Wolfdale/Yorkfield overclocking thread...

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Lowfat, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RoyBatty,

    i've seen your CPU cooler performs well in many reviews and it also looks good in my eyes.
    when installing it i would make sure that i give all the pressure that it needs at the cooler's base to the CPU, recheck a few times on how the thermal compound is applied,
    and also recheck to see that if it needs more air flow to it and in order for it to be more effective.

    ======================


    True Black 120 + OCZ Freeze, 2x 1200rmp fans

    [​IMG]


    a quick full load test... vCore at 1.30V, 458 FSB, room 30C.

    [​IMG]



    room 25C.
    (True Black 120 + OCZ Freeze, 2x 1200rpm fans)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  2. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Newest OC

    LOAD:
    [​IMG]

    IDLE:
    [​IMG]

    1.275 Vcore
    Load line calibration on
    +0.25V RAM
    +0.05V FSB
    +0.05V MCH
    -3.00% CPU GTLREF1
    2.4 RAM multiplier

    i tried for 474x8 but failed prime 3 times at the 1 hr 40 min mark after trying to up the vcore, RAM and FSB voltage. I think the RAM is about at its limit for these timings. Also the next lowest RAM multi is 2.0 with leaves my RAM on the DDR2 1000 range. maybe i can lower the vcore a lil for this OC? opinions on settings wanted!

    @ roy,

    i would recommend to try to reseat the cooler and be sure to turn the mounting screws until they stop, there are built in stoppers to be sure the cooler isn't over tight. i have always used AC5 for thermal paste.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  3. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think, as of now, it's most likely that your overclock was limited by the RAM kit more than it was by your CPU, board, nor by the CPU/system's temps, etc.
    it depends whether you want to get a more higher clock speed or just a more higher CPU FSB but with a lower CPU multi?
    anyways, have you tried out to see if your CPU is able to go at a much higher FSB than that (by not overclocking your RAM at the same time)?

    based on your specific hardware, i should able to get a stable 450x9 / 5:6 or 2.40x (DDR1080), or 500x8 / 1:1 (DDR1000),
    i'm not sure whether or not i want to use the system CPU at the clock speeds on daily basis, but i think your hardware is capable of doing that and stable as well.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  4. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    information about TjMax value for Intel 45nm processors.



    =====================

    more info about using the Digital Temperature Sensor
    http://intel.wingateweb.com/US08/published/sessions/TMTS001/SF08_TMTS001_100r.pdf
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  5. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    so panging think we'll see a real temp update soon? where did you get that 2.74 version from anyway, couldn't find it?

    BTW upped FSB to 472=DDR2 1133 and lowed v core to 1.2675 from 1.275, no real load v core difference or temps. still 6hrs prime stable. certainly didn't like 474 FSB though.
     
  6. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's okey to use real temp 2.70 (or CoreTemp .99 up, or Everest 4.50 up),
    just set the TjMax value to 100C for your CPU. and then the load temps will come out the same on all and any of the 3 programs that you prefer to use it.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    thanks for the heads up panging, and so 70c should be the limit with this TJ?
     
  8. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would keep using 1,275, it's not such a high value to be using.
    it's probably no different than using 1.2675 when the LLC is enabled in the BIOS on your board.

    i never use your RAM kit, but as far as i know, some of the same RAM kit can really overclock high on certain motherboard.
    however, like i said before, i would try a 4GHz overclock on your CPU, and see how much voltage i have to supply the CPU and the rest.
    and then if i use a RAM kit that can do DDR1200, i would at least try and see if i can run memory at 2.66x and PL8 on the 450x9,
    otherwise, it'll have to be 2.40x DDR1080 since it's not difficult to get a stable system with this memory ratio on your hardware.
     
  9. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're welcome.

    i can't be sure what to recommend yet, at least for a while longer that i will see other different experiences after people start to use these new TjMax value settings.

    however, for my own hardware, i think, upto 85C is still pretty safe, but it's just me thinking out loud as of now really.



    for the Core 2 Extreme processor QX9770 users, they now can really see a big different in their CPU's load temp values if they used to use CoreTemp .99 which had been using a much higher TjMax value. the QX9770's load temps should be much lower now since the TjMax value for this CPU is 85C.
     
  10. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Intel 65 nm processors users (especially overclockers) will still wonder what is the actual TjMax value for their CPU models.

    what if a certain CPU load temps, which used to be 65C when using a certain software utility that set this specific CPU's TjMax to a certain value that may be far more lower than the actual TjMax value? and for years that users feels safe and rely on the 65C load temps. i think, it's starting to panic some users for sure if it's not 65C any more.
     
  11. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [hobo]eclipse, about the where did you get that 2.74 version from anyway, couldn't find it?
    here below is a newer version of RealTemp and info about this program

    RealTemp 2.75 - XtremeSystems Forums - View Single Post - Real Temp - New temp program for Intel Core processors

     
  12. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wolfdale E8400 sSpec SLB9J new stepping (as far as my understanding goes, it's E-0 ) is now in retail stores.

    still hard to find though, since this new stepping CPU is wanted by many overclockers as far as i know and this CPU is still very new at this time and also since retail stores still having a lot of the old stepping CPUs in stock.
    my friend just got a few of the sSpec SLB9J CPUs from 100s and 100s of boxed E8400 CPUs. E8500 is now only around $25 more, but couldn't find one with this new stepping yet.

    hopefully my new Wolfdale will use much lower volt at high clocks than the previous one i had tried many months ago.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  13. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just installed the CPU.
    VID voltage is quite high, 1.25V,
    but this chip is easy to overclock and it's core temp (TjMax at 100C) is fairly cool as well.

    1st try on this CPU... 500x8 4.0 GHz

    [​IMG]


    BIOS...
    Vcore 1.243V
    PLL 1.52v
    CPU GTLREF 63.5%
    VTT 1.14v
    NB 1.14v
    NB GTLREF 65%




    =========================


    another quick overclocking attempt on this CPU... just runing it now, and probably will be using it at this CPU clock and memory speeds (this overclock will go easy with the RAM)

    450x9 4.05 GHz. Vcore 1.262v BIOS.
    ( True Black 120, 1x Silverstone FM123/1400rpm fan, Room 24C )

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2008
  14. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    +.5v MCH
    +.5v FSB
    +.25v DDR2
    -3.00% CPU GTLREF 1
    LLC on
    1.35v bios, 1.328v idle, 1.313 load

    [​IMG]
     
  15. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]
    BIOS...
    vCore 1.268v
    CPU GTLREF 63%
    PLL 1.52v
    VTT 1.14v
    vDimm 1.96v
    NB 1.14v
    NB GTLREF 65%

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
  16. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]

    4367MHz

    BIOS...
    vCore 1.343v
    CPU GTLREF 65%
    PLL 1.52v
    VTT 1.14v
    NB 1.18v
    NB GTLREF 65%
    CPU Clock skew Delayed 200ps
     
  17. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Wow! Great volts...

    You gotta be lovin' that new cooler!
     
  18. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for this C2D i'm sure any of CPU coolers i have (TT BigType 120, Ninja rev.B, Mugen, CM Hyper 212, CM GeminII, OCZ Vendetta 2) can be used for the overclocking.
    my friend has already gotten same fpo/batch CPU as mine to 4.5GHz with his Gigabyte P45 board and using a Mugen cooler.
     
  19. RobertBruce

    RobertBruce Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Eh here's my first attempt at this, I'm new to Intel's processors...
    [​IMG]
     
  20. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is actaully a good overclock for Quad CPU, i'm sure you can run the CPU stable with a much lower volt than that. try turning off the load line calibration first and lowering the vCore to around 1,200v - 1,2250v... the system may still very stable with around 1,1875v vCore.

    what board and RAM kit are you using?
    DDR2 or DDR3 memory platform?
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008

Share This Page

visited