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,177
    Likes Received:
    2,396
    Trophy Points:
    153
    There were many DNS changer trojans back in the late 90s early 00s. I don't remember ever seeing or hearing about one which actually changed the registry to say it was a DNS changer trojan. No idea what these are, but perhaps they are part of the defenses of MS that just have stupid names.
    Then again W10 is a trojan all by its own so...:)
     
    Tyrsonswood likes this.
  12. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Those logs are from the MalWareBytes text file. So, the trojan name is not what actually shows in the registry. ;)
     
  13. CJLMTLCA

    CJLMTLCA Ti > IT

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Most likely it would come back if you deleted those entries. There must be something running that puts them back even after cleaning with MBAM.
    Try SAS maybe? and after a free-one-time online scanner from one of the AV companies?
     
    Dyre Straits likes this.
  14. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I'm presently checking into the Scheduled Tasks to see if any of those match up with the activity. I've presently disabled any auto-scheduled tasks that appear to want to check on updates.
     
  15. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,628
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Trophy Points:
    138
  16. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Last edited: May 9, 2016
  17. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,177
    Likes Received:
    2,396
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I was going to say fuck windows 10, but since he chose to have it installed then I am not going to say it.


    Oh who am I kidding, fuck windows 10.
     
    Tyrsonswood likes this.
  18. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Quoting myself here so as to make sure the topic is refreshed...

    But, the Shutdown/Restart options are working properly now after I disabled several apps that were autostarting. Not sure just yet which one/s caused the issue, but, I don't actually miss any of them...so far.

    And, that hard drive mentioned is the one that finally went belly up. I should have taken the hint and backed up what I really wanted to keep from that drive some time ago.
     
  19. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,361
    Likes Received:
    960
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Personally, I did the upgrade for all my machines AFTER I cloned them. Once Windows 10 was in there I just cloned the system back. This way I've got a legit key for when I go to sell the machine. If the person wants Windows 10 in there I can do so for no cost to me, or them (if I want to do it that way that is ;) ).
     
  20. MIG-31

    MIG-31 HardwareHeaven News Mod Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    74,406
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Does any one know of an easy way to fix this error: 0x80240fff

    Its connected with windows update. I have done some googling but I'm not going to touch the most of the links..

    BTW: this is straight from a fresh install of windows 10..
     

Share This Page

visited