Wolfdale/Yorkfield overclocking thread...

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Lowfat, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    P5Q D and Q9300

    this P45-based P5Q-D can really clock this Q9300 Yorlfield quite well and use a quite low chipset volts as well.

    Common Performance Level 8
    CPU Voltage: 1.2875V
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.58
    FSB Termination Voltage: 1.28
    DRAM Voltage: 2.16
    NB Voltage: 1.28
    All CPU and NB GTL Ref set to: .655x

    [​IMG]


    (this is the 1st attempt on maintaining CPU with core voltage at below 1.30V and to overclocking it at its default CPU multi setting.
    this is not a max out for 7.5 multi overclocking)
     
  2. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow, i like this yorkfield Q9300, It's pretty easy to overclock it.

    Q9300 @ 3.6GHz (480x7.5) 4x1GB DDR2-1152MHz

    [​IMG]
     
  3. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Looks like this board and your chip are really nice together - 500Mhz on a quad (CPU-Z Validation)! And your DDR2 (disregarding MemSet - reporting as DDR3) is really blazing! Are you using the PC2 6400HZ modules? I'm inspired to try mine alone - removing the Crucial chips - and seeing what happens...
     
  4. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i don't have G.Skill PC2-6400 HZ any more, i traded one kit in at my dealer for another kit of PC2-8500 HK.

    those memories are 2x 2x1GB G.Skill PC2-8500 HK RAM kits (4 sticks with serial number that runs in order).

    one of the PC2-8500 HK's kit i have will run DDR2-1333 at least (in a 2x1GB overclock configuration) in the Black DIMM slot of P5Q-D board.


    [​IMG]
     
  5. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I meant to say congrats on the 3.6 at standard multi!

    The temps are marginal for low CPU usage though - what are you cooling with? You gonna try Prime or OCCT, or even 3DMark to stress at those settings?

    I really don't think I can get a stress stable 3.6 out of my setup...
     
  6. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    right now CPU cooling is my very old TT big type 120, and a few fans over the board's components and RAMs.
    i will check the overall system cooling first if i want to set this board and CPU up for daily use, then i would set it not more than 462FSB (x7 = 3.46 GHz and around DDR2-1110MHz), and i'm sure there will not be a problem for any prime95 test.

    btw, this P45-based uses pretty low chipset volts, and it also seems to me that once i start playing with CPU and NB GTL Ref's settings i find it's pretty easy to get a stable overclock with a even low volts use. and also there are plenty option settings in BIOS setup that i can play with my overclocking.
     
  7. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Q9300 444x7.5 3.33GHz 4x1GB DDR2-1066MHz

    P5Q-D (0803)
    CPU: 1.24375V
    CPU PLL: 1.52
    FSB Termination: 1.20
    NB Voltage: 1.20
    DRAM: 2.14V
    Performance Level 8, 5-5-5-15 tRFC 55T

    a preliminary stress testing result...
    [​IMG]
     
  8. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Q9300 463x7.5 3.47GHz 4x1GB DDR2-1111MHz

    P5Q-D (0803)
    CPU: 1.300V
    CPU PLL: 1.56
    FSB Termination: 1.26
    NB Voltage: 1.28
    DRAM: 2.16V
    Performance Level 8, 5-5-5-15 tRFC 55T


    a preliminary stress testing result...
    [​IMG]
     
  9. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. zaim

    zaim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    58
    guys what voltages should i set to put my qx6700 on with 14 x 266fsb = 3.72ghz ??

    i'm currently on 13 x 266 = 3.47ghz @ 1.4v
     
  11. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm, i never have the kind of CPU so i would have to try booting up the system with a few core voltage settings through the BIOS,
    can you boot the system and get in to Windows at all with 1.4-1.50V vcore?
     
  12. zaim

    zaim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    58
    haven't tried =P
     
  13. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Cool PangingJr. - nice stable 3.6! A great overclock!
     
  14. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3.46GHz aren't too far apart in overall CPU and memory performance and it will use less voltages all around.
     
  15. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my best Q9300 475x7.5 overclock, so far.
    as far as i know, all the voltage values that i use in this overclock are well within limit on all hardwares.
    and this may be my final overclock on this CPU.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  17. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just another overclock attempt.

    is it possible to Overclock core 2 Quad 9300 using (mostly) only Vcore and Vdimm.?
     
  18. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just another overclock attempt.

    will using more Vcore cause system overheating and a crash?


    [​IMG]


    edit the line "4x1GB DDR2 1080 MHz @ 2.1V",
    the system memory is actually runing "4x1GB DDR2 1110 MHz @ 2.1V"
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2008
  20. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow this is a hot day today (room's air con is under cleaning).
    2hrs...
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

visited