Zotac ZBox Mini PC Review @ HH

Discussion in 'Reviews & Articles Discussion' started by craig5320, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. craig5320

    craig5320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,676
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Zotac ZBox Review
    ________________

    Today we have one of the ZBOX systems on our test bench and have run it through a selection of real world tests including HD playback, GPU computing and media encoding to find out whether it can meet the needs of consumers looking for an all purpose mini-system.
     
  2. simonw

    simonw New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's a bit odd that Zotac only offer a 2 yr warranty on this product, while other ZBox models have the extended 5 yr warranty option. I wonder what the reason is.
     
  3. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    21,896
    Likes Received:
    2,285
    Trophy Points:
    153
    funny how the next generation gpu (nvidia wording I presume) is seen as a 218 model, which AFAIK is based on the 9000 which is based on the 8000 series lol.
    Still, good for this purpose.

    As for the system I think it is a very nice alternative for anyone who wants a small light and non high performance PC. Very good.
     
  4. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah, I cant understand why they didnt go for Ion2 as the name...
     
  5. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Odd that there's no dvd drive I guess you need to put everything on USB flash drives to install OS or games. Not bad though, seems like the smallest HTPC you can get.
     
  6. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah, network storage and USB or eSATA... its the way everything is going really. Steam for games, Microsoft have an official tool to put win7 images on flash drives, various TV streaming sites etc... optical media is heading the way of vinyl (not sure how fast though).
     
  7. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    21,896
    Likes Received:
    2,285
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Perhaps 40 pounds more to include a blue ray drive would make it perfect for the living room.
     
  8. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Well 40 for at least a DVD burner, don't think BD drives go that low just yet. A top loading internal drive would have made me drool. External USB Blu-ray drives cost more than the Zbox itself unfortunately.
     
  9. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    21,896
    Likes Received:
    2,285
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I saw an add for an external blue ray drive for 120 euros, yesterday, but damn it I can't remember where.
     
  10. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,486
    Likes Received:
    1,716
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Good review of an appealing product.

    I agree about the remote, with its wall and TV mounting options and full multimedia capabilities, it's obviously a fairly living-room oriented system that could really benefit from having a remote controller.

    As for the absence of a second memory slot, I'm not faulting Zotac for it because Intel only gave the D510 a single channel controller (and 4GB should be plenty, as the reviewer noted).
     
  11. zorlog

    zorlog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello! it was written in review that you got it working at 1.83ghz! what parametrs you use in bios to overclockit, can i know pz?
    regards
     
  12. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    HI, we no longer have the product (it was returned to the Zotac PR team) so I cannot check for you.
     
  13. niceguyrichy

    niceguyrichy c c c COFFEE

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,534
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    Trophy Points:
    138
    *cough* craigs living room.. *cough cough*



    :p
     
  14. craig5320

    craig5320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,676
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Narr, I only get to keep the designs for the reviews :'(
     
  15. zorlog

    zorlog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have already bought Another ram Kingston KVR800d2s6/2G with Latency 6!
    maybe somebody can tell me how to do that because i have tried and got save overclock only 0n 1.71 without raising voltage and changing timings! but when itried to raise little voltage on cpu and memory (and raise memory timings) and set cpu to 1.76ghz it just shuts down and restart several times after it restore safe defaults! plz help to deal with it
     

Share This Page

visited