x850xt problems

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by godrugal0, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First of I dont know if this is my card or not. Basically I just installed farcry and everything was finr for a while, now im getting green blocks appearing on screen after about 2mins of play, it gradually gets worse so as i cant even see the screen. when i come out of the prog the blocks are still visible on my desktop. I tried running another game (bf2) to see if the trouble was there and it is, this game was running fine a couple of days ago. I had also just put in another hdd but i have taken it out thinking it might have been a power problem. Any advice pls, is this my gfx card, monitor or psu?? im flumoxed.

    Intel pentium 4, 3.2ghz
    powercolor ati x850xt 256mb
    500watt psu - unnamed
    1256 mb ram
    windows xp (home) sp2
     
  2. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to double post, just to let you know i have the latest drivers and patches for my games.
     
  3. kingsownall

    kingsownall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i guess ur getting artifacts from the way u describe it.. possibilities are that ur psu is not delievering enough power to ur card. i mean its unnamed after all so it might be be reliable, or the card is defected in sumway.or not enough air flow
     
  4. daedal

    daedal Uber Coffee Drinker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The X850XTs are notorious for producing artifacts when heating.
    You can try to download and install ATITool and ramping up the fan speed and see if it helps.
     
  5. kingsownall

    kingsownall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ati tool is good for kicking the fan speed up. but i think if u want 100% fan speed. its loud lol which i dunt like LOL. it might be the fact that ur ambient temperature is very high LOL
    or buy aftermarket coolers to brg the temperature down. if u plan to. get zalman or arctic coolers. they the best air type coolers avaiable i think. unless u wanna use watercoolers lol.
     
  6. SexPistoL

    SexPistoL New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like daedal says, try ati tool or ATT, and see what your clock speeds are.(to ensure it's not been OC'd) Also did you buy the card from ebay or a repitable company (so it is! what it say's on the tin!)
     
  7. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded the atitool and it showed my card heating up to 70 degrees:duh: when running the 3d image, this is when the artifacts show up and proceed to cover my screen.
    I heard in another forum that ati do not use much heat paste on their cards so i took the old stuff off and put new on - still the same problem:x.
    I cranked the fan speed up to 100% but to no avail - still the same problem:x.
    I bought my card from an online store here in the uk called overclockers, so i will arrange for a rma.
    thanks for the help guys[​IMG]
     
  8. SexPistoL

    SexPistoL New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey m8 look at the clock speeds and tell us what they are ;)
     
  9. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    core - 520mhz
    memory - 540mhz

    This is what it came at from powercolor, I havn't changed the speeds at all. Dont understand how the card worked for a couple of weeks and now does not :mad:
     
  10. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you think installing a zalman heatsink and fan would help??
     
  11. fobis

    fobis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most likely. But you'll ned RAMsinks as well to cool the memory, of course.
     
  12. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just been testing the card using the atitool and found out that my fan is not coming on unless i force it to. My gpu temp is 40 degrees idle and the instant i test the 3d it jumps to 55 degrees eventually reaching the upper 70ties before i switch it off :duh::duh::duh:.
    my cpu temp is about 33 degrees and the ambient case about 30.
    Any idea why the card would have been working for a week but not now.
    Ramsinks??? they the little pieces of platstic that you stick on???
    excuse my ignorance:rofl:
     
  13. kingsownall

    kingsownall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if u buy the zalman. it includes the ramsink. u just stick it too ur rams on the card LOL.
     
  14. SexPistoL

    SexPistoL New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What drivers do you have installed?
     
  15. daedal

    daedal Uber Coffee Drinker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your fan does not turn on at all, that means RMA.
    Either that, or pick up a ATI Silencer. Worked wonders for mine.
     
  16. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently have the drivers that came with the card installed but i had the latest from the ati web site and it made little or no difference at all. If the company dont rma do you think that a zelman or likewise will cool the cpu from 70 degrees, the artifacts show up at about 67-68 degrees, will one of these coolers keep the card under this temp and also do these coolers need to be connected to their own power dongle, so will i need a y spliter!
    current driver is - 8.172.0.0

    thanks again inadvance for any help, this has been the most informative and helpful forum to date.
     
  17. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids and 1 Great-grandson!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18,889
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Trophy Points:
    153
    In all honesty, if it were my card doing this, I'd go with an RMA while I still could. If the fan's not working properly, it could be that it's bad.

    My X800XL gets up to around 67 degrees playing Oblivion and I haven't seen any artifacts to date....in any game. But, I also don't overclock the card except for benchmarking.
     
  18. godrugal0

    godrugal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm arranging an RMA as we speak. I havn't overclocked the card at all. When watching the temp' in ati tool I see it jump from 40 degrees to 55 in about 10 seconds during the 3d test it then gradually goes up and up until its over 70 and i can hardly see the screen for artifacts. The card must be fu**ed. I might just invest in a Zalman fan when the new one arrives anyway, especially if these cards like to run hot.
     
  19. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids and 1 Great-grandson!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18,889
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I think you're on the right track.

    While you have that case open, though, check that PSU. Make sure the +12 rail is producing better than 20 Amps. If it's less than that, it's likely not giving enough power to the card. My own 500W PSU produces 28A.
     
  20. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the card got fried.

    When you get the new one just slap AS5 on it right away.
     

Share This Page

visited