Wolfdale/Yorkfield overclocking thread...

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Lowfat, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For those of you who have a Wolfdale/Yorkfield Core 2 Duo, post your results in this thread.

    Here is my 24/7 clocks so far.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    4.2GHz is requiring 1.4875V :(
     
  2. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is what about i used to tell you, i try to get one that can do low core volt overclocking and stable.
    right now the system can boot 3 of my Wolfdales E8200 to 4.0GHz at 1.35-1.37V but i cannot get into Windows with this low volts.
     
  3. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can boot with 1.425V or so, but as soon as I run Orthos, it locks up immediately. I've seen a few E8400s that would do 4GHz with 1.3V on XS.org. I've also seen ones with the same batch as me do considerably better. Seems to be very hit and miss right now.
     
  4. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have seen plenty of E8200 overclocked at 4 GHz with low core volts using similar boards like mine.
    and in some cases somehow E8200 are seem like more cooler than E8400 running at same clock speed, it may be just a different in the cooling system in use. but my friend starts to get some E8400s and says the same thing and i think my E8200's core temps are very, very good. and i love these processor just for that. lol.
     
  5. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will have some yorkfield results shortly, I am waiting on Corsair to get me my new RAM.
     
  6. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my best Super Pi 1M time so far (can't go any more further than this, it'll be too much Vcore.)

    [​IMG]



    and here's my stable so far at 3.8 GHz 475x8 BIOS set 1.1125 V / 1.49V in XP (with P965-DS4 F11f)
    i probably can't get a 4GHz stable on E8200's with my existing hardware and system cooling.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and here's my fav E8200 overclocks... E8200 running at 600x8 on air (freezer 7 pro) with 1.488V under a Gigabyte G33 based board. and Lowfat, if you go into those threads you will see a poster has mentioned that his E8200 gets a 4.0GHz primestable at only 1.18x V. under a DFI P35 DK board. - E8200 doing 600x8 on air with 1.488V - XtremeSystems Forums
     
  8. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    another setting for my 3.8GHz overclock...

    3.8GHz
    Core voltage is BIOS set at 1.13 V. and all of the supported features are enabled.


    55C load under Orthos's small FFTs test...
    [​IMG]


    CPU 50% load...
    [​IMG]


    idling...
    [​IMG]


    fully idle...
    [​IMG]
     
  9. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i can't edit the above...


    anyways, for a stable 3.8GHz, i can also either set core voltage at 1.1125 V. with C1E, EIST, TM2 disabled,
    or set the core voltage at 1.475 V., however, the core voltage will remain at all time at around 1.488 V., the CPU temp at full load are all the same, but when CPU idling, the 1.13 V. settings will get a better CPU's temps.
     
  10. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    update to my best Super Pi 1M time...

    4.26 GHz 533x8...

    [​IMG]


    today i can go all the way to 560x8 with core voltage set at 1.65V, but i can only get in Windows at 533 FSB.
    and this seems to be max overclock for the current hardware setup on this computer. (it uses 4 disk drives and 500W power supply)


    4.20 GHz 525x8...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2008
  11. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pang lets see sub 10sec SPI :)

    Tighten up those ram timings, or push the ram some more :)
     
  12. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    537x8 4.3 GHz

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    was able to get in to a Windows at 545x8 by loading BIOS default first, and then reboot and set BIOS to boot 545 FSB directly... also had to use auto DRAM settings...
    Windows loaded okay, but once i adjusted the memory timmings using the Memset the Windows locked up. the NB, chipsets, and the processor itself needs to be cooling down some more before i can apply even more volts to them.

    if i'm not too lazy and get some work done by taking apart computers that i just built them and swopping some parts and also some work on a chipset and system processor cooling solution, then i should have these Wolfdale's to overclock at much more better than what i already had.
     
  13. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    ive been hearing some of the yorkfields are dying with high voltages guys, be careful.
     
  14. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and here's Super Pi 1M time of E8200 at default clock speed with a system that using a basic DDR2-800MHz DRAM settings.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the warning Zardon.
    i mean i understand and i appreciate your warning.

    so, here the warning word from me to anyone who read this thread...

    don't use the processors's core-voltage that you see here as for your reference to overclocking your system processors.
    and you play with your hardware and with your own risk.
     
  16. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    out of curiousity Panging, what voltage would you consider to be a relatively safe 24/7 setting for a wolfie or yorkie?
     
  17. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'm sorry i really don't know (yet) Zardon.
    all i know for sure is what Intel has spec'ed all of the already released Wolfdale's at 1.3625V for max core-voltage.
    as of now, myself try to use not more than 1.3625V.


    btw, some of the Wolfdale's E8200 and E8400 are able to be overclocked quite high when using core-voltage at not more than 1.3625V,
    but some of them won't overclock high at all with 1.3625V.

    some of E8200's are able to clock at 3.6 GHz with only 1.25V. and many E8200's out there won't do the same.
    same with E8400's processors, as i have been seeing many of them will get 4.0 GHz with core-voltage of only 1.28V-1.325V. and some of the E8400 won't do 4.0 GHz with these low core-voltages.

    however, as you may have noticed before that on the previous C2D's processors, the max core-voltage used to be spec'ed by Intel to something around 1.325V -1.350V then if i can recall corectly, all of the C2D's processors spec has been changed to 1.500V for the max core-voltage. and as far as i know, some certain OEM built computers that uses the C2D processors model before Wolfdale's even use 1.50V as default core-voltage on some of their custom built computers. i'm not sure whether or not these OEM companies would get an info from Intel about the a real safe max core-voltage for the Wolfdale's, i'll have to ask around for it when i can.
     
  18. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    ive been trying to get a defacto answer in relation to the new quad core cpus (yorkfield) and the wolfies. various trains of thought on it. Intel are slow getting back to me.

    I can get the skulltrail system stable at 4.2ghz however the voltage is around 1.48 which seems a little high to me.
     
  19. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I personally will not go over 1.45v on water with a Yorkie. I may change that after I get this rig up and start playing with it though.

    But I have seen some dead Penryns on various forums from high voltages, regardless of cooling.

    Would be interested to hear what Intel has to say Z.
     
  20. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    well considering the built in "overvolt" option on the skulltrail bios increases voltage from 1.25 to 1.48 I would be interested myself. I can't see intel supplying an option in one of their new bioses which in fact kills their cpu's. Then again i have an alpha bios on this, so its hard to know whats a work in progress or what is intentional.
     

Share This Page

visited